Well, that was NOT fun.

I got home from work yesterday afternoon feeling just fine. As the evening wore on, I started feeling strange. And it just deteriorated from there. Fever, chills, diarrhea, vomiting. Food poisoning is my suspicion. Thanks, mayo from Subway.Ā  (???)

Damn!

I couldn’t help but think of you, madtante, and your reactions to gluten. *shivers*

Today is better, but it’s 4 pm and I just got around to feeding the chickens and goat.

The dogs and cats did get their breakfast this morning. Suppertime approaches next!

The dogs are hungry, but I’m afraid to eat anything.

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

41 Responses to Well, that was NOT fun.

  1. Drude says:

    That doesn’t sound fun at all, get well soon!!!

  2. mariser says:

    aw, that sucks. hope is a 24-hour thing.
    have Mr. Dr. Lauri pick you up some Gatorade/Pedyalite on his way home.
    and from now on, get mustard on your Subway sandwiches

    • Lauri says:

      Thanks, mariser! I’m feel much better, now. Just weak as a wet noodle! Mr.Dr. Lauri is at a Veterinary Conference in Las Vegas, so I’m on my own!
      Thankfully it was just a 24 hour one.

  3. Lauri says:

    Baha. “I’m feel much better now”. Nice

  4. Lily says:

    Bleurg. Yeah. Sounds familiar. How horrible, I’m hoping you feel better very soon! REST. Take water if you can.

  5. Bleh. Poor you. šŸ˜¦ Yeah, lots of Gatorade or Pedialyte, and ripe bananas and chicken and rice soup when you’re able to hold food down. (I like Gerber pureed bananas myself. I associate the flavor with the better moments of my childhood. šŸ™‚ )

    I don’t eat very often at Subway, but when there’s no other choice, I order extra guacamole with their oil-based salad dressing as a sauce instead of mayo. I’ve also noticed that chicken and mayonnaise go bad quickly at fast-food places, so no chicken salad for me when I’m traveling.

    • Lauri says:

      I need to check out my cupboard for some soup. I do think I have chicken and rice. I did have Gatorade, luckily.
      Ken’s gone to a conference for the week, so I had to crawl around and feed everyone. And then they all slept on me all day.

      • littleoddme says:

        Bahahaha – they are just trying to hold you down so you don’t get lost in your delirium. I’m glad you are starting to feel better. I hope things improve rapidly for you today. šŸ™‚

        • Lauri says:

          It was NOT a good thing when I had to get up quickly and run to the bathroom, to throw off a 35 pound dog, a 140 pound dog and two cats. But, they did all go flying a couple of times. Lol.

  6. kimkiminy says:

    Ugh. Bummer. Feel better soon! Try chicken broth.

  7. Jaypo says:

    Mom would always have us “mangia bianca” with horrible stuff like that–eat white. White bread, white rice, white white bleagh blah blah. Stomach stuff just drains your energy. I had a buggie thing a week or so ago–stomach but not pewping, I don’t know which is worse. Yay, Larui feels better!

  8. leendadll says:

    Sounds like what hit me about a month ago. Not food poisoning, just some random illness. Lasted 2 days then I was totally fine. I hope you are too!

  9. e2thec says:

    L, so glad you feel better now!

    I caught one hell of a nasty bug 2 weeks ago – it was similar, but it KO’d me for days after the worst, with abdominal pain and just plain bleah-ness. (Apparently a lot of people have been getting hit with this locally.)

    Feeding and changing water is hard when you’re sick, but thank God you had some company!

  10. SingingTuna says:

    Blerrrrrghhhh!!!!!! So sorry for all the upheaval, intestine-wise. And the terrible tiredness, esp when all those other mouths need to be fed (etc.).
    I hope you’re feeling MUCH better today!!!!!

    (((((((((((((warm hugs from a distance because I don’t want your bug)))))))))))))))

  11. I’ve had food poisoning twice … not fun. And it’s why I shun mayonnaise.

  12. stevebetz says:

    Boo!! Glad to hear that you are on the mend.

  13. GOF says:

    “Gross details” are entertaining and essential for us to sympathize with you. Hope your tummy bug has completely disappeared by now.

    • Lauri says:

      Haha…believe me, you do NOT want to hear anymore than you already did!
      I got up this morning feeling great. So, I headed outside and did a bunch with the chooks and goat and did a bunch of laundry and cleaned a fish tank. Needless to say (but I will anyway) I once again feel like a wet noodle this afternoon. Ah, well. That’s life!

  14. Lurkertype says:

    Mayo is often blamed, but rarely the culprit. It’s usually poultry, but I guess the chickens have a better agent than the mayonnaise.

    • Lauri says:

      Hmm. I had a boiled egg for breakfast. Strawberries and then a BLT with mayo for lunch. I’m afraid to eat ANY of the above after that!

      • Lurkertype says:

        The worst one I had was a BLT, and it turned out to be the bacon had been kept at the wrong temp. Mayo actually has something preventative in it. Of course it could also have been the strawberries, people are always getting sick off of lettuce and such nowadays. Or, duh, the lettuce on the BLT. Or the tomato. Who knows, at least it wasn’t horse.

        • Lauri says:

          Unless it was horse…bacon….mmMMMmmm…horse bacon.
          But, really, it was horrible and I don’t want it to happen again. Maybe I’ll just stop eating.

  15. Laurie says:

    Good to hear you’re better — norovirus has gone around up here, if you had to get something, food poisoning gets out of your system quicker, so you got the right thing (if there is a good way to get these things).
    140 lb dog! I know Orion was big, but I didn’t know he was that big!!

    • Lauri says:

      I am just guessing on O’s weight. He was around 130, I think when we last weighed him and he is filling out now.
      I agree about the norovirus. I am SO glad it wasn’t that. That takes days and days and days to subside. I think I might have expired!

  16. AUGH… get well soon… food poisoning is the pits! šŸ˜¦

  17. MsRedPen says:

    I hope you’re feeling better now.

Leave a Reply

