Baby it’s cold…

Brrrrr! 11 degrees andΒ  snow coming down. Tomorrow morning when I walk into work from the far away parking lot the temp is supposed to be minus 3. I hope the wind isn’t blowing!

I took plenty of food out for the chickens so they can keep warm. Also have heat lamps going in the houses.

The outdoor birds are pigging out on peanuts and suet and sunflower seeds and safflower seeds. So many birds. I’m glad I can give them something to eat!

We have a fourth dog visiting for a few days/weeks. Kida is Leo’s sister. Her human mom is having housing problems, so Kida is staying with us so she doesn’t have to go to the pound. I’m so glad we have room to have her stay. She’s a perfect guest. Fits right in with everyone and goes along with the entire program.

037055I’m waiting for the Rose Bowl and hoping for a fantastic game!!!

Stringbean says “Happy New Year”.

048And Gree adds, “I hope your Christmas was merry.”

039

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

29 Responses to Baby it’s cold…

  1. GOF says:

    Happy New Year to you Lauri. The pooches appear to be extremely content with their world.
    Nice Christmas tree. πŸ™‚

  2. Aussie Emjay says:

    Oh – I hope there’s no windchill for you tomorrow. I love the colour of your walls. I watched the Rose Bowl Parade this morning – beautiful floats and one of our local (VA) school bands.
    Happy New Year Lauri.

  3. kimkiminy says:

    Happy new year! Looks very cozy there.

  4. crankypants says:

    mmmm I don’t think Kida’s gonna wanna leave. why would she? πŸ™‚

  5. M-----l says:

    I like the picture of all the family members leaning on each other. And the map of France!

  6. lauowolf says:

    I hope there’s a nice spot for the hooman peeps in the family to sit too.

    • Lauri says:

      It’s a constant round of musical chairs. I get up and lose my seat and have to ask someone else to move. Of course, Ken has his Lazyboy and no one gets to sit in that but him. πŸ˜‰

  7. Nice end to the first half, let’s just hope the Michigan State players aren’t listening to all the broadcasters expecting them to fall apart in the 2nd half!

  8. Laurie says:

    Happy New Year, Lauri! Stay warm! We’ve got -15F windchills here, so I’m glad I took tomorrow and Friday off and don’t have to set foot outside for a couple more days.

  9. Okay, I won’t complain that the low last night was 35 degrees F. πŸ˜‰ Seriously, to listen to everyone here complain how cold it is seems ridiculous compared to what you guys are experiencing.

    Regardless of the weather outside, your home looks like a animal resort and spa. Everyone gets to lie on the couch and sleep all day, or they can choose a bed on the floor or a perch on the cat tree. I’ll bet you even fix gourmet dinners for everyone! Stay warm, Lauri!

    • Lauri says:

      Lol! Everyone is well fed, too.

      This little Ellie pup is being a stinker today. She’s all wound up and barking at the other dogs. Zooming, carrying toys around. She is full of beans.

  10. Lily says:

    -3F=HOLYCRAPITSCOLD

    I feel a lot better about our single digit temps! At least they’re on the positive side!

    • Lauri says:

      I don’t know if it ever really got that low. It was about 8 degrees when I went into work and no wind. But, now the wind is picking up and up and the temps are going down and down.
      I really do love weather. πŸ™‚

      • Lily says:

        We didn’t get to 20F today but the sun came out, which was fun–REALLY! I stood in the window a couple of times to remind myself πŸ™‚

  11. Redscylla says:

    And don’t you find it hard to leave all those sleepy, snuggly dogs to go out into the cold for work? Gaaah. It was 0 when I left for work this morning. Dogs were curled up on my bed, snoring. *sigh*

    • Lauri says:

      I know. I grumble to myself when I let them outside, give them a biscuit and put them back to bed while I trudge around to go out and earn their lush lifestyle.
      Most days I think “I wish I were you guys!”

  12. Jaypo says:

    They make me feel so reeelaaaaxed….ZZZzzz
    Kida looks very mannerly. A perfect lady! Love your lively abode… πŸ™‚

  13. amelie says:

    What a pretty tree! The whole house looks cozy. Our living room has way too many pet toys as well; the whole place looks like a shrine to our cats. They have more furniture than we do.

    I’m with Jaypo; it’s not winter without snow and cold!! Easy for me to say though, we’re only down to single digits below zero here.

Leave a Reply

