A day at the park

Last week a friend and I headed down to Kensington Metro Park in the Detroit area. It’s a great place with miles and miles of biking, hiking, horseback-riding, wetlands, lakes and tons of birds and wild life.

We hiked, and had handfuls of shelled sunflower seeds for any hungry birdies.

ChickadeeI had a chickadee, and tufted titmouse and a red-winged blackbird all take seeds from my hand! The titmice were the most skittish…zip!, seed and gone! The chickadees would sit and fill their beaks with seeds before leaving.

Luckily my friend is an excellent photographer, she actually caught the titmouse as it swooped through.

Kensington TitmouseRedwinged BlackbirdThe red-winged blackbird was all laid back.

We watched a female osprey on her nest and were able to see the male osprey catch a huge fish! A lovely day!

Osprey closeup

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to A day at the park

  1. Chickadees are my favorite little birds! I rarely see them in CA, so I am envious of your being able to feed them by hand in the park.

    I also keep forgetting that Detroit is next to two of the Great Lakes, Lake Huron and Lake Erie. People who have never been to the area thinks the city is nothing but a bomb site, but it has some of the loveliest natural vistas in the country. I’m glad you were able to get out there.

    • Lauri says:

      It was a beautiful day and I’m sure glad we went when we did. It’s been too cold ever since!
      It was pretty darn cool to have the birds come right down and take seeds. As we walked the trails we could see chickadees forming squadrons and heading towards us! It was pretty hilarious seeing those tiny bombers flying towards us.

  2. Aussie Emjay says:

    What an awesome day this must’ve been – the red-winged blackbird is gorgeous.

  3. M-----l says:

    I’ve been doing some bird watching of my own lately. Just last week I saw a large (at least a foot tall) predatory bird frighten a robin into flying into my front window. The robin banged its head on the glass and fell to the porch dazed. Before I could do anything, the big bird swooped down, picked up the robin, and flew up into my front yard tree. Then the big bird proceeded to pluck all the robin’s feathers and drop them onto my lawn.

    Your bird watching experience seems much better then mine.

    • Lauri says:

      Ack! That’s rather realistic. Hawks are beautiful, but I prefer them to eat birds when I’m not watching.

      Reminds me, though, last week on the way home from work, I saw a hawk fly over my car. He was carrying a snake in his talons…it was huge…I’ll bet 18 inches. The hawk was eating well that night.

    • Redscylla says:

      We now have a pair of hawks nesting in our neighborhood of late, and just last week, the female swooped down and snatched a squirrel off the sidewalk. Right in front of me and the dogs. We tucked tail and scurried home, in case the hawk was still hungry.

  4. sounds like a lovely day. i love the pics of the birds taking seeds from your hands. so peaceful and relaxing. thank you.

  5. SingingTuna says:

    What an wonderful experience! They’re gorgeous birdies and great shots!
    That osprey one is AMAZING!!!
    “Reminds me, though, last week on the way home from work, I saw a hawk fly over my car. He was carrying a snake in his talons…it was huge…I’ll bet 18 inches.” – YEEEEOW!!!!
    We’ve had a lot of hawks here lately but I haven’t seen any bodies yet.
    Wow. WOW!

  6. GOF says:

    Fantastic experience. We have a (totally-enclosed acre of wire mesh) tourist bird park not far away from our place which is always good value…. and it’s easy photography snapping tame birds.

  7. Fantastic photos! Sounds like a great experience.

  8. leendadll says:

    well, i’m appropriate envious of your bird encounters!

  9. Redscylla says:

    The titmouse is all, “Who you callin’ Titmouse? Now gimme them seeds!”

  10. Inga says:

    Aaaand I just learnt that a chickadee is a real bird, and not just something I call other women. Awesome pics!

Leave a Reply

