Time to spruce up the blog for spring.

I’ll get my header and background pics changed. And since I said “Spruce up”…I’ll see if I have any pine tree pics. 😛

We had 3 beautiful days….went on two long, lovely bike rides. Got my fishpond and garden around the pond cleaned and weeded. Now, the it’s blowing and freezing and snowing!

‘Tis April!

IMG_4551Here is Orion helping Ken measure for a shed he is building to house our new generator. And, lo and behold, there are some spruce trees. I amooose myself.

IMG_4552The maple blossoms this year are insanely huge. This much be why I have had a horrendous allergy attack this spring. Allegra is helping out a lot!

IMG_4553Crabby alpaca face when he wants to be let out of his pasture.

IMG_4570Happy pacs grazing in the backyard! Happy spring to one and all!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

22 Responses to Time to spruce up the blog for spring.

  1. Laurie says:

    Hi, Larui!
    We’re also getting the blowing and cold (thank dog no snow), and I am not happy about it! It’s all grim and grey up here. We deserve some patio weather!

  2. Laurie says:

    We had on and off downpours yesterday and I got caught in one on the way home. Learned my lesson about not having an umbrella, though I don’t think it would have done much with the accompanying wind. Does it seem windier these last couple of years to you? It does to me.

    • Lauri says:

      It has definitely been windier this year! And I drove through a mini-blizzard tonight to get home. Crazy!

      • Laurie says:

        I haven’t looked out the window since I got home, because i don’t want to see the flurries that were predicted, otherwise, I would just pull the covers over my head until summer gets here!

        • Lauri says:

          Don’t look! Lol. It is so freaking cold.
          Oh, well, it will warm up eventually. I’m really happy with the little bit of work I got done on our two warm days.

  3. I wish I could send you guys a little of our Central Valley heat. It’s ‘way too dry and warm here for April. (Though the weird thing is that it’s been getting cold at night, like flannel sheets and long johns cold. Someone called it ‘desert weather,’ and said it was because we have no clouds at night to trap the heat on the ground.)

    The toothy alpaca grin (or grimace?) made me laugh. He should be grateful he has a thick fluffy alpaca coat and a nice barn to retreat to. Do they spit, btw? I’ve seen llamas spit, once right into the face of some kid who was teasing it.

    Happy spring to you as well!

    • Lauri says:

      So far the only spitting that has gone on is at each other. Or rather, it’s Strong spitting at Nugget if he gets too close to Strong’s food.

      I wish we could send a whole bunch of Australia’s flood waters to California. In a moderated fashion, of course. Oh, if only we were Empresses of the Universe.

      They are getting their thick, fluffy fleece shaved off on May 9th. The after pictures will be a hoot! I sure hope it warms up by then!

    • Lurkertype says:

      Isn’t that odd? I thought I’d be in summer PJs by now, but I had to wash a load of winter ones instead. Not mid-winter ones, but definitely long sleeves. It is very desert-y, or like a high altitude.

      • Lauri says:

        Wow, if even you guys are feeling the cold, then it is COLD! I am in my flannel pjs, and fleece jacket (yes, inside we keep the thermostat at 66) and my wool slippers. I’m pretty cozy now, but it might get into the 20s tonight! And, I just unplugged the water heaters in the two animal sheds. 😛 It’s all my fault.

  4. I was going to ask – “didn’t you get snow?” – because I saw that it was snowing at the Tigers game yesterday …. but you answered that.

    Orion looks so helpful! “Just make it this long,” he says as he stretched out on the ground.

  5. Jaypo says:

    I wore my WINTER coat and boots to work yesterday! April 23rd!! Insane.
    Yep, the toofy grin looks like prep work for a good hocking!! Are they really nicer than llamas?

    Orion made me laugh!! I thought he was a mini-horse!

    • Lauri says:

      They really are nice. Llamas aren’t bad if you understand them. They are just too busy with llama business to be interested in human business.

  6. M-----l says:

    What’s a maple blossom? I’ve got a maple tree in my front yard and its blossoms don’t look anything like that. Is my tree defective?

    • Lauri says:

      Hmm….is it a Sugar Maple? This one is. But, the blossoms are usually unnoticeable and this year they are huge! Not sure why, but they have made my allergies (which only show up once every few years, yay) really bad this year.

      • M-----l says:

        Mine is just a regular old maple as far as I know. It gets little blossoms that stick around for a few days and then fall all over everywhere. Then I track them in the house and have to vacuum.

  7. madtante says:

    Crabby? See, to me that’s always what they look like!

Leave a Reply

