Llama Drama

I’m having some fun around here this past week. First of all, a friend told me about this article in the local paper. (Let’s see if it copies, shall we?)

Dolly the llama still homeless in Holly Township despite rescue efforts

Roberto Acosta | racosta1@mlive.com By Roberto Acosta | racosta1@mlive.com
on November 18, 2013 at 4:00 PM

Email
llama.jpgView full sizeA Holly Township couple is seeking help in finding a permanent home for a llama that’s been roaming the area for around six months.MLive.com File Photo

HOLLY TOWNSHIP, MI — Phone calls and emails have been pouring in for Bob and Kathy Kuzma ever since a Thursday, Nov. 14, Flint Journal article about their concerns for a llama that has been wandering their neighborhood for the past six months.

A farm in Clio has offered willing to pick up Dolly while a couple in the northwest lower peninsula has offered her a new home on their 30-acre spread.

Two women from Swartz Creek came out Sunday, Nov. 17, and got Dolly squared away in some temporary digs near the Kuzmas’ home.

“They got Dolly confined in a smaller fenced in area and put food in a shed by the green barn next door to us,” said Kathy Kuzma. “Dolly came and ate the food. It is a female llama.”

Kuzma said the women advised her to eave Dolly in the confined, safe space so it may eventually accept someone’s help without being skittish. Kuzma asked that people not agitate Dolly, run after the animal or it will get frightened and run away.

An attempt by Dr. Thomas Pytel, a Goodrich veterinarian, to tranquilize Dolly was made on Thursday but it was unsuccessful. Previous attempts to corral Dolly by Benchmark Alpacas, a farm in Goodrich that raises and breeds the llama’s relative, ended in similar results.

“I have done all I can for Dolly. I am not a llama history buff and have no means to capture it,” said Kathy, who is continuing her search for the Dolly’s owner. “I just wanted to save it.”

Roberto can be reached by phone at 810-429-3865, email at racosta1@mlive.com, on Facebook at Roberto Acosta Journalist or on Twitter @racostaJourno.

___________________________________________________________________

HOORAY! It copied. Ok, I posted that hooray in caps so you could see where the article ends. Hmm….let’s put a line across the bottom of the article, too.  So, I heard about Dolly, the llama, on Monday, Nov. 13th. Monday afternoon I walked out of work and my cell started ringing. It was my next-door neighbor. She says “I think one of your alpacas got loose.” I told her I didn’t have alpacas yet, but had she heard about the roving llama? No. Well, apparently it was on the back of our property.

I told her I would be home in ten minutes. I grabbed some cracked corn and hay and headed out into the field. There was Dolly, all inquisitive. Listening as I talked and talked to her and rattled the food scoop. I got within 50 feet of her. Then she ambled away. I wasn’t about to scare her, so I loudly told her I was leaving the food and left it. As soon as I walked back to our back gate she was headed for the food.

I didn’t see her again until yesterday. I was walking the dogs back by the fence and there she was, lying in the grass just watching us!  I took the dogs back in the house and got corn and hay. This time she let me get within 20 feet of her. I tried to casually walk behind her to get her through our big back gate but no dice.  She walked by me at a safe distance. Again I put the food down, talking all the time and left. She started to eat.

Today I looked for her all morning. It wasn’t until late afternoon I spotted her at the very back of our property. Probably 1000 feet back. (Property is long and narrow….330 feet by 1550 feet). I grabbed a metal feed pan and a huge scoop of Sweet Feed which I had bought today and headed out. I went to the place I left the corn yesterday. I hollered at her….she was a long way off but I could see her ears were aimed at me. Then I loudly left the food and came inside. It took her an hour to walk over, but once she did she was planted by the feed pan for the evening. I am going to move the pan closer to the gate and I have some Caution Tape that I might be able to tie to the gate itself and then walk waaaaay out around her to sort of herd her into the yard. We shall see what happens.

How fun is this, though? I have a stray llama. If I can catch her I can keep her….the goat shed only has chickens in it, and the goat yard would be perfect for her. If any owners show up they can have her, but according to the article she’s been wandering for months.

I took pics today.

004Look at Orion’s rump. Then look up directly above it, into the golden grass waaaaay back behind the fences. The dark brown spot between the flowering crab tree and the fence post is Dolly. And here is the close-up.

003Good camera! *Pats camera on it’s (hopefully) head*

Ah, isn’t life fun?

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

37 Responses to Llama Drama

  1. Lauri says:

    That’s weird. The article says it was written on Nov. 18th at 4 pm, but that’s the day and time I copied and pasted it. Hmmmm.

  2. Lauri says:

    Also, hmmm. That article doesn’t completely made sense. It said she was confined. She’s not. I have emailed the dude who wrote the article to see if I can get anymore info. No response yet.

