Summer Musings

Hello, Friends!

I can feel that I have about reached the point in the summer where I go from gardening/weeding/planting like a crazy woman, and now I sit back and watch the flowers and weeds grow. Then when the tomatoes are ready, or the peaches, I will pick them and preserve them even if they have grown up amidst a bunch of weeds. This is my strategy every year. It seems to work fine. My squashes and beans andΒ  tomatoes do just fine once the gardening frenzy has left my body.

I do not ever remember such a wet summer, though. It has rained and rained and rained. The back of our fenced in area is squelching! Rivers of field run-off water are still flowing back there. It sure is interesting to watch the water!

Here are some pics. We were puppy-sitting Aaron’s two dogs while he moved into a basement apartment of the house his friends just bought. It made for a busy week.

Five dogs in the kitchen.When I tear up bread from the day old bread store to feed the chickens I always have a lot of company in the kitchen. The dogs all love bread, except Sheldon who always takes his bites while looking totally grossed out. I call it Shel’s Torture Bread.

Leo wanted me to get off Facebook and play ball. Throw the ball pleaseSome garden shots. I had forgotten I planted these lilies last year when they were on clearance. They were a nice surprise this year!

009 011These are two of my garden dragons. I love them! They make me smile.

008 005This is the first year I have had a birdbath garden. I love it!

007Poor little Griffin goat passed away last week. He was very old and tired. 16 years old. So this is the first time in 18 years we have been without goats. But, guess what! I might get some alpacas!!!

The chickens are doing well.

004The babies are getting the awesome little tail stubs! Hee!

Ok, that’s all for now!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

37 Responses to Summer Musings

  1. Drude says:

    Awww, your dragons are adorabubbles.
    So sad to hear about Griffin goat. Goats are such great personalities.
    Garden and chickens look so lovely!

  2. Laurie says:

    Great photos! Leo is so sweet and winsome with his ball. Love your birdbath garden, and your dragons.
    Sorry to hear about Griffin the goat — for some reason, I thought your last goat died a couple of years ago.
    I’m inside in the great weather trying to write like crazy today, but losing my momentum.

    • Lauri says:

      I hope your momentum returns! Mine has definitely left the building!

      • Laurie says:

        I’m just sitting back at myself and looking at the fact that I’m on a long weekend with nice weather and no one to do anything with, and that makes writing seem like a “poor, unpopular Laurie” activity, rather than a choice.

  3. M-----l says:

    Leo is right…you should get off Facebook. It looks like you’ve been on there so much that your mouse has worn away a layer of your desk!

  4. crankypants says:

    ahhhhh the puppers KILL me! so darn sweet.
    The chickies! eeeeeee!
    the garden is lovely and my condolences on Griffin. 😦
    But hey, alpacas! what about a couple donkeys?
    OH! and I was cleaning my room and opened up a little old box and inside was a little dragon coming out of an egg figurine my friend in England sent me, geez, 20 years ago at least. I had forgotten about it so to see your garden dragons, I was like wow, what a coinkidink!

    • Lauri says:

      Oh how COOL about the dragon coming out of the egg!

      Mini donks are SO cute!

      But I am thinking alpacas because Ashlee has been researching them and is planning to start a farm. It will take her and Ross some time to find land and afford to move and all that, but I think it would be fun to get some girls and get some practice dealing with them and learning about them (having babies and all) before Ashlee starts up her ranch.
      There is an awesome alpaca farm about an 18 minute drive from here. We have an appointment to go see the place in mid-July. Wooooot!

  5. Poor Griffin goat. But if you get alpacas, you’ll have to learn how to card and spin alpaca wool so you can have skeins of lovely, soft alpaca yarn. I have alpaca wool handwarmers that my daughter knit for me, and trust me, there’s nothing softer or warmer.

    Your garden is so lovely. The pinks and reds of the lilies go well with the chartreuse and yellows of the groundcover you’ve got there. Here it’s so hot, everything is drying up and turning brown. Except Dad’s zucchini plant. That sucker won’t die. It just keeps putting out zucchini until the fridge is exploding with them.

