You know what I feel like this year?

A dud. That’s what. A complete and utter dud.  I don’t feel like doing anything. If I didn’t have Orion poking me with his nose in the morning I don’t think I would get out of bed. I don’t feel like eating. I lie there in that cozy bed and think “I am perfectly content to lie here forever.”

Think it’s the winter blahs? Probably. It’s been cold and cloudy for well over six weeks.

The sun is shining today. I did go out for a walk and came in completely blinded from the bright sun on the snow.

I have some things to package up and mail out. So, I will go to the post office today. And go out and feed the chickens and goat.

There are six!!! squirrels in the trees outside the front window and the dogs are going bananas.  I suppose I shouldn’t put all that feed out front for them, but it’s been so cold and snow covered that I like feeding them.

Dud.dud.dud. That’s all.

Here’s a picture of someone who is NOT a dud. He’s a sweet, loving, happy soul.

Orion lips

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

39 Responses to You know what I feel like this year?

  1. Laurie says:

    Lauri, you, too, are a sweet, loving happy soul. I think it’s winter blahs — the constant grey is oppressive here, too, but we’ve had sun the last couple of days. I put a little package in the mail sometime last week for you to open on a blah day.

  2. Aussie Emjay says:

    Yep winter blahs, SAD…… no wonder those way up north resort to vodka.

    • Lauri says:

      Even vodka doesn’t sound good right now. Ah, well. This, too, shall pass.

      • leendadll says:

        BLASPHEMY!!
        Actually, I’m feeling pretty similar… which is why I find my lost taste for alcohol to be so traumatizing. I had a good day yesterday but 1 out of… 60-some? Hardly seems fair. And even though it was easy to have the good day, it felt like SO. MUCH. EFFORT.

        Hope you’re warm and happy soon.

  3. Jaypo says:

    Maybe you haz S.A.D. SIspo has that and sits in front of a light every morning, it really helps. I thinnk e does that too.

    • Lauri says:

      Yes, it probably is SAD. The sun is very pretty today. I just hate feeling like this. But….we have a snowstorm coming on Wed. and then…..maybe some spring???

  4. amelie says:

    Winter blues are the worst. Strangely I find early Spring more depressing than winter. Sounds silly, but you might want to try eating fish. The capsules or salmon (not tilapia) have great Omega 3s and the compound has been shown to reduce brain inflammation and have a huge effect on positive mood. We eat salmon and tuna more now and it does wonders. Great source of D also.

  5. Lily says:

    So many people get down–not even official SADD–in winter. I hope you feel better like NOW!

  6. crankypants says:

    My new doctor put me on 2-3000 mg./day of Vitamin D (which I got in yummy gummies) due to mild depression earlier this year, probably brought on by SAD (in part anyway) and it has really helped. I feel like a dud today though. Well at least I can leave soon and take the dog out for a drag. ALSO–daylight savings starts next week. Or is it ends next week. Well spring forward so it stays lighter later. But of course that means it’s darker in the morning too.

    • Lauri says:

      Yes, I definitely think taking Vit D will help. I have some in the cupboard. I’ll take some right now!
      Hahaha. Taking the dog for a drag. Now, that’s funny.

    • leendadll says:

      my calendar says “Begins”…
      Ooohh… that means the event I’m attending on Sat night, 10-4am, is actually only 10-3a. That’s nice!!

  7. crankypants says:

    OH!! I got your note! I keep forgetting to tell you! thanks!

  8. I was talking to a friend last night: she is recovering from four weeks of radiation treatment for breast cancer and is taking a cocktail of follow-up drugs. She sounded very down, which is no surprise, given what’s she gone through: but normally, she’s a very upbeat person. So we pondered what would make her feel better. I suggested chocolate, some new mysteries (she enjoys reading detective novels), and scheduling a short trip to a spa or resort. She thought of getting a dog (then nixed it—she likes to travel) and getting a foot massage. After awhile I said it was sort of like that scene from “The Sound of Music” where the kids all think of “My Favorite Things.” We cracked up at that: we both hate “The Sound of Music.” But it worked! She said she felt a lot better afterwards.

    I think you just need sunshine. And friends, even though you don’t feel like hanging out with anyone right now. As I said to cranky earlier, it’s too bad we don’t all live closer to each other. We could have a slumber party and watch movies and have pillow fights.

    • Lauri says:

      I am feeling better tonight. I think a bit of my stomach flu/food poisoning whatever it was is hanging on and making me feel even more blah than usual.

