Happy news about Dolly

Dolly was apparently caught in the last two days (I don’t know who or how) and will be going to live with three other llamas. Apparently a lot of people have been keeping an eye on her, which is really cool. I’m glad she has other llamas to live with. They are herd animals and really need others of their own kind.

Now I can concentrate on getting my mother-in-law through a shoulder replacement. Yeah. I am flying to Florida the Monday after Thanksgiving to be there for her Tuesday surgery. Two doctors have indicated that the only relief for her shoulder pain is a total shoulder replacement. Ken and I are extremely skeptical and asked for pain control. The lady is strong, but she is 85 years old. But, no. Both docs said the only “cure” is total shoulder replacement. She is determined to have it. And she is living in Florida for the winter.ย  So, I will fly down and Adam and Sarah are going to meet us down there for the surgery and the week after. A rehab center is ready to take her and work with her after the surgery. I have no idea how this will all go and it’s a bit of a stress. But, it is what is going to happen, so we will deal with it!

Anyway…I can only hope that a week down there with her after surgery will at least get her into the rehab center where they will give her 24 hour care. After that we will play it by ear.

I can envision ears all over the place at the moment. But, what will be will be!

So, for now….nighty night!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Happy news about Dolly

  1. mizunogirl says:

    god luck with the shoulder replacement thing. Oh my stars and garters, hope it goes well!

  2. Meh, I always wonder about doctors who say their procedure is the “only” way to fix something, but if your MIL really wants this, whattya gonna do? [throw hands up.] It’s kind of you to fly down there and look after her while she undergoes this. At least you get a trip to Florida out of it. ๐Ÿ˜‰

    Hooray for Dolly getting caught and placed in a shelter! She really needed to be in a safe place before the winter set in.

  3. Lily says:

    Good luck with travelling at this time of year.

    Man, do they live a lot longer in that family? Cos that’s a lot of work to do on an elder. Wow. I hope that I don’t have to have that because honestly, I turned down major shoulder work already (and seem to be exactly in the same shape as all the people I know who WENT FOR THE SURGERY). That was not replacement, however.

    Good luck to her.

  4. kimkiminy says:

    Oh boy. Don’t get me started on doctors. I’ll just wish her the best.

  5. Lauri says:

    Lol at all of your comments. Exactly how I feel. If you can’t manage pain for an 85 year old……
    Well, it does no good since she is set on it, so we are surely hoping for the best.

    I have yet to see anyone that old do well after major surgery. Sigh.

  6. Best wishes! And I love that you live in a place where people will look after a lost llama ๐Ÿ˜€

  7. Any excuse to escape a frigid Michigan for Florida …

  8. amelie says:

    I’m so glad Dolly got a place! She was looking a might thin there……probably dodging the scary wildlife!

    Best wishes to your mother in law. She is older, but she sounds stubborn and feisty. That’s what you want in a patient!

    • Lauri says:

      I just love picturing her safe and cozy in a barn with three other llamas. Especially since it’s 15 degrees out this morning. Happy Thanksgiving!

  9. SingingTuna says:

    Hooray! Dolly’s part of a herd! That’s great news, Lauri. I’m sooooo glad that someone took her in. How neat is it that there’s someone nearby with 2 other llamas?

    But WOW…a complete shoulder replacement for your M-i-L??? Yikes.
    I hope all goes well and smoothly, and that her recuperation is fast and complete.
    ((((((((((((((((((hugs for all of you))))))))))))))))

    Florida! Well…at least you won’t have to shovel snow for a while.
    ๐Ÿ™‚

  10. Aussie Emjay says:

    I hope your mother-in-law’s surgery went well and you enjoyed some time out of the cold!

  11. leendadll says:

    I 2nd Aussie Emjay’s comment. And yay for Dolly finding home!

Leave a Reply

