Wowwee.

Ellie Claire has been full of beans all day. She is a beautiful adolescent, now, but holy crap, can this girl get into trouble. True, it’s only Puppy Trouble, but it gets me tearing my hair out. Every swing of her head has her popping something else forbidden into her mouth. Houseplants, cats, used tissues, shoes, socks, the list goes on.

I have been calling her Crazy Beans when she gets all wound up like this.

So, Orion and I took Ellie out for a walk around the backyard just now. I about had a heart attack. The snow is still 8 inches deep with a thick hard crust on it. So Ellie goes tripping along across the top, while Orion and I break through and have to plow our way on through. I was gasping for breath halfway through and Orion was looking at me like “Great idea.”

Anyway, we made it, but Ellie does not seem to have used up much of her overflowing energy. Dang, she is cute. 🙂

Chomping on sticks before the top of the snow froze up…

019016I want to eat mom’s camera!

Christmas and Ice Storm 2013 116The usual view when I try to get a picture!

And, finally, angelic Ellie when she has finally run out of puppy energy!

Christmas and Ice Storm 2013 006

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

24 Responses to Wowwee.

  1. Redscylla says:

    Yep. The joys of a teenage dog. If you’ll remember, Josey ate the arms off my couch. I hope you can burn up her energy without losing too many pieces of furniture. Poor Orion, drafted to go out in the snow with crazy dog!

    • Lauri says:

      Orion ate the corner of a mattress and the arm of a loveseat. Ellie doesn’t really do much damage except to the houseplants. Everything else gets carried around and slobbered on.

      • leendadll says:

        oh, see, we should all connect. my cats can pee on my furniture then i’ll pass it to you to put outside and let your dogs eat and then none of will feel bad when it goes in the trash!

  2. Laurie says:

    I had to read the line twice to realize the second item in your list of “forbidden things” Ellie puts in her mouth was “cats”. I’m sure they are as alarmed as you when that happens.

    • Lauri says:

      There has been a lot of hissing going on around here today. Lol. They mostly have good places to get away from her, but she can’t resist if one walks by her. They get sniffed and slurped.

  3. Lily says:

    Soooo cute! I love when she’s trying to eat your camera.

  4. Aussie Emjay says:

    I love the name “crazy beans” and laughed at the image of her putting cats in her mouth!

  5. But … it all comes in handy when cleaning up! I mean, no snotty tissues to pick up … no cat boxes to clean …

  6. You should just let her run outdoors in the snow until she’s too pooped to tear around the house. I used to do that to the kids when they were hit with cabin fever. Of course, you’ll have to brush and wipe all of the snow off of her. But at least you don’t have to put her in and out of a snowsuit, boots, and mittens!

    • Lauri says:

      They are definitely easier than kids! But, pretty much anything is easier than kids! She entertains herself outside pretty good, but she will find a stick and chew and chew on it. To really run around she needs someone out there with her and Orion has decided it’s too cold to go out this week!

  7. GOF says:

    Like the look on her face in the second picture. How long can dogs be comfortable outside in conditions like this? I know Huskies apparently live on snow and ice but can other breeds do it too?

    • Lauri says:

      Orion didn’t seem to notice the cold his first two years, but this winter (colder than the others) he is staying inside a lot more. He’s only out for 10-15 minutes. He’s got super short hair.

      Ellie has such a thick coat she barely notices the cold. She is out gallumping around for a half an hour or more. But, she comes in because she gets lonely.

      Ack, she has another tissue!

  8. Lauri says:

    Aaaand she just pulled my purse off the kitchen table. Sigh. 😉

  9. leendadll says:

    oh, great pics. love the “eat the camera” one – i see puppies doing that a lot… but I also enjoying getting puppies wound up.
    every now and again Moshi gets wound up and does laps in & out of the house. a couple weeks ago, Boo took it up – which completely surprised me as she’s normally a lazy cat.

  10. Hehe, she’s gotten so big! Have fun with all the mischief 😉

  11. Mooselicker says:

    What type of dogs did you say you have? Now that I work with them I actually remember. The profile picture is a Great Dane. Looks like one at my work, same coloring and everything. My memory is terrible sometimes. The black one looks like a lab. They love poop and snow in their mouths – I sound like such an expert

    • Lauri says:

      Lol. Yes, we have Sheldon, a Boston Terrier who is completely against walks in the snow. He is nine years old now and is happy on the couch under a blanket. And Orion is the Great Dane and Ellie is a chocolate lab. Ellie loves having ANYthing in her mouth.
      And she jumps up to check out tables to find the more fun stuff to run around with in her mouth.

      • Mooselicker says:

        I love Great Danes! I never met one until my work. Orion looks a lot like the one I know. He’s gigantic and such a goofball/horse. What’s with the big poops?

        • Lauri says:

          Orion is a boy Dane, so his poops are about twice the size of our last Dane, who was a dainty girl.
          O also walks while he poops, so there are a trail of gigantic poops behind him. He is such a guy.

  12. stevebetz says:

    A tired dog is a good dog!

    I love the idea of Puppy Trouble! Penny for some reason always had (and has continued to have) a really well-developed sense of boundaries for whats hers and whats ours. A real blessing!

    • Lauri says:

      Our other two dogs are extremely good about not getting into our stuff. I am sure Ellie will be better when she gets to be a year or two old.

      Orion even opens the snack cupboard when we are gone. We will come home, the door will be open and not a thing is disturbed. It makes me laugh to picture him opening the cupboard and then thinking “Oops” and going back to the couch to sleep.

Leave a Reply

