I springed up my blog.

We have had some absolutely gorgeous days the past two weeks. I was out weeding and raking and getting rid of dead winter stuff like crazy. I got three of five rock gardens done, the strawberry garden almost completely weeded (with a lot of spousal help) and 32 new strawberries planted. Then I spent the last two days bringing all my houseplants back inside because of a freeze warning last night. It’s a good thing I did..it got down to 27 degrees! I tried covering the peach tree branches with blankets and towels, so I’ don’t know if that worked….we’ll see if the blossoms survive!

Bob and Sandy Crane are back again today! I wonder if they are going to raise babies here this year!

Here are some pictures of my yard. This is one of my new succulents. I had to cover him up to protect him from the cold last night, too. 029I love when the dandelions are blooming on the paths in our fields. I feel like I am walking on a path of stars. 043045Reuben on a path of stars. And Orion just being big! 049I am hoping it warms up again soon. I think by Wednesday it’s supposed to be in the high 70s to 80. Then I can turn all the houseplants out to pasture again!

Here are Bob and Sandy in the front yard. And a red-bellied woodpecker on the tree in the front. He has a sunflower seed stuck in a hole in the tree so he can shell it!

057058Happy Spring, everybody!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

28 Responses to I springed up my blog.

  1. M-----l says:

    Gee, I thought I had a lot of animals in my yard.

  2. It’ll snow again … it’s only the middle of May, lol.

    92 here today!

  3. Ooh, hens n’ chicks in the garden! I bought some in a clay planter because I didn’t want to leave mine outdoors when it got cold. We had subfreezing temperatures in December: it killed off a lot of our tropical plants in the garden.

    I also love the strawberry pink tulips on the borders of your blog. That’s another thing—we can’t have tulips out here unless we put the bulbs in the refrigerator for a month before they’re planted. The ground doesn’t get cold enough for the tulips to reach dormancy.

    I can see why you love your home so much. Animals, garden, lots of green space!

    • Lauri says:

      Ooo, the background blooms do look like tulips! I hadn’t realized it. It is actually of super close-up of the buds on my Snowdrift Flowering Crab tree. They were just barely starting to open.

  4. Lauri says:

    Rats! An Indigo Bunting was just at my backyard feeder. I snapped a pic, but he flew away and all I got was a picture of my garden hose.

  5. SingingTuna says:

    Ooooooo!!!!!! So much beauty!!!
    Is Orion larger? He looks taller.
    I love that path of stars.
    This is a delight, Lauri.

    There’s a woodpecker couple that’s removing a tree stump from the lawn. They’re hacking it to pieces. Not sure which kind of woodpecker, need to look it up. The male isn’t striped like yours.
    🙂

  6. littleoddme says:

    How wonderful! I’m putting in four raised beds, but since our yard is xeriscaped, this means moving rocks from each site, putting down the foundation layer of bricks and then the raised bed edge on top. I’m taking way too long to do it, my garden is so late this year, sigh.

    How well do the succulents go over winter? Paul and I want to do a cacti and succulent garden in our front garden, but I worry that they won’t make it even if they are rated for this zone.

    • Lauri says:

      The basic hens and chicks and the bigger sedum do just great over the winter. I have so many varieties that survive just fine. Blue spruce sedum, Angelina sedum, tricolor sedum, golden, sedum, dragon’s blood sedum, Minas sedum.
      There are four or five varieties that I bought that are only tolerant down to 25 degrees, so those I bring inside for the winter.

  7. lauowolf says:

    I love your path of stars.
    WIll carry it about in my head today.
    Thanks.

  8. Lily says:

    W00t Bob and Sandy!

    I love succulents but I don’t grow anything but aloe. I alway mean to get some hen and chicks…

    I hate weeding but it’s excellent exercise.

  9. kimkiminy says:

    Yeah, I’ve been waiting to get new plants. Good thing, too — we had a winter-like storm last week! Soon, though…
    Love the Cranes, and your starry path!

  10. amyhftw says:

    Sigh. This post is making me homesick. Good thing I have a plane ticket to go back for Niece #1’s high school graduation! I’m hoping for blue skies and green grass! Not that I don’t have more blue sky and sunshine here than I need, but it’s such a big color contrast to have the bright greens against the blue skies and the reflections on water.

    SO EXCITED!!!

  11. amyhftw says:

    And I LOVE your blog background! Pretty pretty!

  12. stevebetz says:

    I’m very fond of Bob and Sandy.

  13. Redscylla says:

    I’m still where I was before our big cold spell: got the one flower bed cleaned out, but the rest of my yard is a total disaster.

    • Lauri says:

      I came down with a throat virus last Thursday which gave me a sore throat and took away every molecule of energy I have ever had. So, at least I was sick during the cold weather.
      I am just starting to feel better today! Yay!

  14. homebody says:

    I love your path of stars, too!

  15. littlemiao says:

    so green, so beautiful! and Orion is so tall!

    I read your posts in reverse or else I would have seen that you named your lovely dandelion path your path of stars. I love it even more now.

    I hope we don’t have any more super cold weather. We had freezing temps over the weekend, but today was 70.

Leave a Reply

