How to tell this story….

Do you phase out whenever someone starts telling dream stories? Well, I’m going to try to tell this one because it made me laugh so hard.

Background. Ken was in Las Vegas for this week at the Western Veterinary Conference. He made it home tonight safely, despite high wind warnings. Yay!

So, I had to ride herd on the animals and I worked the last three days and they were exhausting days. Last night I went to bed early, completely worn out.

My dream: I am at work in the front office. Only it’s a beautiful spacious front office, not the cramped crazy workspace our lab really is. For some reason I am training phlebotomists to draw blood. (real life, I hate drawing blood, med techs don’t do it, and you have to do it a lot to get good at it).  Anyway, in the dream a doctor comes into the office to have his blood drawn. A student tries and misses the vein. Another “trainer” is helping her, so they pretend that they got the blood and use someone else’s results. During all this the doctor and I have been talking and laughing and he suddenly kisses me. I think “Ew, ick. Big wet floppy lips.” and I tell him it’s not cool to do that. But, for some reason in the dream I believe that I will now have to go on a date with this pushy, big-lipped doctor. He brings lasagna in and is warming it up in the lunch room microwave. I think, oh, well, at least we will be in public. Cuz I don’t want to date this annoying  floppy-lipped doctor.

There was a lot of detail in the dream. But this is what cracked me up. I woke up having to pee. I realized that, with Ken gone, Orion, the Great Dane, had climbed into the bed. The dogs never sleep in the bed. But, I was too tired to notice that he had climbed in there. I let the dogs out, gave them biscuits and tried to go back to sleep. Suddenly I realized why I had dreamed about the doctor with the big floppy lips and the pushy attitude. It was because Orion had almost pushed me out of bed and he probably dragged his big floppy lips across my face once he got in bed to see if I was going to kick him out.

Oh, lordy, I started laughing so hard that I could not go back to sleep. Early to bed for me tonight. Isn’t the brain a completely fascinating thing?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to How to tell this story….

  1. LOL! Have you told Ken about this dream? He might realize how much you miss him and take you out for some ‘us-time.’ 😀

  2. I didn’t even know Orion had gone to school, and now he’s a doctor? Who makes lasagna?

  3. Aussie Emjay says:

    LOL – that’s wonderful! And I’m laughing at the thought of a doctor taking anyone on a date to the lunchroom – I wonder if he provided wine with his lasagna.

  4. Laurie says:

    I’m amazed that you manage to keep the dogs from sleeping on the bed most of the time. How do you accomplish that?

    • Lauri says:

      We just had to tell them sternly “No” and “Get down” and mean it. They never try to get up after a couple of times.
      But, man, if you don’t mean it, they know it!

      • Redscylla says:

        Yeah, tell me about it. :/ That’s how I wound up having two full-time doggy sleeping companions. I just wasn’t firm enough and then I finally got tired of trying to keep them off the bed. But you know, it’s just like sleeping with a man. They take up more than half the bed, kick me in their sleep, one farts, and the other snores.

        Apparently, Orion thought you’d be lonely without Ken. So he wanted to smooch you and take you on a date!

        • Lauri says:

          Lol!
          I’m still laughing about it.
          This morning after I got out of bed Orion tried to climb in. I just told him, “No” and “Off” and he got right down.
          Sneaky buggers.

  5. GOF says:

    I have to put up with half-hour reviews of Mrs GOF’s dreams every morning. I wish she’d have some exciting ones like yours, then I might actually listen to her. 🙂
    You’re right about the brain….it makes you wonder just how it’s arranging all the stuff that we put in there.

    • Lauri says:

      Lol. Usually my dreams are filled with rooms and cages of animals, and I’m freaking out because I am not sure if I am adequately feeding and caring for all of them.

      This one was an amusing exception.

  6. Lily says:

    Dr. Orion!

Leave a Reply

