November Posta

Hallooo!

Wow. It was exactly October 2nd last time I posted. I had a very strong urge to come and post today, after seeing so many posts by peeps! Things are good. I may even be having a manic moment. Being in a rather unusually good mood. It’s been awhile.

You know those life things that knock your legs out from under you? They take months and months, to years and years, to get over. Brother going to prison. Been almost two years, so recovering from that shock.

Daughter getting a divorce. Been close to a year, and she’s doing great, so getting my legs back under me from that. Becoming a grandma. Been 7 weeks, 6 hours. Not counting or anything! πŸ˜‰

Six months ago I was having a horrible time with Irritable Bowel. I had been on drugs for a couple of years and had all the tests and the docs were saying “Eat more fiber and take Imodium.” Thanks, Docs. None of it was helping. So, I somehow found info online about the Specific Carbohydrate Diet. SCD. No grains. No sugar. No rice. No oats. No potatoes. The diet claimed to work for in the 90 percentile ofΒ  people with severe ulcerative colitis. I started the diet. Eggs, bananas, butternut squash, meat. …..oh my god ….so much meat.Β  My daughter called me the Anti-vegetarian. I couldn’t eat any fresh fruits or veggies.

Four days after starting the diet, I went off my opiate anti-diarrhea meds that I had been on for two years. I went off my prescription N-said, that I had been on for five years for joint and muscle pain. It’s been six months. I haven’t taken those drugs since. The diarrhea stopped. My gut is healed and I have very very gradually added many foods back in to my diet. Potatoes. Thank god for potatoes. I have lost 24 pounds and am really feeling good.

Ok, enough about bowels.

I was so fortunate to have my tiny grandson spend the night a couple of weeks ago. He was so darned cute and good! Here’s a picture of my couch, loaded with dogs, cats and Camden and Grandma.

Cammie and grandma and dogs

And, here’s the little dude at six weeks old, waving his fists around!Cam 6 weeks

What an incredibly beautiful autumn it has been! This week it’s supposed to be around 70 degrees every day! Wow!

Ok, that’s all fer now, folks!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

40 Responses to November Posta

  1. tom says:

    Awesome to hear that the anti-vegetarian diet worked for you, and that you’re off your meds! WOO! You sound like you are in a good place. That’s all I can wish for any of my friends. (Except, maybe, that you hit the PowerBall and hire me to do easy stuff for you πŸ˜‰ ) ((hugs)) Enjoy fall while you can, because you-know-what is just around the corner.

    • Lauri says:

      Totally enjoying the weather! You-know-what will be here all too soon.
      Yes, being in a good place at this moment is truly the best we can do! ❀

  2. A friend who also had IBS also tried the Specific Carbs diet, and she said for months she fantasized about eating fresh apples and peaches and huge mountains of mashed potatoes, lol. I’m glad it worked for you. It’s funny how something so simple as a change in diet can work so much better than meds, and how doctors never recommend things like that. Maybe it’s too hippie New Age for them? Maybe Big Pharma pays them not to talk about these diets? πŸ˜‰

    Your grandson is so cute! I have a hard time describing to friends who aren’t old enough to be grandparents what it feels like. It’s kinda magical, amazing…it’s like being a new mom again, except without the “OMG what have I done?” lol. It’s like swimming in happy. Hope you’re doing just that!

    • Lauri says:

      Oh my gosh! I actually had food dreams, too! I dreamed I ate a whole nutty donut before I remembered I wasn’t supposed to. And in the dream, I could taste it! Lol. Talk about losing your mind. But, in waking life, I had no desire to eat anything I wasn’t supposed to. My body was telling me that it didn’t want any of that stuff. As my gut has healed, I am comfortable with adding more and more. It’s quite amazing.

      It truly is something wonderfully good being a grandma. They are the most precious little dudes. Without all the responsiblity! Lol!

  3. I’ll have you know I was eating pumpkin pie while reading your post in my email. I finished it. No IBS talk will deter the magic of pumpkin pie! Glad your gut is getting happier πŸ˜€

  4. crankypants says:

    So glad you’re feeling better! Yes, it’s incredible what can happen when you heal your gut. Western medicine just wants to put us on meds for everything and then meds for the side effects, no wonder everyone is so sick! Congratulations! Sorry about your daughter getting divorced. 😦 But yay about grandbaby, he’s so cute in his little turtley jammies! The dogs look so protective and intrigued by the furless little dewd!

    • Lauri says:

      I was really surprised by my GP Doctor. I always have been very impressed with him until this! “Here, have some drugs. Ok, have some more drugs!”
      I have to make an appointment to tell him about the diet!

      • Jaypo says:

        Don’t be surprised if he poops on the whole idea no pun intended. I say if it works, do it. Can he saythat about the meds? Or more meds? “That ain’t workin’…” –Dire Straits

  5. kimkiminy says:

    So glad to hear the diet worked!

  6. eeeeeeeee, cute baby! How did I miss that you had become a grandma?? CONGRATULATIONS! I hope you an Camden will have tons of fun together – it looks like you already are πŸ™‚

  7. Emmy says:

    I just love those photos! Camden is gorgeous!

