The Monsoon is here.

cow_octopus_ceruleanbluenights_by_melanopterus-d3j0c7sYay! I posted a pic of The Little Guy.

It’s been the Grayest Day I can ever remember. The clouds were low. It was dark, dark, dark. Not cold…68 degrees F. But so dark I felt like the sky was a huge soggy mattress pressing down on my head and shoulders.

About an hour ago the rain started and now it’s coming down in buckets. It’s a bit of a relief, really.

This is how I felt all day today.

SheldonAshlee took this picture of Sheldon yesterday. I said it looks like “Nap like a pirate day”.

Ken and I went and looked at some puppies on Friday night. Once we got there we realized it is not quite time. I wanted the sadness to go away, but it’s a process, not something you can cover up with more and more puppies! (not that there’s anything wrong with that!)

When the time is right we will get another lab.

A week ago Aaron caught an absolutely amazing fish at a lake about an hour north of here. He was delighted and proud to haul in this huge guy! And I was delighted that he just took pictures and then let him go free. Yay, Aaron and  Northern Pike!

Aaron and PikeOk, looks like a good day to go to bed early. Oh, crap, it’s only 6 pm. Lol. Who said the solstice is the longest day?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to The Monsoon is here.

  1. SingingTuna says:

    Awwwww…puppeez. When it’s time, it’s time.

    “Nap like a pirate day”. BWAHAHA!!!!

    You’re getting the big rain, hunh? We’re supposed to get it tomorrow into Tuesday. 2+ inches. At least it’ll be cooler, after. I reallyreallyreally don’t like this warm weather. Blecch.

    “…the sky was a huge soggy mattress pressing down on my head and shoulders.” Wow! What a great description.

    That is a BIG fish. Congrats to Aaron!!!! It could swim away OK after that? Super!

    • Lauri says:

      Your new kittenz are so inspiring! New life always reminds us that there is always new energy and hope!

      I sure hope the fish was ok. Aaron thought he was fine!

      • SingingTuna says:

        Awww…furry babeeez. Yes.
        (((hugs)))

        I know someone who puts them back in the water…apparently a lot of people do, so it must work OK. It always amazes me, though. I can’t imagine it. But I can’t imagine breathing through gills and living underwater, either…LOL

  2. Aussie Emjay says:

    That’s a nice looking fish – I’m not so sure I’d have let it go though – it would’ve been nice marinated, wrapped in foil and cooked my the barbeque.

    When my kids were younger I used to sometimes just stand up and say “I’m going to bed now” and they’d say “but it’s only 7 o’clock” .. to which I’d reply “when I want to go to bed; I want to go to bed” . Now the manservant says the same thing to me when I want to go at 8 or 9! When you’re tired, you’re tired 🙂

  3. Laurie says:

    Love the photo of Sheldon.
    I don’t think we’re due to get as big a rain as you’re having. But it is going to rain tonight and into my birthday tomorrow nonetheless, Pleh. But it did hold off last night for the big all night outdoor art thing Toronto had, so that’s something.

  4. Well … it could be the same stuff South Dakota is getting instead …

    Just recently I heard the term “Green Fishing.” It’s what I’ve always known as ‘catch & release,’ which he did with that Pike. But I guess it’s someone trying to sound trendy.

  5. Lily says:

    Solstice is Winter and Summer. I think you were feeling an Equinox? That’s 1/2 day, 1/2 night.

    Whatevs. Just #askahillbilly you know.

    That pike made my mouth water but again, that’s a hillbilly response to seeing newly dead or almost dead or soon to be dead animals. 🙂

  6. Jaypo says:

    Oh, Larui, this time of year isn’t good for ooo, is it? Mishoo does that blankie thing when there’s high winds or dunderstorms. These kinds of days can make one’s mind blousey and overly pondersome. You need to go look at some bettas.

    The pike is a beauty!!

  7. jaklumen says:

    Hello again. Long time I’ve not been terribly Neighborly… sorry about that.

    Cold temperature + high humidity = jak in agony! Neuropathy sucks and Sheldon is summing up my expressions pretty well.

  8. Redscylla says:

    This time of year lends itself to napping and cuddling. I’m just not sure how I’d feel about cuddling like a pirate. The hooks, after all.

    And yeah, you can’t rush the puppies. It will come in its own time.

  9. Lauri says:

    Hi, all!
    The sun has been shining the last few days and it’s been absolutely splendid weather. However, I agree with Jaklumen….ow, pain.

    But, it will pass!

Leave a Reply

