It’s been a busy couple of weeks!

I have done so much gardening that I am quite happy with myself. My tomato seedlings are tiny but thriving. I have repotted many many houseplants and they are now outside to enjoy the humidity they love.

We have had many sunny warm…even hot days. Today things cooled way down and it rained all day. A nice soaking rain. Every plant will stay nice and hydrated while I am in north Michigan at my parents’ cabin for the weekend! Yay!

The Snowdrift Flowering Crab lived up to it’s name this week. The beautiful white petals that completely covered it are falling off, blanketing the ground like snow.

008Bob and Sandy Crane were here for three days just 20 feet from the house eating under the bird feeders. We wondered if they were not going to nest this year. However, Ken saw only Bob yesterday and no sign of either one today…could Sandy finally have laid eggs???

Bob watches most of the time so Sandy can eat. He is constantly vigilant!

022 (2)But Sandy takes a turn at watch so Bob can get some rest.

039 (2)Reuben enjoyed our sunny warm days.

016 (2)So did Shel, who is looking like a little old man.

002 (2)And Stringbean is the only cat I have known who loves hunting in the rain. He comes home literally soaked to the skin. He also likes to wade in the kiddie swimming pool.

046One more! Orion has a new five foot long snake toy!

035 (3)Have a good weekend, all! I am heading up to the lake! I think it might be a bit chilly! πŸ™‚

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

26 Responses to It’s been a busy couple of weeks!

  1. All lovely and beautiful. Orion and Sheldon in the snow petals.

  2. I love your resident cranes. While I was at some fancypants garden center last weekend, I saw a pair of crane sculptures that looked just like Bob and Sandy in that second photo. The sculptures were selling for $250 each, which made me think I’d rather have real cranes in my garden, like yours.

    No sculptures of Great Danes and Boston terriers, though. Too bad. Orion would make a great garden ornament! πŸ™‚

    • Lauri says:

      Oh, when the rain stops I’ll have to take pictures of two dragon statues I have in the garden. They are big dragon puppies with happy smiles and huge feets. They reminded me of Orion, AND were on sale, so, of course, I had to buy them! πŸ™‚

  3. Laurie says:

    I hope the place at the lake has a fireplace, I think you’re going to need it!

  4. Jaypo says:

    What a happy menagerie! The crabs and cranes and cats and danes!

    I took today off to get more planting done. Of course when I requested the day off last week I didn’t know it was going to rain Tuesday through Sunday. Plenty to do inside though! Glad to be at home, yes indeedy!

    • Lauri says:

      Lol! The best laid plans and all….as I commented on your bloog, I came home last night from the lake so I could spend all day today gardening. It is pouring buckets and buckets and Lolbuckets and it’s not supposed to stop until midnight. I should do something useful inside the house. We’ll see! πŸ˜‰

  5. Lily says:

    Stringbean living up to his name there! He’s a HUNTER, yo!

  6. crankypants says:

    awwww I love that last one of Orion. I love the cranes too and all the puppers and kitters and yeah, I like all your piccies. Have a lovely weekend at the cabin. and thanks for sharing your povely photos. I always enjoy them.

  7. kimkiminy says:

    Best hunting in the rain. Critters aren’t expecting it. Love that big snake!

  8. Awww, such nice pictures! I hope you have a wondeful weekend at the cabin!

  9. leendadll says:

    love the pics.
    i’ve never protected the succulents from temp drops. but mine are also pretty big.

    • Lauri says:

      Ack! I planted some of my indoor succulents outside and they definitely look shocked by the cold. I am waiting to see if they come back. If not…less for me to mess with! Yay.

      • leendadll says:

        ahhh… i’ve also never grown succulents indoors. it’s likely they’ll recover. i keep whacking the hell out of the giant succulent in front of my house and it is completely unphased.

        • Lauri says:

          Mine seem to be recovering. The only plants really affected by the cold spell were my Chinese evergreens…which I had just divided and repotted a couple of days before. Poor things. But, I think most of them will recover.
          And my Calladium. All of the above were completely under cover under my eaves…because they all love shade, but the cold still really affected them.
          I’m lucky I didn’t lose any.

  10. Redscylla says:

    Heehee! Sheltocks.

  11. jaklumen says:

    You had good fortune with tomato seedlings? We didn’t. 😦

    • Lauri says:

      My tomato seedlings were so tiny when I put them out that I put the tiny pot they sprouted in next to each one so I knew where it was. Luckily their tiny size saved them from a slight frost when I was up north and wasn’t home to cover them. Now they are getting big fast!

Leave a Reply

