March

It’s the first day of spring. It’s pretty chilly, here. The sun is gorgeous. There have been warmer days when the frogs are singing. My front yard was covered with crocus for a couple of days. So pretty!

The birds are singing their spring songs.

It’s been a fine winter. Mild. Just a couple of snowstorms. No really bitter temps. No complaints at all.

I have three baby goats coming to live with us sometime in May! I am getting them from a Nigerian Dwarf dairy farm in Michigan. The mama goats have the babies so they can make milk and I am going to take three of the baby boys, who might go to a butcher, otherwise. It will be great fun to have goats again! The dairy farmer emailed me that one of my boys was born last week. The other two should be any time now.

Here’s a picture that my son just messaged me.

Cammie/Roonie is six months old, now. It’s unbelievable how much they change in one year.

Roonie

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

23 Responses to March

  1. Does Cammie look like his dad? I think I’ve seen your son in a couple of photos, but my goodness, that smile! I hope his grandma gets a lot of smiles when he’s visiting!

    Spring isn’t as dramatic in CA as it is in the Midwest where things have been buried under snow all winter. We’re seeing cherry blossoms and some daffodils, though flowering bulbs don’t do as well out here. Baby mini goats though! You’ll want to build a playground just for them because they love to climb on stuff and jump from one platform to another. One of my friends had a goat that would jump on top of their utility shed and then hop from there onto the neighbor’s garage. The neighbor would climb a ladder to get the goat off his garage, but the goat would just hop back into his own yard. 🙂

    • Lauri says:

      We have a picnic table in the goat yard already. Now we just need to get a few more things for them to jump around on! I’m getting really anxious to see them! Well, I guess I can’t if they aren’t born yet! 😛

      Cammie looks SO much like my son. His mom always loves it when someone says they see her in her, because she usually hears that he looks like his dad. 🙂

  2. Laurie says:

    Cammie is only 6 months? He looks like a big boy, not a baby at all! Can’t wait for the inevitable photos of Cammie chasing goats around the yard when he’s a bit older.

    • Lauri says:

      I know! This shirt makes him look so much older!
      It’s going to be fun taking pics of the goats! So far, Cammie isn’t intimidated by any size dog, so he should be ok with goats!

  3. crankypants says:

    Awwwww Cammie is such a cutie! and the baby goats aren’t born but it’s a given they are cute too, can’t wait to see pics and video of them sproinging all over the place!

    • Lauri says:

      I knowwwww! I am really controlling myself by not emailing the lady about her goats.
      I emailed last week and she told me that one of the boys had been born. Now, I am controlling myself by not asking “How about now? Now? Now?”…….ugh. Self control sucks. 😀

  4. You can always tell Cammie’s mom that the goats look like her … but I’m sure that wouldn’t be appreciated, lol. (And not even I am brave enough to actually do that).

    Daffodils came and went and the green stalks were mowed down yesterday. Wisteria is blooming and just starting to leave out. Mild (MILD!!) winter here except for the very cold nights. It has seemed that Spring has been here for over a month.

    • Lauri says:

      Oh, no we don’t! You can say the baby goats look like me…but, that’s all!
      LOL.

      I have tons of daffodils coming up. The crocii…..have come and gone. I have grape hyacinths waiting to bloom.

      I really want to keep up with the weeds in the flower beds this year. HA. Probably won’t happen. 😛

  5. Jaypo says:

    Cammie looks like he’s 3! What an engaging smile he has. Pix of Cam and baby goats together ought to make our heads splodie.

  6. kimkiminy says:

    OMG baby goats! SQUEE! You are so lucky!

  7. Emmy says:

    OMG goats, you’ll have to post tons of videos. They are so fun to watch. I love seeing the contrast between goats and alpacas, one is so mellow and the others are so full of energy.

  8. amyhftw says:

    Cammie is SO CUTE! Ever since I had my lady parts removed, I find babies oh so much cuter than before. Maybe because the risk is gone of ever having one so it’s safe to adore them. 🙂

  9. He’s getting so big already! Enjoy spring!

  10. leendadll says:

    [insert joke about Nigerian Dwarfs running a farm and do they maybe prefer to be called ‘little people’]
    YOU ARE SO LUCKY!!

  11. littlemiao says:

    awww, baby goats!! it’s almost May!

  12. aubrey says:

    What a big, happy boy! I’m going to bet that when he goes outside with that smile, people can’t help but smile back!

    Baby goats and pajamas. Make it so.

  13. Redscylla says:

    I came over here just sure there would be baby goat pictures! Where are the baby goat pictures???

Leave a Reply