      Yes. Just to think of happy things and concentrate on the good things really helps.

      I DO wish we could hop in transporters and go visit each other. I just know we would have all kinds of fun! 🙂

      • …Bright copper metals and warm, woolen kittens.
        Brown paper packages tied up with bling.
        These are a few of my favorite striiiiings!

        Have also been feeling teh blahs. We did get some snow today and more should be coming on Saturday. If only we could all take a vacation to somewhere warm and tropical. I can’t wait for warmer weather and the green of spring!

        • Lauri says:

          One great thing I noticed yesterday..the chickadees are starting their spring songs! Always the BEST sound in the world. Oh, also the cardinals are chiming in. So…yay!

  9. kimkiminy says:

    I am very sensitive to snow blindness, to the point where regular sunglasses don’t do it. I’m still squinting. So I got a pair of steampunk-style goggles. They’re basically welding goggles. HAHAHA I am invincible in them! I can look right at the sun.

    It’s fun to feed the critters when it’s cold and snowy outside. They need the extra energy.

    • Lauri says:

      I do love feeding the critters. Especially since we have had no snow melt this year. It’s hard for them to get to grass and ground level. I think I am going to have a very healthy crop of baby squirrels this year. There were eight adults pigging out by the trees yesterday!

  10. It was 75+ on Sunday & Monday … and then 45+mph winds last night decided to remind us it wasn’t spring yet (but at least it was dry … and today is 20-25 degrees cooler, but it’s sunny).

    • Lauri says:

      You have some pretty crazy temperature changes out there. I think the wind would drive me nuts, though.
      It seems quite windy enough here.

  11. littlemiao says:

    me too. 😦 Silly winter just won’t go away. But at least we have kittehs (and in your case puppies too) to snuggle. That always helps.

  12. SingingTuna says:

    ::meep::

    You are a BRILLIANT ray of HAPPY-LIGHT in this murky world, Lauri!!
    It’s the weather; too much cloudiness is bad-bad-bad. We finally has a blast of sunshine (for about 2 hours) and I felt like a new person while it was out.

    We need some clear, blue, twinkly days, SOON!!!!!

    In the meantime, Orion looks like he’ll help you as much as he can. What a handsome and charming gentleman he is!

    From Sweetie and me:
    ((((((((((hugs)))))))))) and ::purrrrrrrrzzzzzzzzz::

    PS: 37 turkey buzzards are roosting in 2 tall evergreens behind the house. Sweetie’s been freaked out for a couple of days. This is one time I’m happy to be heavier than I used to (cough, cough) — even 3700 of those things couldn’t pick me up and carry me away to munch on. Wanna trade your 6 squirrels for 37 turkey buzzards? LOL!!!!!!

    • Lauri says:

      Aw, thanks, Ms. Tuna! Hee!
      We just did have two sunny days and I am taking Vit D, so hopefully I’ll quit being whinypants!
      I can’t believe you have 37 turkey buzzards in your trees! Holy crap! That beats my squirrels (8 of which were here yesterdy)!
      There must be something dead around there somewhere for that many buzzards!

      • SingingTuna says:

        YAY!!!! Sunny days!

        They’re really big trees. I’m amazed at how noisy the buzzards’ wings are, even when they shift position on the branches. They’re HUGE birds! This is the most we’ve ever had. Usually a crow colony “owns” the trees, but high winds bring the buzzards in and they battle for the branches. They’ll probably hang around through March and then move on to the woods for the summer. I THINK there’s a fox den (?) nearby, so maybe they figure there’ll be leftovers?

        • Lauri says:

          I have a lot of admiration for our turkey vultures. (Are they the exact same bird as your turkey buzzards?)
          I remember one summer we had a dozen vultures circling over our back pasture. I went back there to see what had died and it was a groundhog. So, as a teaching tool I took the kids back to see the dead groundhog and we watched the vultures circling and perching on the fences. Three days later we went back and there was nothing left of Mr. Groundhog but a few tufts of hair. Turkey vultures are great for cleaning up!

  13. Redscylla says:

    Ugh. From a fellow dud. Spring better sproing soon.

  14. SingingTuna says:

    How’re you doing today, Lauri? Un-dud?
    🙂
    I took a couple of crummy shots of the vultures. Gosh they fly fast…LOL
    Will try for better ones tomorrow.
    ::waves::

Leave a Reply

