This made me think of M—–l.

I picked up a book yesterday and was immediately intrigued. It is “Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children.”

I know nothing about it, but that it has vintage photographs scattered throughout (don’t buy this on Kindle, folks) and it is (according to John Green, author of  “The Fault in Our Stars”, which I have not read; the cover photo looked all schmaltzy) “A tense, moving, and wondrously strange first novel. The photographs and text work together brilliantly to create an unforgettable story.”

So, it should be fun! We shall see!

book

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to This made me think of M—–l.

  1. crankypants says:

    My BFF loaned it to me last year, it’s pretty good! Not good enough for me that I would buy the sequel (I didn’t even buy the original!) which came out a few months ago I think. I was kind of disappointed how it ended in a way that it isn’t a standalone book. The pictures are really cool though.

  2. M-----l says:

    The guy I buy old photos from in Seattle claims to have sold pics to Ransom Riggs. He’s very proud of this fact and has told me the story on three different visits. He’s always trying to get me to read that book, but I haven’t gotten around to it yet.

  3. Aren’t all children peculiar?

  4. Emmy says:

    My old housemate had a book called Geek Love, very similar and she named her 2 kittens after the characters. Elly and Olly. Loved those names. “Circus freak” books make me uncomfortable and nervous most of the time.

  5. Doug says:

    Welcome to the island of misfit toys

  6. The second novel by the same author has just been releasd – both are popular in our school library.

  7. aubrey says:

    Something about the phrase ‘wondrously strange’ is throwing down a red flag for me – for some reason. I wouldn’t buy the book, but the cover image and title most definitely.

  8. Aussie Emjay says:

    One of my children gave me this book last Christmas – haven’t read it yet, but love the cover.

Leave a Reply