    I was recommended that diet too – I’m glad it’s working. I was on the FODMAP diet which is similar, for “Irritable Bowel” which obviously was one of those garbage can diseases where anything goes with no explanation – but the smarties in Australia at Monash University figured out it was malabsorption, and the diet works for a huge number of sufferers. But it’s severely restrictive, and I lost a ton of weight. It’s also risky because it takes away so few nutrients. But I was able to eat again – it was nearly a miracle after some black box antibiotics made me severely ill. I also followed SCD for a while and you’re right it was like a meat lover’s heaven LOL.

  8. Emmy says:

    “Takes away so MANY nutrients”. Sorry.

  9. M-----l says:

    I stopped reading at “irritable bowel”, but I saw some cute pictures as I scrolled down to the bottom here to say hey.

    Hey!

  10. madtante says:

    Babies and dogs!

    Sorry for your gut troubles. I could have directed you to SCD years ago, kept trying to get The Duchess into it but she’d rather spend $1800/ month on RX.

    And be miserable.

    I hope you’ll be one of the lucky ones who get to add in (I’m sure you’ve read about stage 2) foods with careful Elimination Testing but of course that’s after a good 2-12 months of healing.

    I personally seem to not make good sense with the common things: eggs? Even though I have lupus? Body loves ’em. FODMAPS are sketchy: common problems do nothing to me but common easy foods aren’t good.

    While I have a sneaking suspicion that this, like the rest of me, proves that I’m from another planet.

    It’s SO worth the changes and yeah, I basically can’t eat out anywhere but the pay off is HUGE!

    • Lauri says:

      I can’t believe the number of people who are taking all kinds of drugs, even steroids, and still eating horribly and suffering from ulcerative colitis. REALLY?

      I have been able to add so many foods….after six months of healing. I am really really happy! πŸ˜€

  11. SingingTuna says:

    Lauri!!!!! ::waves::
    Hooray for your happy innards!! I’m glad you could do it with diet and that you can gradually add food back in. Drugs…ugh.
    Your daughter!! Yowee. That had to be really tough on you, too. (((hugs))) for both of you.
    Camden is so cute! And that shot of you and your various cuddle-buddies is PERFECT!
    πŸ™‚

  12. Well, after the talk of eating all that meat … I was relieved to see photos of Orion and the crew! Him holding a copy of today’s NY Times would have made me a little more confident …

    And I’ve been wondering where the billion grandbaby pics have been.

    Glad your bowels are not so irritable anymore. now to work on the rest of you … lol.

    • Lauri says:

      Hahaha. You are SO funny, GOM. But, seriously, when I went on this diet my dad actually asked me “Is this going to help your temperment any?” Hmph…..

  13. Jaypo says:

    Soon as I read your IBS sentence me thought, “I have to send her info on the SCD diet.” True!! There’s a ton of info out there, besides Gottschall’s website. I first came across it online with these guys http://www.scdlifestyle.com. Oh, one more thought, maybe you mentioned it, I tend to comment first then re-read. I started taking HCL. Apparently periods of extreme stress, such as you and I have both been through the past four years or so, can wipe your system clean of hydrocholoric/stomach acid. So yer stomach just passes half digested food into the intestines. Ewwwww. The result for me was extreme discomfort after eating AND all night, especially after eating MEAT. Giant fatigue (not getting nutrients). Boaty gassy why-does-everythini-make-me-fart misery. It wasn’t the food. It was me. Good luck!! And write to me if you want. p.s. Also, I had to order more of the right colors for yr fatholders, so they’l be a little later than I wanted…

    • Lauri says:

      I have found that drinking a glass of water with a couple of teaspoons of cider vinegar really helps my stomach. I wonder if that helps the HCL?

  14. Redscylla says:

    YAY! for happier bowels! Stress is bad enough without having to add to it butt/poop problems.
    Grandbaby looks just that–grand! Glad you are getting to enjoy him.

    • Lauri says:

      I “invented” a chicken pot pie recipe yesterday. I put a crust on for Ken’s half and left mine crustless. It turned out really yummy! I am adding in some corn starch, and that doesn’t seem to be bothering me. Good for thickening the sauce!

  15. Robin King says:

    ::runs back:: It was Onion’s birthday the other day, right? Peeked at Facebonk, saw your post. I hope he had a SPECTACULAR birthday, one befitting his sweet massive self. πŸ™‚

  16. Since you won’t post again until sometime in December …. I thought ‘d say it here:

    MICHIGAN STATE BEAT OHIO STATE! OMG, and THANKS Sparty from some of us rooting for teams in conferences ignored by the bowl selection committee even though we’re one of the few NO LOSS teams in America …

  17. leendadll says:

    good to know on the IBS-D cure. I haven’t been clinically diagnosed with it (I was diagnosed with “we don’t know what’s wrong”) but have the systems. I swear I support the entire staff of whoever makes Imodium. I’ve been watching the commercials for the new IBS-D med but there are a lot of side effects and I’m sure it’s not cheap. Diet is a good plan – except that I have no self control.

    I’m late to the party but it’s nice to see a post. Cute baby!!

  18. Aussie Emjay says:

    I’m glad the diet has had such benefits for you. Grandma looks great holding the baby πŸ™‚ (I’m jealous because I wish I was closer to my little grand-dude. We have to make do with Skype)

Leave a Reply

