Random Shtuff….

Hi, all!

Today the temperature was in the mid 20s and the sun was out. All three dogs and I went out for a walk under the pines where the snow was less deep. It was actually a very pretty day. 033Ellie is getting to be a big girl!

018Ellie and Orion chewed on sticks while Sheldon looked for stuff to pee on.

I have been in many various crappy moods, but realize that genetics is a lot of that problem. I let myself nap when I need to. And try to get outside whenever I can.

So, now I took up a new hobby. It’s needle felting…you take a blob of wool and, using a needle, poke it into shapes to resemble “sculptures”. LOL…..these are my first four efforts. It’s a lot of fun and I will keep trying to improve! Needle feltingI have really been keeping myself in solitude….another aspect of the depressive genes. Yes, most of us understand this very well. No matter…I am very excited about ordering baby chicks for the spring. I have to put the order in next week and I plan to order 4 Silver Lace Wyandottes and 4 Amber Links. Pics from Google to follow….here they are!

silver-laced-wyandotte-henThis is a Silver Lace Wyandotte. Isn’t she pretty?

amber linkAnd these are Amber Links, which look like Honey, who was killed (or flew into a wall by herself) by the tiny hawk. Aren’t they pretty? I am looking forward to getting these new girls in my flock and getting some youngsters to lay eggs.

All is well. My youngest son is in the process of buying his first house! He is SO excited! It’s in a fantastic area, with a full half acre all fenced in for Leo and Zeek, his dogs! He learned his priorities well. I can’t wait to take pics of the new property!

Ok….much work is coming my way, so I am off to bed. Love to all of you.

 

 

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

26 Responses to Random Shtuff….

  1. M-----l says:

    I hope to see a Babo-shaped blob of wool in a future post.

  2. Emmy says:

    The felt frog is simply to die for. Well done, I don’t think I could have learned that fast. They’re all nice. I think I learned about 3 new crafty skills, including making clay sculptures, as a result of this crap weather. Everyone’s going off the deep end around here.

    I’m beginning to forget my dog breeds, but Ellie has less of a lab-shaped head than I seem to remember labs having!

    • Lauri says:

      Ellie is a smaller lab. She’ll probably top out at around 75 pounds.

      Yeah, this weather has been something else. It’s hard when we can barely get out of the house!

  3. Laurie says:

    I just looked back at the post when you first got Ellie — hard to believe it’s the same dog!
    You’re doing great at your new craft!

    • Lauri says:

      I am glad that I am enjoying the needle felting because I have tried knitting, can’t do it, crocheting, learned how several hundred times, can’t remember, so I impressed myself by actually liking this!

  4. msmouse7 says:

    The felting is too cute! Make minions now to do all your chores.
    The silver lace Wyandotte is stunning. I like her looks over the others. But I am not much for anything solid white. Can’t wait to see pics of the new chicks.

    Hang in there – spring is just around the corner.

  5. It’s been a tough winter in the northern Midwest, so I can’t blame you for being depressed. Yeah, genes do have a lot to do with it too—my father is depressive, though he used to say it my fault for making him feel like crap, lol. Still, you deserve to be happy, genes or no. Hope your new chicks and spring bring you joy!

  6. Lily says:

    Hiya, dolly-dolly! I’ve never heard of wool felting needling sculpture stuff. THOSE LOOK SO COOL!

    Are those different shades of wool or did you dye it after shaping?

    • Lauri says:

      I bought a big hunk of natural wool and use that for the base, then felt the colored wools on top of it. I buy the wool already dyed. Once Ashlee starts getting alpaca fleece we may be doing something else with it!

  7. kimkiminy says:

    Love your felties! And yes, that is some pretty chicken.

  8. crankypants says:

    Hi Larui! Wow Ellie is all growed up!! That first chickie is very lovely! The needle felting results are great! it’s good to do something creative, and get outside when you are subject to depression. I haven’t been doing much of either of those things but I’m at least getting to yoga and spin, and am eating pretty well. And reading. I’ll be getting out more soon since the weather may actually break in time for spring. which is like 2 freaking weeks away, officially! geez! I definitely need to nature more.
    Congrats to your baby boy on buying a house! that is great, and yeah, when you have a dog or 3 anyone in their right mind wouldn’t even entertain the thought of a house without a decent yard! In your family I don’t think it’s even learned, it’s probably just inherent in their nature! Animals! Land! that’s good stuff.

    • Lauri says:

      It’s super hard the last two to three weeks because the snow has been to crappy to even walk on!
      But, today is gorgeous, everything is melting. Soon it will be time to scoop the tons of dog poop that have been hidden for three months. Lord help us!

      I have been making excuses to avoid yoga. I always feel good when I go, so it’s rotten that I am missing it. But….I’ll get back.

      I have been eating well, I will admit that. I love to cook and soups have been a biggie this year. Just made up a turkey carcass soup yesterday. Yum!

      It’s funny, because top of Aaron’s list for a house was a fenced in backyard.

  9. I have whittled down my answer to the “why don’t you move to Michigan” question from my relatives to one word – WINTER. (It’s 70 here today …. will be back in the 40’s tomorrow. No snow … ’nuff said).

    If the genes are the problem, try khakis!

    • Lauri says:

      LOL at the khakis! I can see my mom’s face when I tell her “Thanks for the depression khakis.” (although she wouldn’t be that surprised to hear just about anything from me.

      70!!!! Wow.

      It’s 45 today and we are all (mentally) doing cartwheels. Definitely not doing real cartwheels. I’d break something.

  10. aubrey says:

    Sun and snow – with such a combo going on outside, how could one stay indoors?

    (Regarding dogs, our bossettte has a new puppy – a pit mix – and the puppy hates me! I only need to sit quietly at my desk and she will without pause begin barking and growling at me. Aubrey feels bad.)

  11. Ellie is all grown up, wow! Such a pretty girl! So is the first (and the second, for that matter) hens, I look forwards to seeing pictures of your very own once you get them 🙂 Sorry to hear that you’ve been feeling down – I guess most of the peeps can relate (peeps unite!). The felted critters look awesome – try making a Totoro? He’s a blob to being with! Or minions. Minions are good ^^

  12. Mooselicker says:

    I’m constantly around dogs yet I still enjoy looking at yours, especially Orion. I love how Great Danes move so silly-like.

    • Lauri says:

      Great Danes…and especially O, are big goofballs! The lips, ears, and giant feet….all going in different directions at the same time!

  13. leendadll says:

    I bought felting needles & pad.. then burned out on the idea. I think because the weather got warmer – not that I venture outside, it’s just that felting seems like a cold-weather hobby to me. I love your frog!!

    OMG..the lace chicken… WOW!!

    the puppies all look adorable!

Leave a Reply

