Flowers always look best in September

I found the flower pictures…..on my phone. I had already moved them to the computer and lost them, so I moved them again and am now going to quickly post them before they disappear again. Lol.

My butterfly bush bloomed late this year.

Butterfly bush

My flower pots always look great just before the frost.Flowers in pots

This Brazilan Plume flower has bloomed every year for the last six years. I’m pretty proud of myself.
Brazilian plumeflower

My Fairy Garden, with a Petoskey stone in the front of it.
Fairy garden

And, ornamental grass, plus dogs!

Ellie with grass

Ellie and O with grass

TA DA!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Flowers always look best in September

  1. Emmy says:

    Omg beautiful – I would love to know what species are in your flower pots. Especially the yellow and red!

    • Lauri says:

      The yellow are marigolds (always a favorite!) and I think the red are some sort of salvia.
      I always love the (blue) ageratum, too.
      In the left hand pot are the nicotiana for the hummingbirds. 🙂

  2. Lauri says:

    Orion loves standing in shrubbery. I have no idea why. 🙂

  3. Robin King says:

    Ahhhhhhh…glorious!!!! And you’re so right about flowers, esp in late September (and early October, here). They seem to be trying harder: one last push of gorgeousness and vitality before they either go to sleep or croak when the cold arrives. You have a white butterfly bush! The only ones I’ve seen are purple. It’s beautiful. Everything is, Lauri — you’re a terrific gardener. Love the little Fairy Garden!
    Maybe Orion’s guarding everything for you? Stealth dog in the bushes?

    Thank you for sharing these!

    We had weeks and weeks of no rain; I had to cut things back to keep the root systems alive and they’re just now re-sprouting thanks to the crazy rains. I hope there’s time for flowers again before the first hard frost.

    • Lauri says:

      Oh, I hope you get flowers again, too! I have a magenta butterfly bush, a bluish purple and the white one. And seedlings keep coming up all over in my gardens! They’re so fun!

  4. madtante says:

    Like that plume flower!

  5. It’s true, they always look gorgeous just before that first frost hits, and then agh! It used to make me feel a little sad, thinking my annuals were saying goodbye just as the garden was looking its best.

    (Of course, you can cover them to protect them from the frost or even bring them inside, but they always look discouraged when they’re brought indoors. I think they miss the sun and open air.)

    I need to set up a fairy garden next spring. This year it was too hot and dry. I think all the fairies moved to Seattle.

    • Lauri says:

      I am going to try to bring the fairy garden plants inside! And I have many sub-tropical succulents that I have to bring inside for the winter. That will keep me out of trouble for awhile! 😀

  6. kimkiminy says:

    Love your faerie garden!

  7. Jaypo says:

    These are loverly, larui! Our clematis is looking stupendous, my climbing rose is going crazy–I have to give it something to climb on before the frost… Everything that’s still green and going looks beautiful with the red and gold maples. I can’t wait to make a good pot o’ stew.
    I love your fairy garden too! Where did you get that teensy little house, did you make it? My friend A and I have been talking about making another fairy house all summer, but she’s been too dang busy. I ought to start one myself so they have someplace to hunker down in the winter. 😉

    • Lauri says:

      I bought the little house at a garden store near me. They have so much cute fairy stuff (all expensive and all made in China)….I should make my own! 😛

  8. SingingTuna says:

    Happy Birthday to ORION!!!!! Saw that adorable two-lap picture on FB, had to send greetings!
    ::tosses dog-friendly confetti::
    🙂

Leave a Reply

