Good stuff

I love my alliums. And bugleweed. And Snow-in-summer. And all my sedums and ground covers.

IMG_3458Last evening we found a mama Blanding’s turtle in the backyard. Ken picked her up and moved her to the front so the dogs wouldn’t bother her. Later that night we saw her lay eggs in the ground right by the driveway..at the base of the alliums you see in this picture! SO cool!

IMG_3476Ellie was very gentle, but curious.

IMG_3477I need to lay some eggs, Peeps.

Luna goes outside to sit on the potting bench on the porch. Then comes inside. That’s adventuring for her. I guess living life on the streets and giving birth to seven kittens at Animal Control was the extent of adventure that she wanted in her life.

IMG_3478And one more. The baby chicks…much bigger!

IMG_3465

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

27 Responses to Good stuff

  1. Wow, your garden greened up fast! I love alliums too. They’re like summer is announcing it’s here, finally.

    I hope you get some photos of the baby turtles when they arrive! We had baby turtles hatch out of some nest in our front yard, but sadly the raccoons got to them before we could save them. Even when we found out we had baby raccoons nesting in a nearby tree, I didn’t feel quite as happy about having them around after that. 😦

    • Lauri says:

      Oh those raccoons! I still hate to see anything die, but I won’t feel quite so sad when I see them smooshed on the highway.
      They are buggers!

      • leendadll says:

        i was just talking to one of the volunteers at the Pacific Marine Mammal Center, asking if they’ll be taking in otters once they migrate down here (change in laws/restrictions… i dunno… but we’re gonna get sea otters down here). She said yes, with a sad look. Turns out they’re like raccoons – cute but NASTY LITTLE FUCKERS. I said I’d still pay $500 to be able to hold one (offer I missed at a Denver zoo – but it turned out they were river otters anyway).

        • Otters are nasty? Whoda thunk?

          I was thinking of stopping by the Pacific Marine Mammal Center this year when I visit my younger daughter in San Diego. We donated money to them when the coast was awash in sad little baby seals last spring, and they sent us an invite to come see how our donation was used. I hope things are better down there for the seals. Seeing a starving seal baby on the beach is heartbreaking, especially since the feds have signs up everywhere warning people not to feed or touch them.

          • leendadll says:

            they had more animals in their care this year than last. the volunteer said it appears to be because sardines have moved to a different location so the mothers are having to swim further – and the babies either get abandoned or the mother’s milk isn’t sufficient because she used so many calories to get back.

            i’ve seen the exterior. if you go during the time of Festival of the Arts, you’ll get a great 2-fer day out!

        • Lauri says:

          Well! Sometimes it’s best to just watch cute videos and see cute pics and not know the actual personality of some animals.
          Just as it is sometimes disappointing to get to know some people too well. 😉
          Lol.

  2. msmouse7 says:

    Look how big those chicks are!! Live your ground cover and allium. I have a few of them too.
    Seems as if everything and everyone is growing!!

  3. Laurie says:

    Your lacewings are looking very pretty. So is Lunatuna.

  4. crankypants says:

    eeeeee! Ellie and Turdu and Luna and chickies!!! so cute.

  5. Luna looks so much like Cornelia the shelter kitty – gorgeous! I love the idea of having a nesting turtle (tortoise!) in my garden 🙂 We don’t get them here, though.

  6. madtante says:

    Yay for mama turtle!

  7. GOF says:

    You might need to take those secateurs out of the packaging soon if things keep growing that fast. 🙂 I think I’ll have to move to the northern Hemisphere for 3 months each year…..I don’t like winters.

  8. leendadll says:

    I like alium plants but hate the flowers. Dunno why that is.
    I can’t believe how big the chicks are now!!

  9. Yay for flowers and aminals! 😀

  10. Redscylla says:

    Yeah, I try to focus on nice animal things, cuz the animal world is full of assholes, just like the people world. Is there any way to protect the baby turkles? Fencing? Or are raccoons just too cleaver?

  11. SingingTuna says:

    YUMMMM! Luscious gardenings!!!! Turtle eggs? Whoa. That’s amazing. The turtle (no name????) is very attractive. Is she still around?
    Luna is wise AND beautiful.
    Chicks! Those are the little fuzzballs we saw not too long ago??!! Wow!!

Leave a Reply

