Blarg.

I have a new computer. I have had one for a few months now. I haven’t tried to download my iTunes because I didn’t want to deal with it. So I have been charging my iPod on my iPod dock and not letting it near my computer lest I lose any songs.

I finally girded my loins (really???) tonight and downloaded the “cloud” and tried to sign in to my iTunes account. It wouldn’t let me, so I tried the “forgot your iTunes username”?…and sent them my email. Nuthin. I just tried again and there seems to be a glitch. Hrrrrm.

Well, I guess I will wait until tomorrow and see if I receive any instructions in my email. I have a limited number of user names and passwords.

I was expecting this pain in the arse, thus the procrastination. 🙂 Ah, the challenges of modern life.

If I can get my iTunes up to date I can download a few new tunes to go with my on my cruise. If not, it will be the same old same old. 😀

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

21 Responses to Blarg.

  1. M-----l says:

    Why is there a smiley face after “same old same old”? That’s where the frowny face is supposed to go.

    • Lauri says:

      Oh gawd. I don’t know. Trying to be happy with the same old same old, maybe? I have over 5000 tunes on my iPod, so it’s not like I’ll be lacking for music. I can’t figure out why my email login isn’t working. FRUSTRATING.

  2. Msmouse7 says:

    One oft favorite lines: gird your loins. You will get it figured out. If not, maybe you should do more girding next time.

  3. robpixaday says:

    Awwwwwww……………………….it’s really aggravating, isn’t it? I’d’ve done the same thing. Sometimes just letting these cyber-tools marinate helps. Not always, of course.

    As far as I’m concerned you’re brave! Wish I could help, but I’ve never even opened iTunes. Or stuck my head in the Cloud. Clouds? And I’ve been using Macs since 2006. Marinating…

    • Lauri says:

      Arrrrrgh. Still no word from iTunes this morning. I’ll try again. That’s what gets me through the cyber-world. Poke this, poke that. Something works, but I don’t know why. Ah, well, my brain is marinating.

  4. Lily says:

    Bummer! If it’s not too old, call APPLECARE. It’s still a pita but they should be eventually able to sort things.

    I’m not sure how Google Play works on iphones (buggy or grand) but it may be something worth looking into. I’d still get things properly set up if your AC is still in effect. You paid for it!

  5. Here in my cave I just turn on a radio …

    I don’t think I’ve listened to 5000 songs in my life!

  6. It’s gotten to where I hate iTunes so much, I’ve started uploading my music on to Amazon’s “cloud,” even though it renders my iPod useless. iTunes takes up too much space on my computer, to the point where the damn thing sends everything crashing when I turn it on.

    BUT—I hope you enjoy your new computer. I have a new laptop, but I’m scared to load too much crap onto it and slow it down. I mostly watch movies and online videos on it, and play Pandora (though it needs better speakers—yeeech).

  7. AuntieBellum says:

    When I got my new computer, I just used the iPod as a storage device and manually moved all my stuff over. I haven’t been brave enough to try the Cloud yet.

    • Lauri says:

      That’s what I have been doing for the last few months, using the iPod as a storage device. And that’s fine. But, I just decided to see if I could get all my “purchased” music and I did. As for the Cloud…I guess it can have my music floating in it….I don’t know what else to do with that Cloud thing.

  8. phantomxii says:

    I have mixed feelings about this whole “cloud” sales pitch. They’re just offering you some disk space and/or computing power out on Teh InterNets and acting like it’s the second coming. If it serves as a backup and keeps you from losing data, it can work. And for music it’s probably pretty useful.

    I think there are times when keeping private data on your PC is a safer gamble than entrusting it to some company who attaches a ton of legalese to it (that is, assuming you back your stuff up from time to time). I was looking at the terms for Mint, a “cloud” finance app, and they basically reserve the right to look at the financial data you put in and use it for marketing research. That is an incredible deal for them—personal data is worth big bucks, and they expect you to give it away for access to some app that’s probably only worth $20 or $30. So much of that going on now—companies saying “trust us with your data” when there is very little precedent to actually keep them trustworthy. They’re still in the “let’s see how much we can get away with” phase, waiting for some huge lawsuit to come along and maybe tighten things up a bit.

    Sorry, that doesn’t really have much to do with copying your music to the cloud. 🙂

    • Lauri says:

      That’s some very interesting information. It’s all so “out there”…(literally, too) to me. I guess I won’t be doing any Cloud finance soon…if ever.

      • phantomxii says:

        I at least want to hear these app companies tell me what they’re doing to protect my privacy before I entrust them with my data. I’ve worked for employers who handle sensitive personal data, and the safeguards really weren’t good. Yeah, I signed lots of things saying I would be a good boy, but that doesn’t keep people from doing the wrong thing. More like, it absolves the company of some responsibility when there is a leak.

        BTW, I think it’s fine to do banking, investing, etc. online. Those guys have (and need) your financial data already. I’m talking more about third-party app vendors who say they’ll house your data for free. Nothing is really free.

  9. kimkiminy says:

    Girding your loins over the internet might get you arrested. 🙂

Leave a Reply

