Ah, it’s a beautiful day.

The sun is shining. The sky is blue. It’s a balmy 15 degrees. I do hope all the peeps on the eastern seaboard are going to stay inside and be safe. That storm sounds nutso!

I have finally figured out how to use up the puppy energy of Crazy-Legs-Snapping-Jaws Ellie Claire. We go out with her new Kong toy and she loves running and running in the deepest snow and the highest hills and just like that, she’s worn out! Yay! Gotta get her out there a few times a day, though.

056 051 054 071 068 073Ok, mom, it worked, I am worn out.

087Sheldon found his perfect spot today. In the box bay window in a cat bed. He’s loving the sun!

088 091

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

23 Responses to Ah, it’s a beautiful day.

  1. Awww, your critters are so lovely and loved that it gives me the warm fuzzies!

  2. kimkiminy says:

    Dogs and snow… a match made in heaven.

  3. Lily says:

    Narf! We’re at TWENTY!

    I *love* that she finds the deepest piles, that is the GREATEST! Clever girl.

  4. Orion looks like he’s sighing in resignation. “Are you done yet? Can we go back inside soon? You know it’s cold out here, right?” And I take it Sheldon has no interest in frolicking with Ellie?

    Also, do you wipe the paws and dust off the snow on all three dogs? That’s a lot of feets and tummies to de-ice!

    • Lauri says:

      Yes, Orion has become more adult-like. He just wanted to eat snow and then go inside. It’s so funny to watch them all go through these stages.
      As for wiping feet and tummies….when it’s just snow, nope. I let it melt off and there are little puddles around the house, but I consider it “humidifier material”. Lol. When we get mud I will “try” to wipe feet. But usually just end up mopping the floors instead.

  5. Redscylla says:

    I love how she looks like a big grown up dog while bounding thru the snow, but she still looks all puppy lying next to Sheldon. And I imagine the cat looking at Shel thru the window and saying, “you do realize that’s a CAT bed, right?”

  6. e2thec says:

    Looks like you’ve got a good thing going there! The question is, what will she do when all the snow goes away? 😉

  7. GOF says:

    Excellent photos…..watching dogs playing always makes me feel better about the world.

  8. Aussie Emjay says:

    Oh – it would tire me watching Ellie Claire bounce around those snow hills. Makes me smile thinking of it. Your animals always look so blissful.

  9. SingingTuna says:

    Oh, Lauri!! ((((((warmhugs))))))
    I’m crawling out of my “this winter may kill me yet” hole to see what’s going on and your wonderful snow-play post is the perfect first thing to see! Your furry kids look like they’ve really been enjoying themselves — and making for people-smiles, too. YAY!!!!! Thank you for sharing them…your post reminded me why I started blobbing to begin with. In the past couple of weeks I’ve been wondering if I should come back.
    ::solemnly hands Larui a big bag of Reeses and runs home to get her mojo back::
    🙂

    • Lauri says:

      You have been having a very bad time of it. Hold on a few more weeks and SPRING may even show up! Although it’s been so cold and snowy it’s hard to even imagine it!
      I was outside last night, looking at the snow and the stars and thinking “It might be like this FOREVER.” It was a strange feeling!

      • e2thec says:

        Like the winters in “A Game of Thrones” that last for decades…!!! No offense, Scandinavian peeps, but I’m glad I don’t live where you do. Not sure I’d be able to handle all the snow and early darkness, though I’m sure you guys have far more efficient snow removal (etc.) for roads and sidewalks/footpaths than we do.

      • e2thec says:

        btw, I caught myself staring at the horizon in amazement the other day, while driving over to the nearby university town to pick up a vacuum cleaner at a Sears store there. The road takes me over a mountain (and through part of a state forest), so there’s just endless trees and snow at the top. I kept feeling like “This isn’t supposed to look this way! It should be green!”

        It’s been so long since I last saw substantial amounts of snow over the course of a winter, I’d literally forgotten what it all looks/feels like. (Wishful thinking, I guess, dreaming of spring…)

  10. Love the snow pics. The dogs look like they are having a magical time!

Leave a Reply

