Halloooo, WP!

Ok, I have to post. It’s October 1st. I love September and October. I’m only going to post a short one right now.

It was a beautiful summer. Had an awesome time with the dogs and other animals.

In early September Reuben started limping. He had pulled muscles, twisted knees before, so we started the pain and inflammation meds. It didn’t help. So after about 10 days Ken took him in for xrays. We were sure he was going to need knee surgery. The knee was fine. It was bone cancer that Ken found. About two days before the xray, Reuben had stopped eating and he was putting out tons of protein in his urine. So, with all the info, Ken realized he couldn’t wake Reuben up from the sedation for the xrays. He euthanized him right then.  He was 11 1/2. Had a great life! We sure miss him, though, dang it!

Rats. 😦 I didn’t want to do a downer post, but that is what I wanted to say, apparently.

There were so many beautiful walks through the fields and trees on our property and up in north Michigan this summer. Reuben really did have a great last summer. Here’s a pic of him so I can gaze at it.

012

I just wish we could all stay together forever. Is that unreasonable? (haha…yeah)

Ken and I just got back from a week in Vegas. Ashlee and Ross were out there, too, so we got together with them a few times. Hiked in Red Rock Canyon. Saw “Love” the Cirque du Soliel Beatles show and had some great dinners.

When we got home the dogs and cats were so happy to see us. Teagan was sleeping on the couch and Orion managed to climb up behind her and lie down without disturbing her. This is a first!

Orion and TeaganSo, all is well except for losing Reuben. I hope I can get back in the blogging mood again! I have lots of good news to share! Ashlee and Ross are buying a farm and moving Oct. 19, 20th and they are going to raise alpacas!!!  Just wait until I get those pictures flowing!

Ok, I will wrap this up. I have over 400 emails in my inbox (mostly crap, of course) but I can’t even get that cleaned out, hence the blogging block!

Thanks to all you guys who are out there keeping us going!! BIG HUGS.

 

 

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

48 Responses to Halloooo, WP!

  1. Drude says:

    I love the picture with Orion and Teagan and I am so so sorry about Reuben. Big hugs!

  2. Lurkertype says:

    I am totally looking forward to the alpaca pix!

    That Teagan and Orion photo is the cutest thing.

  3. Oh no, poor Reuben. I’ve always thought how unfair it is that dogs only live 12 years while we lumber on to 80 or whatever the average lifespan is for human beings here. One of my friends groused that she would have preferred her dog to live to be 88 instead of her ex, who was an alcoholic bum and used to hit her and their kids up for cash every few months.

    Anyway, it sounds like you had a good summer otherwise. I hope the fall there is beautiful. One thing that I don’t like about Cali is that we really don’t get those glorious red and gold autumns. The frost comes, the leaves turn yellow, and pfff, the next day they’re all over the ground.

    • Lauri says:

      The colors are coming along beautifully here! I’ll have to get some pics.
      Yes, I do wish dogs lived longer. We did say that of our three labs, Reub lived the longest. So, once he hit 10 years old every day was an extra gift and we knew that. Our first lab, Vinnie, was a rescue from the Humane Society and he started having seizures at one year, died at two. The second one, Chip, died of liver cancer at just short of 10.
      Much too short. 😦 But, well worth having them!

  4. Sorry about Rueben.

    Orion knows who the boss is, so best not disturb!

  5. AuntieBellum says:

    This seems an appropriate place to put this:

    Being a veterinarian, I had been called to examine a ten-year-old Irish Wolfhound named Belker. The dog’s owners, Ron, his wife Lisa, and their little boy Shane, were all very attached to Belker, and they were hoping for a miracle.

    I examined Belker and found he was dying of cancer. I told the family we couldn’t do anything for Belker, and offered to perform the euthanasia procedure for the old dog in their home.

    As we made arrangements, Ron and Lisa told me they thought it would be good for six-year-old Shane to observe the procedure. They felt as though Shane might learn something from the experience.

    The next day, I felt the familiar catch in my throat as Belker ‘s family surrounded him. Shane seemed so calm, petting the old dog for the last time, that I wondered if he understood what was going on. Within a few minutes, Belker slipped peacefully away.

    The little boy seemed to accept Belker’s transition without any difficulty or confusion. We sat together for a while after Belker’s Death, wondering aloud about the sad fact that animal lives are shorter than human lives.
    Shane, who had been listening quietly, piped up, ”I know why.”

    Startled, we all turned to him. What came out of his mouth next stunned me. I’d never heard a more comforting explanation. It has changed the way I try and live.

    He said,”People are born so that they can learn how to live a good life — like loving everybody all the time and being nice, right?” The Six-year-old continued,

    ”Well, dogs already know how to do that, so they don’t have to stay as long.”

  6. Aw, poor pup! 😦 He got totally spoiled with you guys though. He looks so happy in that last pic! And I can’t wait to see the alpacas. That’s very exciting stuff!

