More June….it’s the Solstice!

We’ve been having beautiful days, lately. So much rain, the first of the month, but now we have had several sunny days in a row. I was just out trying to pull the weeds (rainforest height, actually) but in the direct sun it was too dang hot, so I’m in here messing about on the computer.

Ken and I went to Las Vegas a week ago. It was lots of fun. Good shows, good food, good drink and we won $70 the one time we played Black Jack.

Went up in the new giant Ferris wheel…..it has cabs like the London Eye, and our cab had a bar and bar tender. Wheeee!

Bar High RollerHigh roller avenueLauri and KenWe put our drinks down for this picture. 😛

We stayed at the Bellagio…they always have awesome displays in their atrium.

VegasThen, after we got home from Vegas, several co-workers and I went on a bike ride near Lansing. We had forgotten the torrential rains of the weekend before, so we found many parts of the trail underwater.

It was a fun ride, wading, pedaling, or climbing over railroad tressles to get around the paths.

10354073_1435580476764759_7338073482253166418_nMy friend, Melissa is in the foreground, I am in the background.

10494830_1435580336764773_3511909393019031089_nMy friend, Caroline, peddling through puddles. 10672223_1435580653431408_5470318045367782953_nAnother friend going under the bridge!

A fine time was had by all!

We even stopped at a playground to climb around for awhile.

IMG_0027 (2)They didn’t have playgrounds like this when we were kids!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

21 Responses to More June….it’s the Solstice!

  1. msmouse7 says:

    It all looks like too much fun!! Getting your childhood on by riding through puddles (well, they are a bit more than puddles). And that playground reminds me of a spider.
    Sounds like a great little vacation. Now back to the weeds 😕

    • Lauri says:

      That’s exactly what I thought when I saw the picture. It looks like a spider! It didn’t look so spidery in real life!
      The weeds have killed me for today!

  2. I don’t think there’s enough alcohol in that cab to get me on that thing …

  3. Lurkertype says:

    Where is the Ferris wheel… like, behind the Venetian? I want to go on it! I used to go on the rides on top of the Stratosphere and they didn’t have bartenders. Not like it’s more than 10 steps to a bartender anywhere in Vegas… I love walking down the street with giant neon-colored drinks!

    • Lauri says:

      It’s right behind what used to be Imperial Palace…is now The Linq. Right in the middle of the strip. Ken and the kids did the rides on top of the Stratosphere….I stayed in the gift shop, imagining horrible endings for all of them. *shudder*

  4. madtante says:

    WOW! Don’t you guys get leeches? I could go up in one of those things if I hit the bar FIRST then had a couple on the trip 🙂

    Good stuff!

  5. M-----l says:

    Riding a bike through the water looks like a lot of fun. I haven’t done that sort of thing since I was a kid.

    I don’t even have a bike anymore.

  6. Oooh, that looks like so much fun! I love the underwater display of the hotel 🙂

  7. Aussie Emjay says:

    That’s one fancy ferris wheel! How many drinks can you have in a rotation?

  8. Jaypo says:

    This makes me miss you!

Leave a Reply

