Hi, hi!

We’re all doing fine.

Sarah is getting a cute baby belly. She can feel it kicking  The heartbeat is strong. The prognosis at the last ultrasound is the same. The baby won’t survive. But, they are enjoying the process anyway.

img_6016

The Great Dane girls are thriving. I just had them out on their second leash training walk. One at a time. They are learning. They are sometimes walking sedately by my side, sometimes bucking like broncos, and occasionally, when I tell them to sit and bend to push their rumps down, I get two giant clubfeet on my shoulders.

Progress is being made. They are smart, even though they are huge toddlers.

After the first leash walk, I saw Dottie go over to where the leashes are hanging and just look at them as if thinking “I wonder what all that was about?”.

They LOVE riding in the car, something which Orion hates. So, it’s fun to take them, along with Sheldon and Ellie.

The Danes and goats are getting along just fine, too!

img_6164

 

Dana, especially, loves the goats. She’s kissing Gus’s ear through the fence.

The girls are great at helping make beds. 😛

img_6060

Camden had his first haircut. The look on his face in the mirror had us in stitches!

img_6065

He’s walking, just a step or two or three at a time, but climbing up on the couch, no problem! Oy! Keeps us all on the run!

Ken and I are going out for our 36th anniversary tonight. Yay, food and wine!

I hope September finds you all well.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

25 Responses to Hi, hi!

  1. crankypants says:

    Congrats on 36 years! Enjoy your night out.
    I can’t even imagine dealing with all those big doggies! They are so cute. Allllll the critters, you haz dem! I iz jealous. (though I don’t know I could handle taking care of all of them on top of a regular job! I’ll just come visit) Camden is adorable. That is just heartbreaking about the other baby but I’m glad they are enjoying the process. It’s got to be terribly difficult though.

    • Lauri says:

      There is no way I could handle all these critters without Ken’s help. We make a pretty good team in that regard. Buying and setting up crates. Feeding. Cleaning up after all these poopers.

      For some weird reason I had a bunch of energy this week and moved furniture, vacuumed under all of it, washed floors, moved stove out and cleaned up there.

      If only I could rely on that energy, but it’s pretty darned random. 🙂

      It’s so heartbreaking about their baby. I just want to curl up when I think that it might go full term and then live just a day or two. I am so torn about what I want to happen, but what I want doesn’t have a thing to do with what will happen, so I”m trying to live in the moment. Yoga for the win!

      • Lauri says:

        Well, so much for my energy surge. I slept in until 1030 this morning and have no motivation. The fish pond filter will have to be cleaned, but other than that I am preparing to slouch today.

  2. Laurie says:

    Happy Anniversary, Lauri! Thirty-six years is an incredible achievement.
    To think that I find Macaroon problematic when making the bed. She’s got nothing on your Great Danes!

    • Lauri says:

      It’s definitely like living in a stable most days. Simply pushing my way through to open the sliding door is usually a challenge.
      They are so sweet, though. And learning more every day. 🙂

  3. Happy Anniversary! Eating out is fun, but I hope you guys also do something silly, like whatever you both did when you were dating. (Unless it hurts. I don’t think I’ll ever try to ski again, like when my then-boyfriend dragged me to a ski resort to learn how to ski. After a couple of times on the bunny hill, I thought flying downhill and landing on your butt was no fun!)

    Enjoy your time with the Great Danes and the warm fall weather. I’m wishing for cooler weather now.

    • Lauri says:

      Thanks! No more skiing for me. Two years ago I fell a couple of times flying down a slope and I decided it was time to quit. It was terrifying rather than fun!
      We will be snorkeling in Key Largo in a couple weeks, so that will be fun!

  4. Aussie Emjay says:

    Happy Anniversary Lauri!

  5. Happy anniversary!
    Sounds like you’re having fun with all the puppehs!

  6. Happy anniversary, Lauri. Ken must be a saint …

    I hope you have a HUGE car for when all the grown up Great Danes decide they want to go along for a ride, lol.

    • Lauri says:

      He is a saint…but then, so am I. Bahahahaha.
      It took us a few decades to settle in, but I would say we are at our best right now. Which is a great place to be.
      My Ford Escape has enough room for everyone. Sheldon gets to ride in the front seat!

  7. kimkiminy says:

    Wait, what? The baby won’t survive? Did I miss something?

  8. marsboo says:

    Oh Mon Dieu!!! you are so busy there, and I am so HAPPY for Sarah….and grandma and grandpa. I was going to mention how personable Ken has become, You must be rubbing off, or all the kids and mules…no, this was a while ago. I am happy for you. I am hoping Dave will grow up. I have all his nasty texts snap chat?? on my email acct. Not that it will probably do me any good,but you never know. He still is trying to bait me….and it works a shorts a while, then gone..Hope to see all your kids soon miss you

  9. marsboo says:

    Oh Laurie, I didn’t read the following comments. How sad. and to feel the little one. I remember that so well. I hate to that it doesn’t go full term, but it happens I know. Maybe they can see why she is having problems. My heart goes out to them ❤

  10. Emmy says:

    Wow, Happy 36th! Your family looks like a strong, loving unit. I hope that helps you get through all of life’s challenges. Your goats are beautiful. Do they graze on low-hanging branches? Or do they nibble grass mostly? Sorry I’m so goat-illiterate! Danes on the bed, you must be muscular. I can’t even motivate kitties off of there! And pulling the sheets up with even a small amount of weight is tough. 😄

  11. ((((((((hugs))))))))))

Leave a Reply

