Wow, we lucked out.

Ken and I just returned from a 5 day cruise on Saturday. Saturday night a huge snowstorm started. It snowed all night, all day Sunday and finally stopped sometime early Monday morning. It looks like we got well over a foot of snow. If we had to fly home on Sunday it would have not been good.

It’s now 9 degrees. Brrrrrr. I have to go to the grocery store. Good thing our driveway is plowed.Β  I’ll have to find my tallest boots to get out to feed the chicks and ‘pacas.

I have a cold which developed on the way home so I feel sort of floaty and blech.

And I came downstairs this morning to find that Ellie had opened a cupboard and ate an entire box of unfrosted blueberry Poptarts. Yes, I love those. And they are hard to find. I was shocked to find them at the grocery store a couple of weeks ago. And now they are in Ellie’s stomach. I’ll definitely be warming up the car and taking Ellie and Shel with me to the grocery store. She is way too wound up after being at the kennel for the week.

Alright, off to the store. It should be an adventure!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

24 Responses to Wow, we lucked out.

  1. Laurie says:

    I’m so jealous that you got away on a vacation, too bad you didn’t miss the storm entirely. We got it here, too, but not quite as much snow as you. Hope the chickens stayed warm.

    • Lauri says:

      Chicks and ‘pacas are looking good. I about killed myself trying to haul the feed out in the deep snow. When I came back inside I was completely soaked in sweat. Bleck.

  2. marsboom says:

    Guardian angels working overtime! Glad you’re home, safe and sound! Yep,had to change my pants,snow is up to my knees where the princess needed to poopy. Think I’ll shovel a path later. Have to go to the bank in Linden,hope Linden and silver lake are better now. Neighbor was stuck at the bottim of out driveway 😦 But you know minivans in the snow, her husband came out and managed to get it back in their driveway. ( he’s the man! Lol) she said screw work ( nice to have a job you can say that to, right?) But anyways…need pictures lady..bet it was gorgeous? Talk to you soon? Hugs to all and keep warm! πŸ™‚

  3. Post pictures of your cruise when you can! I’m jealous too! But glad you got to enjoy sunshine and balmy weather before having to face a snowstorm. And the freezing aftermath. Brrrr.

    I admit, I LOL’d at the thought of Ellie eating all those Pop-Tarts! I haven’t eaten them in so long, not since the kids left the house, I wouldn’t know if the unfrosted blueberry ones were hard to find out here. But now that you’ve brought it up, I have a craving for them. πŸ˜€ Stay warm and safe!

    • Lauri says:

      Lol. Ken makes fun of me for eating Poptarts. I mean, they are probably like Twinkies in that they would survive a nuclear holocaust with all the crap and preservatives in them. Still..blueberry ones are good! πŸ˜‰

  4. Redscylla says:

    Dogs do love blueberries, but what a naughty girl to eat them all up. What fun to come home from your cruise just in time for SNOW!

  5. crankypants says:

    Well I’m sure glad those blueberry poptarts stayed in Ellie’s belly or it would have looked like that pie-eating contest scene in Stand By Me!
    Glad you made it home before the storm, and hope you feel better!

    • Lauri says:

      She seems to have a strong stomach. She is always getting into the cupboards and eating something. I need to move the food out of that corner cupboard and put bowls in there. That’ll teach her!

  6. marsboom says:

    Wow,how in the heck did I miss the pop tart adventure…heh,they have blueberries in them…super good for you! Well,the real ones are! The roads were great everywhere from grand blanc to linden especially the xpressway. Neighborhood sucks! That little cruz does great..have to go out 2 more times…I do hope they plow it by 11 pm!

  7. AuntieBellum says:

    My favorite poptarts are the frosted brown sugar/cinnamon ones. They don’t even pretend to be healthy. πŸ˜€

    I don’t envy you guys all that snow. We just got a normal-for-Colorado-but-way-more-than-they-forecasted 6 inches. And it’s sunny and 50s today. The snow and ice has all melted off my car, and it doesn’t even look too filthy now!

    • Lauri says:

      I have always liked the brown sugar ones, too!
      It was quite surprising how much snow we got! I did go to the store and everywhere I went was nicely plowed, so that was good.

  8. could have been worse … you could have found unfrosted blueberry dog puke all over the place …

  9. madtante says:

    Glad you made it home safe & sound! Hope the cruise was nice. I’m a little worried about flying out to FS’ next week. Ext forecast says snow the NEXT day, so hoping it’s not a problemo.

  10. Wow! You certainly did get home just in time! What a change from the warm to single digit temps. Brrrrr. It was nearly 60 here today πŸ˜€

  11. leendadll says:

    do you have a trader joes? their version of poptarts have no frosting. then again, they’re also totally inferior in taste.
    sorry for the temp change – that must be hell to adjust to!

  12. homebody says:

    I hope your cold is much better now, and that you are poptart-stocked! Oh, and I love your current banner photo! The cuteness!!!

    • Lauri says:

      My cold is better. THE cold is very cold. Minus eleven this morning. I just finished feeding the chicks and pacs and my nose is froze. Brrrrrrrrrrrrrrr.

  13. Winter wonderland welcome.

  14. aubrey says:

    Is heating Pop Tarts a thing? When I was young, and hunting through cupboards for snacking nibbly-bits, I never had the time to heat and eat. My end game was Eating.

    ‘Floaty and blech’ – was this a head cold? What a welcome home gift; a welcome I hope it did not overstay.

Leave a Reply

