Spring has spoinked.

Nope. No sign of it yet. It’s been just above freezing with wind chills in the teens for two weeks. And rain. Lots of rain. I am not complaining about rain…..we have needed it, so I am quite glad to see it, but the cold is hard to take. And Mr. Weatherguesser just said that it doesn’t look like we will see a “spring-like warm-up” all the way through April. Oh, well. I am not really complaining….but just sort of. Ha. I’ll change my header photo one of these days…..it’s hard to redecorate the ol’ blog when it’s so cold and blustery outside.

We did have a pair of Sandhill Cranes stop by, but only for one day. I was hoping they would stay around and raise their babies like they have twice before, but they stopped for a snack and went on their way.

My dwarf irises (planted on Calli’s grave two years ago) have sprouted nicely…probably about a dozen of them out there, so tiny (three inches high) and so cute!

021046I guess we might as well stay inside and take a nap until May. 🙂

027

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

28 Responses to Spring has spoinked.

  1. amelie says:

    It’s been very cold here too. They said for yesterday “partly sunny”. Well what the heck, it was freezing and the sky was pitch black. They should have said “mostly dark and miserable”!

    I think the jet stream’s still far to our south so we have a while to warm up whole the polar vortex is giving us that nice cozy Arctic air. at least we’re not in the Dakotas. 15 inches of snow predicted for today. Brrrrr!

  2. Doug says:

    Welcome back cranes! Now if we can just have a day that isn’t chilly and rainy…

  3. SingingTuna says:

    Those cranes are GORGEOUS! they look huge! How big are they?
    Teh puppeezzz are adorable as always. That picture could be telling so many stories!
    ((((warm hugs)))) Ugh. What a cray spring. Rain is good, but cold rain is tough to take. We went up to 87 last week and then down into the low 40’s after a bunch of storms. It’s still cool but going to shoot back up into the upper 70’s this week. And then down again. Roller coaster!
    The irises are lovely….

  4. SingingTuna says:

    “Crazy” spring, not “cray” spring.

  5. It was 75 here yesterday!!! I was working out in the garage and actually broke a sweat because of the humidity.

    Now, someone ask me again if I want to move to Michigan … lol.

  6. kimkiminy says:

    I wish we could get some more rain or snow. Last snow here was 5 weeks ago. Might be a long dry summer.

  7. Redscylla says:

    Today was gorgeous. 70s. But they say rain and 40s rest of the week. The rain = yay! But I’m so tired of the cold. The cranes are lovely. I saw a real honest to goodness bluebird at the dog park today. The bluebird of happiness perhaps?

  8. Lurkertype says:

    Ha. It’s after 8 PM and I still have the windows open. Not humid either. 50 at night, 70 in the day, perfect!

  9. Lily says:

    Great post! Sorry it’s still cold — at least the bugs are still asleep!

  10. AuntieBellum says:

    Ugh! We had five inches of snow on Tuesday, we’re expecting five more inches today, and it’s supposed to snow again next Monday.

    I’M SICK AND TIRED OF THE &^%$#@! SNOW!!1!11!!!

  11. Mooselicker says:

    You probably know this and I want to see if what I read was correct, why are Dalmatians associated with the fire department?

    P.S. Cranes frighten me.

    • Lauri says:

      Hmmmm. I have probably heard why Dalmatians are associated with fire departments. But, I have forgotten and would be delighted if you would tell me the answer.
      Just in case you can’t tell from the picture, Orion is a very spotty Great Dane, and not a Dalmatian. From what I hear about Dalmatians, they are every bit as goofy as Orion is!

      • Mooselicker says:

        My bad then. Orion looked like a Dalmatian and I always thought I had a Dalmatian commenting. I heard Dalmatian keep horses calm. Not sure how true that is.

Leave a Reply

