Birds!

Bird news is exciting. (To me).

Over Christmas we kept Ashlee’s dog, Leela. She must have a touch of hound in her, because if she realizes she is “free”…no fence, no leash, she takes off in huge (quarter mile) circles of sniffing bliss. She is only gone for 10 minutes or so, but nothing can stop her or catch her until she is done. Needless to say, we freak out, because she would run right in front of a car.

Adam and Sarah were coming into the house and Leela spotted her chance. She was out the door and down the driveway and into the Nature Preserve in seconds.

While we ran and called like lunatics….all of us running through the snow in whatever we had on our feet, I looked up and way way up in the sky I saw a pair of swans flying. So, while everyone else is yelling “Leela!” I am yelling “Swans!!!”

This is not my picture, but it’s close to what we saw.

misty-flying-swans

Second bird story….
I had read years ago that there is a population of robins that do not migrate, but stay here in the north all winter. They survive by eating berries and crabapples. Yesterday, for the first time, I had an entire flock of “winter” robins in my Snowdrift Crabapple tree. They stayed and chowed down the entire time I was outside feeding chickens and filling birdfeeders! Yay!

Also, not my picture!

Misty robin

Thus endeth the bird stories. 🙂

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to Birds!

  1. crankypants says:

    Birbs are the best! did you ever see this twitter? https://twitter.com/ProBirdRights

    • Lauri says:

      Ooo, cute! I haven’t been on Twitter, but this might help inspire me.

      I just love when I see a new bird or birds that I’ve never seen before. It makes my whole day!

  2. Lauri says:

    Lol, those tweets are hilarious!

  3. Drude says:

    You need to train one of the other more obedient dogs to retrieve Leela… My granddad had a very obedient german shorthaired pointer and a dachshund… and the little guy would NEVER listen.. so he sent the big guy out to fetch the little guy.. big guy was amazing at fetch.
    Love the birds. Are swans rare in your area? It’s always magic to see/hear them fly overhead.

    • Lauri says:

      That’s a great idea! Ellie and Sheldon and Orion all come when called (pretty well!) …I could leave a leash on Leela and tell them to fetch her. Lol!

      We see swans on the lakes in north Michigan all the time, I had never seen any here in SE Michigan. And, in mid-January, it was a surprise!

  4. Your robin is different from mine!

  5. leendadll says:

    oohh… swans!!
    I was happy just to see geese wandering near a pond sorta near the vet’s office.
    I love my regular visits by hummingbirds and finchessesses.

  6. I read that the non-migrating robins are the result of global warming, though oddly, I haven’t seen a robin in northern California all this winter. They normally stick around here, but lately, I’ve only seen the usual house sparrows, starlings, and pigeons. (The latter showed up in a bad way: Sunny caught a pigeon in the backyard and proceeded to rip it apart for dinner. She kindly left the wings and a leg on my doorstep.) I’m wondering if it’s too cold here for robins and other migrating birds. They may have flown down to Mexico for the winter…or Michigan!

    • Lauri says:

      I don’t know if the robins are the result of global warming. Our last two winters were bittertly cold. I don’t know how anything survives. Chickadees are amazing!

  7. Lurkertype says:

    Is the picture in the header yours? It’s hilarious.

  8. OOOOOO! Birdies!!!! LikeLikeLike! Still eating breakfast, house is too cold to type effectively, will be back in a couple of hours to see your new posts. Can’t wait!!!!

  9. kimkiminy says:

    How very lovely and magical!

  10. ::runs back::
    Yeeeow! Leela! That’s amazing! And nerve-wracking too, I’ll bet. Is that some kind of hunting-bird-dog activity?
    And she scared up SWANS!!!! They must’ve been gorgeous! I had no idea they lived near you. Now you’ve got me curious about them. The only time I see them is in pictures of calm ponds in the UK or someplace.
    That picture’s really, really lovely.
    Robins! My birdies…Haaaa!…yes, big flocks stay put here, too, in the woods. Big groups come out and “graze” (or whatever it’s called) on lawns, etc. during the more moderate winter weather. We don’t see too many of them when it’s super-cold or snowing, though. None of them look as well-rested as the one who return in the spring from migrating south so it’s sort of easy to tell who’s coming in from Florida (?????) and who wintered-over. I’m so glad you have a flock there and that they like your crabapple tree!

    Wonderful post — beautiful!

    And good news! I can finally see your posts in my Reader! Hot diggety! It took a long time for that to happen, no idea why. Can you see mine? LOL — I posted about turkey buzzards today — we both had birds-on-the-brain!
    🙂

Leave a Reply

