Hello, everybody!

I haven’t posted since June 12….mind blown….and I see it’s all new around here with the beeps and the boops. Still not very fast, though. 😉

I will admit that back in May, when I was informed that my brother was going to prison, most of my creativity/blogging/focusing on much was put into a paralyzed state. Not that I have been depressed-depressed. Just sort of frozen.

I have still continued work and caring for animals and plants and family and friends as always. I have been on six long distance bike rides (around 20 miles each) with friends and family.

My tomato garden overcame the cold summer and we are enjoying wonderful tomatoes!

It was a very bad year for raccoons. We lost 13 chickens. Trapped and released two raccoons. Then the third raccoon would not be trapped, so after three nights and the loss of 7 out of 8 of the baby chicks we finally got  the shelters raccoon-proofed and finally caught third raccoon and dispatched him. We have been securing the old chickens and my 8 new babies at night and are having no more problems.

Friends from Oregon were here for a lovely long weekend. They got to know our dogs very well. 🙂

IMG_3640 IMG_3647

Orion  and Ellie loved Paula and Steve!

The one baby chick to survive the Raccoon Wars started crowing the end of July. This is when they are supposed to start laying eggs IF they are hens. I was calling her Dove, but when she started crowing I had to change it to Doug. This is Doug.

DougHe’s lovely and friendly, but he won’t be laying any eggs. 😛

So, I have eight new babies, six Isa Browns and two Aracuanas that might start laying eggs (unless they are roosters!) in October sometime. Lol.

Ashlee’s alpaca farm had the biggest excitement yet two weeks ago! The first two crias to be born at her farm were born on Thursday and Friday. Here are the adorabibble pictures!!!

Alpaca babies2 Alpaca babies1Mayor Todd, at 2 hours old. Born two weeks ago, Thursday.

And born on Friday….Mischief! Alpaca babies Alpaca babies3This is Mischief at ONE hour old! Squeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee!

I was able to travel to Ashlee and Ross’s farm in Ohio this past weekend and got some more pictures.

Babies Babies2 Goldi and Todd Mischief and Phaedra IMG_3734

Ashlee got a “guard llama” for her birthday. The guard llama is very territorial and always on the lookout and will protect the smaller alpacas from stray dogs or coyotes. This is Tina, the guard llama.

Tina tongueIMG_3673Tina says “Pffffffft on your picture taking.”

There, I do believe I have caught you up on what’s going on in my life. It’s pretty much all good! 🙂

Ellie says “Bye bye!”

Ellie

 

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

47 Responses to Hello, everybody!

  1. Jessica says:

    Miss Ellie is getting big! I love Tina on the Alpaca Cam…

  2. M-----l says:

    So how do you know a llama is a “guard llama” as opposed to just a regular one? Do they come with a certificate?

    • Lauri says:

      I think any llama will do for a guard llama. It’s just in their nature. Ashlee and Ross bought Tina from an alpaca farm whose owners were retiring. They witnessed Tina chasing critters (raccoons?) out of the yard, so she’s a guaranteed guard llama.

  3. Actually, sounds like the raccoons had a pretty good year to me …

  4. Aussie Emjay says:

    Doug is a very attractive rooster. I’ve learnt something new – didn’t know a baby alpaca was called a cria. They are really cute.

  5. Laurie says:

    Hi, Larui! The wee alpacas are so adorable. They look like they’re made of pipe cleaners!

  6. LOL at Doug! He’s a beautiful rooster, however. I love that variety of chicken with the mottled black and white breast. I hope he doesn’t wake you at 5 a.m. like our neighbors’ rooster, who sounds sometimes like he’s right under my window.

    Does Ashlee plan to shear the alpacas and sell their wool? There was a booth at the local farmers’ market where they were selling alpaca yarn. It was too expensive for me—$15 a ball, and a little ball at that—but it was so soft, I kept imagining what a great shawl it would make for someone. A really special someone! The babies are cute. I don’t blame you for not posting when you have so many other things to do outdoors!

    • Lauri says:

      Yes, Ashlee is learning about what to do with the wool. They have had the alpacas sheared (shorn?) once in April and so have about 20 plastic bags of fleece in their storage shed. There is a co-op that will process it for them. She’s still trying to decide what to do!

  7. madtante says:

    Poor Doug. He ought to be nice, knows what’s lurking ‘out there.’

    I love the idea if a guard llama! (But not for Lily)

    Glad to hear you’re having fun!

  8. crankypants says:

    Awwwwww the baby ‘pacas are so stinking cute!!!!
    Is Tina named after the one in Napoleon Dynamite?
    I never remember the difference between a llama and an alpaca one has ears that stand up straight I think, and are llamas better guards than alpacas or was Tina just a good guard?
    Doug is a very good looking non-layer. Sorry about the evil raccoons.
    Glad Ashlee & Ross are doing well with the farm!

  9. marsboo says:

    Maybe you need a llama? Tina sounds pretty awesome. Ellie is so big! Where does the time go? Maybe we can playdate before the snow falls again…or maybe during the snowfall. It will be fun to watch pups catching snowflakes and snowballs! Lets try anyways… left a post earlier,don’t know where it went”blog heaven?” Good to sed and hear all your goodness 🙂

  10. littlemiao says:

    Wow, Ellie has grown so much! I’m sorry you lost so many chickens. 😦 My CSA farm had to get guard geese to keep the turkeys safe from hawks. Maybe you need guard geese too? I’m not sure how well they do against raccoons, though.

