Hello All Peeps!

It’s a bit ridiculous, how my posting has fallen off. At least I got rid of the spring flowers on my header and in the background.

The weather has been awesome. Not for the people who lost power from the ice storm. I feel very bad for them. But, the storm has made this the most beautiful December ever. And we just keep getting more and more fluffy snow on top of the ice. It really is stunning.

Christmas and Ice Storm 2013 009Christmas and Ice Storm 2013 018Do you see what I love about the picture above? That one icicle hanging from the roof on the very top of the picture. Lol.

Today Adam, Sarah and I took three dogs for a long walk. They loved the snow. Sheldon stayed inside and kept his toes warm.

Christmas and Ice Storm 2013 111Christmas and Ice Storm 2013 104Christmas and Ice Storm 2013 113Christmas and Ice Storm 2013 099A wonderful Christmas was had by all. I have one more day of work off. It’s been soooo nice.

There are still many traffic lights and businesses and houses without power five days after the ice storm.

One last question, should any home be allowed this many dog toys?

Christmas and Ice Storm 2013 150

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

23 Responses to Hello All Peeps!

  1. I know snow can be quite a pain to contend with, but as we head for our predicted hottest day of the year on Sunday – 41C – it looks so refreshing!

  2. Jaypo says:

    So beautiful, I wish we had all that snow! It’s amazing against that blue sky. Our one storm melted when the temp went over freezing for the next three days. Madememad. >:-(

  3. Laurie says:

    I’d be in with Sheldon, keeping my toes warm! Happy to hear you’ve had a nice break, Lauri!

  4. Aussie Emjay says:

    That all looks just gorgeous! I love that one determined icicle. I’m glad you had a nice Christmas though it’s going to be hard for you to go back to work – I only had Christmas day off and it felt weird going in today.

    • Lauri says:

      I sincerely hope they have complete power on when I get back to work. All of the buildings around the hospital (AND the traffic lights) are still without power. I would think that a hospital would be high priority for power restoration……I hope. 😛
      We shall see what happens!

  5. amyhftw says:

    The snow and ice have been sooo pretty. As MomH says, if we’re going to be cold, it better be pretty.
    I’ve been a major slacker on posting. And on pretty much all of my volunteer commitments. I don’t know why I think I can do so much within only a finite amount of time. Sigh.
    Enjoy the rest of your time off!

  6. You spelled awful wrong … as in, “The weather has been AWFUL” … not awesome. Or maybe the cold has just finally frozen your brain cells. (Really, though, it’s very pretty in pictures – not so much in my back yard).

    Doesn’t the hospital have generators? Do people have them? In the little house my dad had in northern Michigan he had a small one that ran lights and would keep the heat and refrigerator going.

    • Lauri says:

      Yes, the hospital has generators, but they cause power flickers which completely mess up all our analyzers and computers so much swearing ensues!

      We have an excellent generator here at home. Since we bought it eight years ago our power has only gone out twice. Great investment, seriously!

  7. Redscylla says:

    I do feel that if it’s going to be cold, there should be snow. And hot cocoa, but I also love to take the doggies out in the snow for bumpusing. Glad you had a good break.

  8. kimkiminy says:

    Icy trees – so beautiful. I love the way they glitter in the sunlight, while bits and pieces start falling off. Such a lovely combo.

    Dogs and snow!!! What is it about them?

  9. AuntieBellum says:

    I saw these photos on Facebook a couple days ago, and I *just* made the connection…that big brown dog is Ellie!!!! (Sheesh, where does the time go?)

  10. M-----l says:

    We got a dusting of snow on the morning of Christmas Eve and a tiny bit of it stuck around until the next day…thus officially giving us a White Christmas. It didn’t look nearly as pretty and festive as yours, though.

  11. stevebetz says:

    Just beautiful! Glad you had such a nice Christmas!

    I have to get my posting in gear too!

  12. GOF says:

    Superb photographs Lauri…..I appreciate all that beauty but I have no desire to be anyplace below 1O degrees C….the dogs seem to enjoy everything…snow and cosy indoors. Our dog doesn’t need toys…..it has 20 pairs of our shoes/boots in various stages of chewed-up disrepair.

  13. Lily says:

    Happy pups! Happy human pups!

    We missed the storm and got NICE weather! It was like 60F here today. Tomorrow’ll be back at 19F but what the hey, right? I’ve had more time off this year than ever (at home) since I was a little kid! It reminded me that my parents are assholes. Thankfully, they can’t really harm anybody physically anymore but wow. Next time, I’ll have to plan something to get away more! I’ll come visit YOU next Christmas. Ha!

    I’m easy, just nevermind the booze. I may sleep under Orion.

  14. homebody says:

    Oh my gosh, these photos are gorgeous!!! Happy New Year, Lauri!

  15. leendadll says:

    great pictures! i wouldn’t want to BE there (I hate cold) but it’s awfully pretty!

  16. SingingTuna says:

    Wheeeeeeeee!!!!!!!! Dogs and smiling people and snow!!! Gorgeous, gorgeous, GORGEOUS pix!!!!
    LOL re the dog toys. Never too many toys!!!
    You guys really got clobbered by this weather. ((((((((warm hugs)))))))))
    I’ll be back later…have just a minute now to say HAPPY NEW YEAR!!!!!

  17. Just catching up on your blog. Love the first tree pic. Would you think of taking different photographs of this same tree in different seasons? Would make a really good set, I think.

Leave a Reply

