Dear Peeps.

Happy New Year

It’s a tough one to get started. I am pretty much immobalized with horror and sadness over our election. l really really need to stay away from FB as it just steals my feelings of hope for any possible sort of future, but I seem glued to it like watching a trainwreck.

I must find a way to stay focused on family, having a grandson, and an angel granddaughter, and now another granddaughter due in May.

Life goes on and I have enough lives counting on me to keep functioning that I will do that.

Silly dogs keep me smiling.

Dottie sits in the weirdest ways possible.

Dana sleeps in goofy ways.

And Sheldon takes refuge from the snowy weather.

shel-head
Sheldon had his 12th birthday yesterday. He is still doing great.

Here’s a picture me, my sister and my mom on Christmas day.
lauri-robin-and-mom
Well, I have to get back to house cleaning. This weekend is another Christmas, this time with all of my kids.’
It will be fun.
Cheerio!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

30 Responses to Dear Peeps.

  1. Hi Larui! The dogs and the fambly looks great, congrats on the new grandkid on the way! I saw a comic the other day that went
    “What do you think 2017 will bring?
    – Flowers.
    -Why?
    -Because I’m planting flowers”, and I loved it. There are so many good people out there, surely good things will prevail (but please let that happen soon!). Hang in there ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. M-----l says:

    Another Christmas? In January? I didn’t even realize that was an option.

  3. I hear you about the election. I’ve been trying to stayed focused on family as well: having a new granddaughter has really helped. The energy from a little girl really is different from a little boy’s (though I will admit that at three Kai is a little terror). At the same time, I’ve been on Twitter reading PEOTUS’s tweets and am torn between laughing hysterically and feeling mortified. Is he really as stupid as he sounds? His followers surely are. ๐Ÿ˜›

    Enjoy your second Christmas! You are brave!

    • Lauri says:

      He really is that.dumb.
      It’s beyond all reason. Oh, well. Focusing on family really does help.
      I have to laugh. Kai sounds so much like my oldest. Oh, lord, when he was 3. Lmbo.

      • I thought Kai’s uncle, my son, was going to send me to the psych ward when he was three. I think we visited the ER at least once a month because of all the falling and accidents. I’m amazed they didn’t accuse me of child abuse, lol.

        • Lauri says:

          Camden is taking after his uncle and yours. Lol. These boys are full of beans. We love them, we deal with them.
          They are good people.
          Goddam. We have to love them.

        • Lauri says:

          Cam is a climber. But, thank goodness, he’s really careful about going up and getting down. He’s quite a little monkey.
          We got him a plastic slide for Christmas. That’s a real hit!

          • I can imagine what a joy a slide is to a guy like Cam! ๐Ÿ˜€ My daughter now has room to get smaller-sized playground equipment for Kai, but he got so used to the big-kid equipment at the city park, he gets bored at nursery school and their preschooler-size slides and swings. It freaks me out, watching him clamber up a ten-foot ladder, but he’s crazy fearless. When I came home from New York this time around, I had gray streaks in my hair! ๐Ÿ˜ฎ

  4. *wave* Hope you’re staying nice and warm. I know it’s tough to tear yourself away from everything on FB, but you must! Replace it with Fark comment threads and you’ll at least get some snark in there. And buy that book I recommended. Ahem. I don’t typically point people to Amazon, but do you have an account there? Click. Right now. https://www.amazon.com/Life-Good-Book-Bert-Jacobs/dp/1426215630/

    Enjoy your second crazy Christmas and all the tasty food that goes with it ๐Ÿ˜€

  5. kimkiminy says:

    Good to see all the pups staying warm. Hang in there. Have you been watching Randy Rainbow’s videos on FB? He’s going to get me through the next four years.

  6. Emmy says:

    Damn Laurie, you look so young and pretty and vibrant. I love your socks!! Despite the gloomy stuff, you are inherently warm and cheerful. IMO. If I must keep up with politics, I like Jezebel. It’s a feminist blog with a snarky edge. Or NY Times and Boston Globe at least they have excellent reporters. Facebook is the very last place I would go for any kind of “truth” or reporting. Nowadays I’m ultra-focused on local issues anyway, because that’s where the most change can happen and it’s not as celebrity-gossipy as stuff on the Federal level.

  7. Emmy says:

    Lauri. Autocorrect did that, I swear! ๐Ÿ™„

  8. homebody says:

    I’m trying to think of the next four years (or until the impeachment) as absurdist entertainment (although I know it’s going to have long-lasting ill effects).

    Congrats on your third grandchild! Best wishes for a wonderful year for your family, human and furry!

  9. leendadll says:

    I’ve taken to fast-scrolling fb.. I can’t tolerate most of the political threads anymore, not even the positive ones. Friday will be a sad day in my heart.

  10. snoringKatZ says:

    I’m always behind around here… too much FB time for me, too. I understand how you feel. I’m exhausted from the strain and pain and sadness and fury and absolute bewilderment at how so many people could be so utterly brain blind.

    I love your dogs. I’ve been fighting off urges to get a critter. It’s just not a good time. But I miss my Jalapeรฑo so much. I will live vicariously through your adorable pack (human and fuzzy – which might be the same thing now that I think of it…)

    ((((((((BEEEEEG HUGS))))))) to you, my darling Larui!

  11. madtante says:

    I have a live version of FB with working in LE in Missouri.

    I have actually removed myself from most groups I was in pre-election because I need to focus on personal development and I could workout during the time I’m horrifying myself, looking at updates and comments.

    That’s ME, though.

  12. Jaypo says:

    hi, hi! just sending you a big hug! ((((Lrui)))

Leave a Reply