    And I probably say this about every cute critter out there, but Doug reminds me of Sprocket. I think it is his puff of tail feathers.

    • Lauri says:

      Heehee! Doug does look a bit like Sprocket!
      I think a couple of Ashlee’s alpacas will be moving here in October, so that might be enough to scare off raccoons. We will see! I’m keeping the egg-layer babies locked up, no matter what, though!

  11. Emmy says:

    The black alpacas are so cool. They should have their own Twitter account. Glad things are well.

  12. amyhftw says:

    I love all of your photos! Yay!
    Michigan State has guard donkeys for their sheep herd. Or they used to. Maybe they’ve moved on to llamas.

  13. kimkiminy says:

    Oof, that’s too bad about the chooks. Glad you finally got the coop secured.
    Sorry to hear about your brother.
    Those llama babies are beyond adorable.

    • Lauri says:

      Thanks!
      I saw that the next door neighbors are now setting a live-trap, so they must be having trouble with raccoons, too.

      So far my shelters are staying secure!

  14. GOF says:

    I’d really like to have a guard llama……not so much your raccoons, we have our hands full with feral pigs this year. Your pictures are excellent and tell their own stories.

  15. SingingTuna says:

    Those beeps and boops! First time that popped up I jumped — LOL!
    “Just sort of frozen.” yeah. Good description of how that feels. (((((((((warmhugs))))))))
    Hooray for tomatoes!
    But 13 chickens killed? Man.
    That lone survivor is VERY handsome, eggs or not.
    ::waves to Doug::

    Your pix of the dogs is mind-boggling. So BIG!!!! So sweet!!!!
    Great about the family doings, as always. I can barely imagine that kind of thing…it must be lovely!
    And WOOOOHOOOOOO!!!!!! ALPACA-PALOOZA!!!!!!!!!!!! They’re so beautiful! and adorable!!! And useful!!
    Congrats about the new chicken babeeez!
    And the crias!! I just looked that up and saw that alpacas are pregnant for 11 to 12 months. Yikes.

    Such wonderful pix!!!
    Oh! I nearly forgot:
    Bye-bye, Ellie!
    🙂

  16. Jaypo says:

    Laruuuuuuiii!! We must be on the same wavelength as usual. I figured it’s time I start hangin’ at again with mah peeps. Little by little! A wonderful post, love the behbehs, and the guard llama. If s/he slacks though he’ll be a Dally Llama.

    Poor auntie Carley. She bought a bunch of eggs to hatch on her own, of Swedish Flower hens. Only there are 11 roosters and one hen. It’s not her way, but they’re probably destined for the pot. Luv oo.

    • Lauri says:

      Oh, wow, 11 roosters??? I thought I was having bad chicken gender odds.
      Crazy!
      Dilly Dally the Dalai Lllama dallying around.
      Love oo, too!

  17. aubrey says:

    Dad’s tomato garden has been relentless as well. I don’t like them, but thank goodness the neighbor’s do!

    Baby llama would make a great model. Definite runway (not runaway!) style. Better sign her up quick!

    So sorry about the crap things; am very glad the other things that fill your life are so grand and happy.

    • Lauri says:

      Thanks, Aubrey! I am so happy for all the good things in life! There’s plenty of good! You don’t like tomatoes!!!! Say it ain’t so!!!
      My daughter is just starting to like tomatoes at 29, so she’s enjoying them this year.

  18. homebody says:

    The animal photos are wonderful. I especially love the baby llamas! So sorry to hear you’ve been having a rough summer. (I haven’t been around WordPress much this summer and wasn’t aware of the situation with your brother… Oh my gosh I’m so sorry.)

    • Lauri says:

      Thanks, Homie! It’s icky, but most of the time my sister and I are ok. I’ll be heading up to the lake this weekend to help my parents, so it will be good to see them, too.

  19. Hello.. Society can. be.. And many times is
    an uncaring.. faceless entity offering no sense beyond ‘performance’ for the crowd… such times I find my persistent belief in strong.. consistent love for the irreplaceable loved one.. I hope my words.. silly or profound help bring you to your best in such times when love is tested to simple truth .. sometimes the only good..
    Peace Tony

  20. FYI above comment is cryinforthedyin that was posted from my blog.
    CC

  21. Redscylla says:

    Yeah, the whole prison thing is bad, and it does freeze you up, make the world look different when someone you know goes away. But it’s good you’re keeping busy and going on with things. Those baby alpacas are the very definition of redonkulous!

  22. leendadll says:

    Gahhhh.. now I want alpacas!! Sorry to hear about the chicks – good luck with the new ones!

  23. AuntieBellum says:

    Eeeee! Squeeeee! (And Doug is pretty durned handsome, too!)

    Have you seen the video going around Facebook of the Dane pitching a tantrum because daddy is giving his brother Dane lovies, and he’s not getting any? LOL! I’ll have to find it and post it.

    • Lauri says:

      We watched that video on a co-worker’s phone today. It’s just hilarious! Earnest “talks” like that to us, but we can’t seem to catch it on video!

Leave a Reply

