It’s Official.

We all have Cabin Fever. Last week we had two beautiful sunny days. The snow melted completely and we had these two lovely girls come to visit. They like to slurp up any cracked corn left under the bird feeder.

IMG_0399Slurp! IMG_0398Since last week we have had rain, freezing rain, slush and snow, snow, snow. I do love a season that stays around so long that I can get thoroughly sick of it. Then I am SO happy to greet the next season.

So, Orion’s cabin fever has taken the form of chewing up things. My farmyard boots were gnawed into non-existence last week. He ripped my Terry Pratchett book “Men at Arms” into several hunks, which I managed to hold together so I could finish rereading it for the fifth time before I threw it away.

And here is what he just did to the comforter which adorns the Dog Bed by the front window.

Cabin FeverMost of the fluff that was internal is now outside the comforter. And that white stuff out the window…yes, that is what is plaguing us. It’s blowing. It’s freezing and it’s snowing non-stop. Oh how I love griping about the end of this season. Next week will bring some spring, I imagine! πŸ™‚

Oh, yes. Ken left me a note that Orion and Sheldon killed a squirrel today at lunch time. Darn it! I put birdfood and peanuts out in front so the squirrels won’t go in back. Rawr.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

22 Responses to It’s Official.

  1. Laurie says:

    Sounds like Orion is a candidate for dogshaming.com. Poor squirrelio!

  2. Lauri says:

    He is now back in his crate when we aren’t home….although this fluff business was done while I was reading in the other room. He’s a sneaker.

  3. M-----l says:

    Killed a squirrel! What kind of animal sanctuary are you guys running up there?

    • Lauri says:

      I know. 😦
      When I let the dogs out I always yell “Squirrlies!” really loud, so the squirrels can evacuate. (yeah, I know, the neighbors)
      But, I’ll bet you my husband didn’t yell “Squirrelies” today when he let them out. πŸ˜›

  4. I don’t blame Orion for going crazy after being teased by spring. I also don’t like that he’s making work for you—boy, would I be mad if my brother’s dog shredded my boots and books.

    The squirrel—well, the squirrels here started ripping apart this aluminum vent cover on our roof. I went up there and stuck steel wool over and under the cover so the squirrels would look for someplace else to build a nest (because that’s what they’re looking for—a cozy place to have their babies). Today I found Janet playing with a piece of steel wool in the backyard. So apparently that didn’t work. But I’m not such a big fan of squirrels like you guys.

  5. How would you like to send some of your rain here? We needs it baaadly

  6. leendadll says:

    Dogs with cabin fever are just the Universe’s way of telling you it’s time to buy new stuff!!

    Too bad about the skwerl. I love birds but can’t put out feeders because of my cats.

  7. tom says:

    We could use the rain, too, but you’d need to thaw it out first. I suppose it would melt anyway, since it was 80 here Tuesday. πŸ˜‰

  8. Lily says:

    One of my friends with Danes never buys futons or comforters for her dogs–she always get them free off Craigslist since they tear them up when she leaves! What a fluffy mess. Bobby’s perfect in this (I’m informed dumb dogs would rather sleep–sounds SMART to me but they require no entertainment!).

  9. kimkiminy says:

    Great pics! Enjoy the snow while you can…

  10. la la la … it’s sunny and warm here … la la la

  11. SingingTuna says:

    Yikes.
    Spring is shy this year. But Orion apparently isn’t.
    :/
    Beautiful deer!
    (((cabin fever hugs)))

  12. littlemiao says:

    Orion has good taste in books. πŸ˜›

    We still have so much snow on the ground. And flurries today! *cries*

  13. amelie says:

    Our snow is just tapering off here too. Amazing how long it stuck around. Did you hear Ohio is suing Punxsutawney Phil for being wrong about spring?

    http://newsfixnow.com/2013/03/22/ohio-prosecutors-indict-punxsutawney-phil/

    I’m always jealous that you get such great critters in your yard.

  14. Redscylla says:

    Sprrrriiiiiiiiiiiiing! (say in a Captain Kirk voice)

    Gah, we went through our 3 snow-day cabin fever nightmare, too. The dogs were so bad I ended up walking them through 2 feet of snow to the nearest elementary school playground so they could run around like maniacs. I figured if I didn’t they’d start tearing shit up like Orion. Winter needs to GTFO.

    • Lauri says:

      We haven’t had snow for several days, but it has still been really really cold. Maybe up into the 50s by Friday, though! I’ll take it!

  15. Aussie Emjay says:

    That little “slurper” has the cutest pink tongue! Those are beautiful photos.

Leave a Reply

