I’m alive!

I survived downhill skiing after an absence of three years! The first 5 runs down the easier hills were scary….I was actually terrified and I don’t like being terrified, I like being “Oh, whatever.” However, as I kept going I finally felt that comfort zone hit. My legs knew what to do. I was relaxing and then even exulting….I went down a few black diamond hills!!
Here is the “before” picture…..

SkiThere were actually seven of us that skied…the other three just weren’t ready yet and we couldn’t wait! These two folks on the left are co-workers and the guy in red is my co-worker’s husband.

We had a great day…the sun, the snow, the temps…everything was about as perfect as could be.

The morning runs were awesome. Then we came back, ate lunch and went back out. Going out in the afternoon my legs were like “What? More of this?” They were not happy. Muscles were not cooperating. My legs just weren’t used to that kind of work. So, it was a short afternoon for me.

No complaints. It was awesome to know I could still ski, and I will be making an effort to do it more in the future!

More pics later. I am completely wiped out and ready for an early bedtime tonight!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

21 Responses to I’m alive!

  1. GOF says:

    I think I’d be more comfortable nailing the skis to the chair legs and sitting down for my descent.
    What the hell am I talking about…..any temp below +15C is not ‘comfortable’.
    Delighted you had a great time….it must be exhilarating to be able to ski competently, so hope you get to do it more often this winter.

  2. msmouse7 says:

    Lucky you! I haven’t skied in over 25 years. And even if I wanted too, I wouldn’t. Just had a cortizone shot in a knee yesterday and am not looking for any other ways to damage it.

    Ski on!!

  3. Yay! I’m glad you hit the slopes. And I’m very impressed you hit the black diamond trails. I once stood at the top of one, and all I could say was “Oh my gawd” before turning around and running back to the lodge.

    I had to laugh a little however, since in that photo you all look like extras from the movie “Fargo.” It must have been cold up there. 😀

    • Lauri says:

      I was really really scared on the black diamonds….and to be honest, I don’t think they were really bad ones….there were still double black diamonds that were worse.
      But once I hit that zone I just went YES!!
      After lunch I fell and then just slid about the rest of the way down, it was so steep, and that told me that my legs were about done for the day.

  4. Rats! No ER pics!

    Glad you had fun. I’d be sitting in the lodge sipping cocoa with GOF.

    • Lauri says:

      I only fell twice! Once on a super steep slope so I got to slide down half of it, right under the chair lift for everyone’s entertainment. And one time when I hit some dirt. Yes, there wasn’t even very much snow in north Michigan.

  5. amelie says:

    Wicked! 😀

    I’m glad the weather was perfect. The powder is more glisteney and magical when the sun is out. You look fit and what pretty red skis! There are just too many styles to choose from; my boyfriend likes the shorter ones.

  6. kimkiminy says:

    Skiing is kind of like riding a bike. Your body doesn’t forget.

  7. Lily says:

    Good on yer. I’ve never skiied but I have slid off the road in cars several times.

  8. robpixaday says:

    Woooooooooooohoooooooooo!!!!!!!!! You ROCK!!!!!!!! So glad you’re having fun!! Wow!!!!

  9. Aussie Emjay says:

    Sounds like you had a great time. You all look very rugged up – I hope your legs have recovered.

  10. aubrey says:

    A day out skiing – and no hot cocoa?

    It looks like you had a fun, fleeting, frosty day – I love looking at your happy faces!

  11. stevebetz says:

    Nice! I love skiing, but it’s so darn inconvenient when you live in Southern California. It’s been almost 10 years for me. I think I’ve probably regressed from diamonds to circles… 🙂

Leave a Reply

