Lemonpepper did it again.

We discussed having surprise chicks this year but decided the only possible mama brave enough to hide a nest was Lemonpepper. And she was appearing for every meal so I never suspected her of hiding a nest. What a stinker! She has 11 chicks!

006005Gotta love baby peeps!

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

43 Responses to Lemonpepper did it again.

  1. mariser says:

    aw. a good brave momma.
    cute peeps

  2. Laurie says:

    This made me laugh with delight! Lemonpepper psyched you out!

    • Lauri says:

      She really did, Laurie. I didn’t have a clue. She appeared along with everyone else for feeding times, so we never thought of looking for a nest!

  3. Drude says:

    Elebenty! They are adorable. How many are left of last year’s chicks? Arrh, you have loads of space…. and 11 chicks more or less isn’t going to break the bank… WOOOT baby fuzzbutts!!

    • Lauri says:

      Last year was a weird year. The very day after Lemonpepper stopped protecting them (I think she had 8 last year) the unchaperoned chicks were wandering the yard and a hawk, or hawks got three of them!!! 😦 Then we lost one to an oppossum, plus three of our original chickens. The opossums were horrible this winter. So…our total population isn’t increasing. I am hoping these stay INSIDE our goat\chicken fence which is more protected. Last year’s batch were wanderers.
      The only two left is a rooster named Cayenne and a hen named Chocolate Chick. Chocolate Chick was hijacked by two of my Partridge Rock hens as an infant and raised by them (the chick with two moms LOL). So she is very tame and I don’t think she will go hide a nest.

  4. Laurie says:

    It’s a lovely motley group, too.

  5. Who’s the babydaddy? Or babiesdaddy, I guess. It must be fun to have wild chickens roosting in the woods.

  6. M-----l says:

    The second picture makes it look like Lemonpepper has a chick for a head. Fluffhead!

  7. Lily says:

    Such sweeties when they’re still fluffy! Pin feathers is that ‘awkward’ stage ;p

  8. e2thec says:

    they’re gorgeous, and that Lemonpepper is quite an intelligent hen, one who would be scary good at poker, I’m thinking.

    funny thing: I was just reading something yesterday about a scientist at an English university who has been working on intelligence tests (very complex ones) with both chickens and sheep. Turns out that the sheep are smarter than the monkeys – and very small children – that they’ve been using as control groups. The chickens are more than holding their own, too – if I can find some good links, I’ll either post them here or else write a post on it.

    • Lauri says:

      I find it completely fascinating to watch these chickens. Their instincts and/or intelligence are amazing. I know I was blown away last year when one of the dogs walked up to the fence. Lemonpepper made a certain noise and all eight chicks scattered to all different directions and dropped into the grass-invisible!! Lemonpepper flew against the fence, tiny chicken mama against 65 pound dog. I put the dog in the house. Another “sound” was made and all chicks popped out of the grass and returned to mama.

      • e2thec says:

        Wow – what a story! Wish I could have seen that for myself. and I’m going to weigh in on the “intelligence”side, though I’m sure it’s instinct, too.

        What fascinates me is how the chicks knew the signals for scattering *and* regrouping. As with bunny sounds (and there are lots!), I bet things that sound the same to us have very different shades of meaning for the birds and animals that make them.

        • Lauri says:

          I would never have believed it if I hadn’t seen it.

          Also, when our Sandhill cranes (haha..I said “our” Sandhill Cranes) had their babies, I watched as Mama “told them” to go hide. They walked swiftly behind our lawnmower shed. I was amazed because they had never left her side. Then as I watched both Mama and Dad walked threateningly across the yard towards a coyote who was just passing through. I swear that coyote was so meek and submissive. He wouldn’t even look at them as he hurried by.
          Then the “all clear” was given and out came the babies!

          • e2thec says:

            Fascinating! (As Mr. Spock would say.)

          • Jaypo says:

            Animal studies is a big, big deal these days academically! New books on my desk right now:
            -How Animals Grieve, by Barbara King, Univ of Chicago.
            -The Moral Lives of Animals, by Dale Peterson, Bloomsbury.
            -The Bonobo and the Atheist – in Search of Humanism Among the Primates, by Frans de Waal.
            and
            -The Good, Good Pig – the extraordinary life of christopher hogwood, by Sy Montgomery.

    • Jaypo says:

      And crows and ravens are amazing. It’s kind of good they don’t have hands.

  9. Jaypo says:

    Little beebees are adorable. I wish I could pick one up. It would probably poop on me.

  10. Redscylla says:

    Sneaky Chicken strikes again!

  11. SingingTuna says:

    Stealth peeps.
    Gotta β™₯ that.
    She’s soooooo pretty! And her chicks are sweet little fluffballs.
    Hang on, though. Why is she looking down into the grass? Was the hidden nest underground? Did she use a broadleaf plantain for a trapdoor into a secure underworld of Cheepdom? There must be some kind of secret entry code: that little white chick is blocking our view of her pecking in the numbers on the keypad.

    :O

Leave a Reply

