Spring Peepers

Eight new little peepers, eating, drinking and sleeping. The stress of their first day of travel doesn’t seem to have done them any harm!

001

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to Spring Peepers

  1. M-----l says:

    Your header looks cold. It’s a good thing these chicks have a heat lamp.

  2. Laurie says:

    An incontrovertible sign of spring — when Lauri’s chicks arrive!

  3. msmouse7 says:

    They are so cute!!! Take good care of those little peepers.

  4. Lily says:

    Yay for chickies! And you don’t mean Spring Peepers (which we have) http://youtu.be/zBUXYrUA2pw

    • Lauri says:

      I absolutely LOVE the real spring peepers. We have them here, too. Nothing says spring like the peepers. I haven’t heard them yet this year!

      • Lily says:

        Before our last snow, we had some early risers. I said, ‘you guys MAY want to dig back down!!’ Either they did or died cos that went away and hasn’t come back out yet, in spite of much warmer weather and we’re getting green shoots in the lawn!

  5. e2thec says:

    Have you named them yet?

  6. Redscylla says:

    Awwww! They’re so cute in the fuzzy cupcake phase.

  7. GOF says:

    Very cute but it brings back memories of youthful trauma fir me. I hatched a chicken in my room at boarding college against regulations about ‘pets and animals’. I called him ‘AJ’ and raised him for a while until the monthly room inspection by the school Matron when we were sprung and I had to send AJ off to the farm chookery department. I never received counselling for my loss which might partly explain the way I am now. I have no idea why I thought you needed to know this story.

    • Lauri says:

      Awww. I am so sorry for your trauma. I had a pet rat in my dorm room. Happily no one in authority ever found out. I was extremely attached to that rat.

  8. My mom always told me about her mother buying 1bathches of chicks every year through the Sears catalog. Most of them travelled well. After they’d matured, males became Sunday dinners and females were kept as layers (and if they quit laying they’d quickly find themselves in the skillet).

    I really hope GOF doesn’t read this comment, I’d hate to add to his “problems” (if that’s even possible).

    • Lauri says:

      It’s much more sensible to eat the roosters. We haven’t been able to do that, so we have a bunch of slackers hanging around. The old hens are still laying pretty well, but the new chicks are needed for when the oldsters quit laying.
      Good grief, it’s raining buckets right now. At least it’s not snow!

  9. Aussie Emjay says:

    We used to get a box of chicks in the mail every year (when I was young) – they’d be raised in the generator shed until they were big enough to join the other “chooks” in the chookyard. Our dogs would sit salivating outside the fence on the off-chance that a chicken would escape….

    • Lauri says:

      Sheldon loves to sit and sniff the chicks through the bars of their crate. I don’t think he would hurt them. Orion and Ellie would just smoosh them with youthful enthusiasm, so they aren’t allowed in the room.

  10. SingingTuna says:

    Cutest ever! I can hear them! They’re beautiful, too. One of them looks brave, away from the group, near the cage bars. They look like they’re waiting for her (him?) to report back, “What’s going on out there, Hortense?” “Shaddup!! I’m trying to listen!!! And my ears are full of fluff!”
    🙂

Leave a Reply