  7. Laurie says:

    You and Ken do so very well by your pets, even when that means deciding that the time has come. Life ends and life goes on in all your other lovely animules and the advent of alpacas!

    It’s good to see you around again. This October posting has really taken off with the peeps on day 1 already — I have to think up some posts, too!

  8. crankypants says:

    Awwww I’m so sorry to hear about Rueben. 😦 So sad. But he had a great life with your menagerie and I’m glad he had a good last summer. I have been missing my little turdball a lot lately so this makes me especially sad and the tears have been more forthcoming lately *snif*. The picture of Orion and Teagan is priceless. *hugs*

  9. Jaypo says:

    What a love, he was… I’m sorry about your Reuby. He had the best home ever, and a calm, sweet passing. Who could ask for more?!
    Summer is GONE! *stamps feet* But I love autumn too and ate soup and stew over the weekend. Carry on, Larui!
    p.s. Was thinking of you last night–January visit still a possibility?

  10. Lily says:

    I’m sorry for your loss!

    Teagan and Orion make a wonderful piccie. That should be made into an oil!

  11. amelie says:

    Oh no, how sad! Hugs to you, and I truly share your sentiment. We all should be able to stay together forever. It’s not too much to ask.

    An alpaca farm? That should be like photo blogging paydirt!

  12. amyhftw says:

    RIP Reuben. He really did win the dog lottery by having you as his family. He wanted for nothing.

    I’ve only just begun being able to think and talk about my Elvis without crying. And it’s been four (?!) years. They mean so much to us and give us so much in return.

    Until you said OctoBlog starts (or yesterday), I thought we were already in it. Dammit, I used up a blog by posting too early!

    • Lauri says:

      Missing them never ends. But, it’s worth it having them in our lives. We are going to look at some lab-mix rescue puppies tomorrow night! *jumps up and down*

  13. M-----l says:

    I’m sorry about your dog. 😦

    (That was my first and last smiley…or frowney, I guess.)

  14. Redscylla says:

    Aw, it’s good to see that smiling picture of Reuben. It really was a lovely last summer for him.

    It breaks my heart how short dogs’ lives are. About three months after Biggie Bigs came to live with me, I found out that the average life span of boxers is 7 years! I cried, because I couldn’t believe she might die that soon.

    So what’s the difference between llama and alpacas?

    • amelie says:

      Alpacas are smaller, have a different social structure and some consider their wool to be nicer. They’re both camelids so technically they can be cross-bred.

      • Redscylla says:

        I think I knew something like that about the wool. After all, they make pricey suits out of alpaca wool, but I think not out of llama wool.

        • Lauri says:

          I am not aware of llama fleece being used for anything. The alpacas are sheered once a year and have nice soft curly/crimpy fleece. And they are quite a bit smaller than llamas. And better tempered. It should be a fun experience!

  15. kimkiminy says:

    Sorry to hear about Reuben. Sounds like it was the right time. I imagine heaven is where we’ll all be reunited with all the pets we ever loved.

  16. Aussie Emjay says:

    I’m sorry about Reuben. My mother gave me an alpaca scarf for my birthday in July – I’m looking forward to wearing it soon and I’m looking forward to alpaca photos from you. Love Orion curled around Teagan!

  17. SingingTuna says:

    Nooooooo……oh, Lauri….(((((((((((((((((((hugs)))))))))))))))))))) Such a loss!!!!!
    Reuben!!! What a sweetheart. (((((((more hugs)))))))

    Orion and Teegan! They’re adorable! And how graceful Orion must be, to do that.
    Alpacamania! Woohooo!! Can’t wait!

    • Lauri says:

      Thanks, so much! I am feeling much better today. It hurts to see my dogs missing him, too, and they have seemed to be feeling better this weekend, too. A little time helps a lot!

  18. leendadll says:

    sorry for your loss.
    love the pic of Orion and Teagan.
    where will this alpaca farm be? clearly, we need to have a Yurtlandia meetup there!

    • Lauri says:

      Thanks, Leenda.
      The alpaca farm will be in Columbia Station, Ohio. It’s about an hour west and south of Cleveland. Sort of!
      I haven’t been there, yet. They are moving in Oct 19th and 20th.
      It would be a great place to have Yurtlandia, from what I have heard!

  19. Inga says:

    I second Amyh – Reuben won the lottery with you guys. What a happy looking chap…RIP puppy dog.

    Can you put up some photos of Vegas please? I’m homesick. Pretty sure my soul is still floating around there.

  20. e2thec says:

    i’m only just seeing this (reader has been weird) and am so very sorry for your loss, Lauri. they are good souls, and losing someone – human or not – is always so hard.

    (((((((((Lauri)))))))))

    • Lauri says:

      Thank you, e. It’s been a lot harder than I thought. If my getting older is contributing to my increased grieving…well, let’s just say that is not a good thing. Sigh. It will get better with time. It’s hard when I know the other dogs miss him, too.

  21. littlemiao says:

    I am so sorry to hear about Reuben. many hugs for you and your family, Lauri.

Leave a Reply

