More chick pics!

Such a weird day. Anxiety, depression. Then I realized that I had quit taking estrogen last week just to see what would happen. I guess this might be it. I’ll survive.

This is what Lemonpepper does when another chicken approaches too closely. She becomes a Puffer Chicken.

Chickens Summer 2013 001Getting back to normal size. Babies everywhere! Chickens Summer 2013 003This is Cayenne. Followed by a picture of Chocolate Chick. The two who survived from last year’s brood.

Chickens Summer 2013 005 Chickens Summer 2013 009CC is a sweet little hen with feathery feet.

I went through closets today and threw out a huge garbage bag full of long and short sleeved teeshirts. (well, donating to Goodwill, not actually throwing out). That felt good!

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

27 Responses to More chick pics!

  1. This is NOT the post I expected considering the title, damn it!

    I was going to ask how many stick around, but then I went back and read. Beware of raccoons!

  2. Cayenne is a handsome boy. I admit however that I have a weakness for red roosters with black tail feathers. I’d keep one as a pet, except our city ordinances forbid keeping roosters in backyard coops because they crow and wake the neighbors. Which is true, judging from the neighbors who think they’re being sneaky, hiding their rooster from the city. He crows every morning at 5 a.m., unless they keep him locked up in the house—which is rare. >.<

    • Lauri says:

      We have to get up around 4 am and shut the windows because the roosters all start crowing. Early birds indeed!

      • Lauri says:

        Cayenne is a gorgeous rooster. The poor little hens on the low end of the pecking order get a bit frazzled looking. I need to order some capes so the hens don’t pick her feathers on her back.

  3. Lurkertype says:

    I don’t think that’s a med you should just go cold turkey (similar to chickens! on-topic!) on. It doesn’t happen that way in nature, you gotta step it down slowly.

    Bawk bawk bawk!

    • Lauri says:

      Rats. You are probably right, Lurkie. I just get tired of taking meds, ya know?
      IBS, FM, depression, hormones. Wah wah wah. Oh well, at least everything is under control! I’m a walking drugstore. ๐Ÿ™‚

  4. phantomxii says:

    I love these pictures. Cute little chicks!

    I hear what you’re saying about stopping the estrogen, only in my case I stopped huffing transmission fluid. But once I quit, I could understand what they were saying on the news! That was awful! So I went back on it. Ahhhhhhh, sweet ajfaynkdjjjjjjjjjjj ๐Ÿ˜‰

  5. SingingTuna says:

    EEEEE! Lemonpepper is a HUGE puffer chicken. The chicks are so sweet. Would you believe I’m sitting here going, “Cheep! Cheep!” to them?
    Cayenne is magnificent. Chocolate Chick looks very velvety. And curious. What’s going on in that grass, anyway?

    Wow…estrogen. (((hugs)))
    You doing OK?
    I think what’s left of my hormones have decided to disfigure me. I’ve got pimples in my wrinkles. Blecch.

    • Lurkertype says:

      I have pimples in my wrinkles too, Robbie!

      • SingingTuna says:

        You do? Yow. Sorry to hear that…It sux, doesn’t it?
        ((hugs))
        And covering them doesn’t work because whatever I use makes my face look like someone spackled it. Badly.
        Carp.

        • Lurkertype says:

          I just gave up. People might miss the pimples or the wrinkles but they notice the spackle. I mean, I certainly do so I figure so do others.

          I’ve never heard anyone say “wow that woman has 5 pimples” but you always hear “omg what did she PUT ON HER FACE?!”

          • Lauri says:

            Oh, me too, Lurkie! The wrinkles are there….I haven’t had a pimple in awhile. They will return, though.
            But, slathering on make-up??? No way….if I do use it it’s used very sparingly.

            • SingingTuna says:

              Yes, I tried makeup only a couple of times. Haven’t used it in a good decade or so but those pimples were awful so I gave it a shot. NO!!!!!! Horrible. Much worse than pimples, I agree. Who wants to look like the side of a building? So it’s no makeup at all for me. Saves money, too.

              And the hotflashes make it melt off, anyway.
              ๐Ÿ˜ฆ

              • Lauri says:

                Oh ugh, hot flashes.
                Well, I will take hot flashes and “women’s problems” over prostate problems anyday. And I guess that’s good, since I really have no choice in the matter. lol.

          • SingingTuna says:

            LOL…so true!!
            (see my reply under Larui’s comment)

  6. lauowolf says:

    And it is clearly a pimples on my wrinkles party going on here.
    Except for the one which is a great big mosquito bite.

  7. Lily says:

    Yay for declutter!

    There’s plenty to be said for not having estrogen running rampant and there’s plenty to be said for avoiding all legumes BUT I use unsweetened organic soya (Silk) at about 3C a day to help control my bleeding. I took hormones from my teens til about 10 years ago. I reckon evil legume-milk is better than paying Big Pharma when I’m not getting a cut. It may help you. I put it in my tea or coffee, which tells you how much tea I drink!

Leave a Reply