  3. amelie says:

    Wow, that’s wild. Could there be a llama “pair” loose? She is cute. I’m surprised no one called the Humane Society after they failed to catch her. Hopefully you’ll have better luck!

    • Lauri says:

      Apparently they did call the Humane Society and all they said was “We have never dealt with llamas and we don’t know what to do.” Another hmmmm in my book, but I know they are stretched pretty thin!

      • amelie says:

        Oh, ok I should have guessed. I was spoiled working for the MSPCA in that we never overthought things (in other words we’d blindly go after any animal even if we didn’t have the right equipment, LOL)

        • Lauri says:

          That’s a good quality. Maybe the Michigan HS knew there were a lot of people looking for this llama and hoped it would turn out for the best. It might work out for the best yet! 🙂

  4. Lauri says:

    OMG, I looked at the comments to the article and my dentist’s wife is interested in adopting her. LMAO.

  5. M-----l says:

    I like that you actually had cracked corn on hand.

  6. Laurie says:

    I’m sure you’ll have her eating out of your hand in no time (figuratively and literally). I think word’s gotten around through the animal kingdom that yours is a good place to be. Good luck!

  7. Aussie Emjay says:

    What an adventure! Lauri & the Llama – could be a wonderful story book.

  8. crankypants says:

    As Laurie said, this llama knew which way to head. If anyone can get it to cooperate, it’s you! Lauri Doolittle!

  9. I thought it was a deer standing in that tall grass! You have sharp eyes and a good camera.

    Nobody knows where Dolly came from? It seems strange—I mean, llamas aren’t native to Michigan, and she didn’t just fall out of a cargo plane, lol. She must have been abandoned by someone who didn’t want to feed her anymore, or maybe she just ran away?

    Anyway, I hope she has the sense to come live with you. It may get cold in the Andes, but no llama coat is thick enough to withstand a north Midwestern winter, especially in the lake states.

    • Lauri says:

      I do hope she comes in for some shelter. She is wearing a halter, so she belonged to someone once. I wonder if it was another displaced person who lost their home and just let her loose. Sigh.

  10. Lily says:

    My name is Dolly
    I live the second farm down
    But they kicked me out

    That’s a haiku for Dolly. I think it’s great you’re working on Project Dolly and I bet you’ll end up getting her! Llamas are BIG and the ones I’ve been around were PUSHY SPOILT BRATS who reminded me more of goats. Be careful. It wouldn’t harm you but it’s stronger than you and kicks even from a wee sheep can break bones and split guts, which ain’t nuthin you want! Corralling would have to be preferable over halter and lashing.

    • Lauri says:

      Llamas do have their very own strong personalities. I sort of like that. Hubby prefers very friendly animals like dogs. I love dogs, but I respect llamas and alpacas. They are different.
      Thanks for the llama haiku. Not everyone gets one of those! 🙂

  11. The 13th was a Wednesday, Monday was the 11th.

    Okay, now that I got being a prick out of the way …

    I hope you are able to eventually “capture” her in some enclosed place, if only for her own safety. Around here some idiot would think she was a deer.

    Will your daughter be upset that you got a llama before she got her alpacas?

    • Lauri says:

      Holy crap, you are RIGHT. I don’t know what month I looked at on the calendar, but I appreciate being a prick and setting the record straight. LMAO.

      Ashlee hopes I get the llama. She will be getting her alpacas the weekend after THanksgiving.

      THere’s a very real chance that someone will shoot Dolly, thinking she is a deer. She was here today looking for food, though, so that’s good.

  12. kimkiminy says:

    Awesome! Good luck. If you’re successful, I’m sure Dolly will have a great life.
    Great name, BTW. Are you sure it’s a female? If not, you could name him Serge: http://www.independent.co.uk/news/world/europe/drunken-french-teenagers-abduct-a-circus-llama-and-take-him-on-a-tram-ride-8920524.html

  13. AuntieBellum says:

    At first I thought Earnest was the llama, and I thought, hm, that’s a funny color coat for a llama. LOL

    • Lauri says:

      I was thinking of putting a super fuzzy sweater and stand up ears on Earnest and seeing if Dolly might be lured in by his super hunky manly llama-ness. I don’t think she would fall for it, though.

  14. SingingTuna says:

    Hot diggety!!!! You got a llama!!!! She’s brilliant, for having strayed your way.
    ((((happyhugs))))

    Do you knit?

    • Lauri says:

      I don’t knit, but with Ashlee’s alpaca fleece I am going to have to learn to do something!

      I haven’t got Dolly yet, but I sure would like to get her into shelter before the bad weather comes.

  15. Redscylla says:

    LOL! It would be so epic if YOU could lure her in after dufuses tried to tranq her. And you’d have a free llama. But I think you should name her Tina, like in Napoleon Dynamite.

  16. leendadll says:

    I think doggies + free roaming alpacas means you’ve already founded Yurtlandia.

Leave a Reply