    • Lauri says:

      I probably will be learning about carding and spinning. Or just sell the fleece to someone who does! A friend at work is all excited for me to get alpacas. She wants to learn to card and spin.

      A gardener friend at work said I have to remember to fertilize my lilies thoroughly at the end of the summer or they might not come back. I wonder if I’ll remember.

      We have had so much rain and (after a few sweltering days) it’s been so cool that I am afraid my tomatoes might not even ripen. ACK.

  6. kimkiminy says:

    Great shot of all the pups.

    Surprise plantings are always the BEST. Like finding a twenty in a coat pocket.

    We have a small birdbath, but we found it can attract unwelcome predators at night. But there is a tiny natural rock depression that we keep filled. It’s just large enough for birds to drink and bathe in.

    Alpacas! Well, THAT would be really interesting.

    Tail stubs! SQUEE!!

    • Lauri says:

      Orion was the only one who drank water out of that bird bath, so I decided to plant it with moss and trailers this year. It worked out good.

  7. Msmouse7 says:

    Sorry about losing your goat. 16 years is a long time. Your new lilies are gorgeous. And I am totally smitten with your garden dragons. I feel a shopping trip coming on!!
    I am with you; sit back and enjoy!!

    • Lauri says:

      The place I got those gardens was all sold out of them last week when I went back. I might have bought a third one!
      It was Wojo’s Greenhouse. I know they have a few in Michigan but I don’t know if they are anywhere else.

  8. Lily says:

    Hahahaha! I love that all the dogs are paying RAPT attention!
    Purties in the garden, as well.

  9. Sorry about Griffin. (And, no, I won’t ask how the BBQ afterwards went …)

    The dogs remind me of our cats when my wife is cooking. If they only knew, lol!

    Joy and Jerry have taken to “telling” me when I’ve spent too much time on the computer and it’s time to pet them.

  10. Lauri says:

    I often have a cat walking back and forth in front of the screen. Then I know it’s time to get away!

  11. MsRedPen says:

    Your garden looks lovely, and the dragons are fabulous!

  12. stevebetz says:

    Love it! Great pics — we saw an AWFUL lot of rain during out east coast swing. Easily more in 2 weeks than we get in a year — maybe two!

  13. marsboom says:

    omg you pack into a month what I can do in years…give me some please??? lol Yes, get an alpaca and call it sparkles πŸ™‚

  14. Aussie Emjay says:

    Your flowers are beautiful. That was a good old age for a goat – I’m sure Griffin had a wonderful life in those gorgeous surroundings. I love the birdbath garden – much prettier than being full of mosquito larvae which would happen if I had a birdbath πŸ™‚ .

  15. SingingTuna says:

    Oh, Lauri! Best post ever. GREAT furry kid pix. And feathery kid pix, too. Sorry about Griffin. Wow. 16? (((((((((hugs)))))))))
    Have to stop for a few minutes, will be back.
    ::runs::

  16. SingingTuna says:

    There’s been so much rain! I’m glad your crops are doing well.
    The dogs certainly look FABULOUS! They like bread? I never knew that.
    “Shel’s Torture Bread.” LOL Maybe Sheldon wants peanut butter?
    AWWW! Leo! What a face!!!!!
    Gorgeous lilies…and your birdbath garden is lovely. What a great idea, too. LOVE the dragons!!!
    Chicks! Sooo cute! I didn’t know they got tail stubs. Adorable.
    Thank you for sharing these, Lauri!!!
    πŸ˜€

  17. Jaypo says:

    Everything in your domain grows beautifully and happy, till the season! I’m sorry about Griffin, larui, when they tired and old, they just go… 😦 But don’t get alpacas, get llamas!! I totally changed my mind about that when I read a NYTimes article on llamas being perfect companions, the “potato chip” of pets! I LOVE that. Bet you can’t have just one! Here, read this:
    http://www.nytimes.com/2013/07/04/garden/the-llama-is-in.html?pagewanted=all&_r=0

    I wanna llama. Sheldon is so sweet, how adorable is his face! love oo, larui.

  18. Jaypo says:

    phhhht. meant to say “Tis the season.”

  19. Such a lovely post, it made me smile – thank you for sharing πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

