I must, I must, I must post a post.

I haven’t really had much to say. The holidays blew in. I gradually got out a cubic assload of Christmas decor which has yet to go away. We had fun eating, and laughing and playing games. Then it’s over and it takes me awhile to settle again. My mood over the holidays was very weird. I felt sad and it made me feel as if everyone else must feel sad, too. But, I asked a couple people if they felt ok, and they said “yes” so I guess it was just me.

I did get a Kindle Fire which I am enjoying learning. It’s very pretty. My old Kindle got a lot of abuse when we traveled and it had a line down the middle where the letters were missing, so I was sometimes guessing which word went where. AnNOYing.

Tomorrow I am heading to north Michigan, Boyne Mountain to be exact, with some friends from work. We will be skiing on Monday, then come home on Tuesday. I am excited. It’s been three years since I have been on this ski trip since they always coincided with our cruises before. I am also terrified because I don’t know if I will kill myself on the ski slopes or not. Lol. Time will tell! The best part of these trips is the evenings when we play games and guitars and laugh and drink wine. Or whatever.

Let me post a picture of Rachel and Kevin, first, since I never managed to do that after last post!

Rachel and Kevin's familyThis is her new hubby’s family! What a happy occasion that was!!! Happily we never know what’s really around the corner in life.

100_0929 100_0935Here is Luna playing with one of the catnip toys that arbed makes. They were a huge hit, needless to say. Stringbean is in the box they were shipped in and he would like to know where the heck they all went!

100_0870 100_0877100_0911Christmas was hectic and fun.

I must remember to pack my camera for the ski trip! The snow should be beautiful up there!!!

The End!

100_0843

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

47 Responses to I must, I must, I must post a post.

  1. During our holidays I felt like the Boston terrier in the second to last photo. At one point I was falling asleep on my feet and wishing I could just stay in bed for three days. I almost wished I would get sick so I’d have an excuse to do that, though the worst I’ve gotten so far is a sore throat and stuffy sinuses. [Knocks on wood]

    Rachel looks beautiful. I’m so glad she’s happy, after all the grief she went through this past year.

    There’s no shame in skiing down the bunny hill. I did that while my husband and his ski-bum buddies went down the “black diamond” slopes in Colorado. Then I got cold, so I went in and read and napped for the rest of the day. Once was enough, though. I let him go stag on his trips to Colorado after that, while I stayed home and read. It was a lot cheaper that way. πŸ˜‰

    • Lauri says:

      I will definitely stick to the bunny hills. (well, hopefully not literally! Bahaha) And the awesome thing is, we have a condo which is sitting right between a whole bunch of slopes! It looks fantastic on the map. And, with that convenience we can go in and warm up whenever we want. Some people aren’t skiing and some are doing downhill and some cross country. I’ll try the downhill.

      I do think the holidays are just too much any more. I didn’t feel sick, but I didn’t feel very well, either. I had small anxiety attacks. Sigh. Grrrrr.

  2. amelie says:

    Hope you are feeling better, my dear. The holidays can be wistful sometimes. This weather does not help. Although I looooove your new banner photo. Very nice.

    The Fire is neat, I like its crisp compactness. Enjoy. And have fun on that ski trip! I’m sure you’ll do brilliantly. I am jealous, I never learned. I am tempted to give it a go this year but yes, bunny trails!

  3. Lurkertype says:

    When I first saw that picture of Luna, I wondered how you had gotten a photo of HRTortie!

    The wedding photo of Rachel is the best, though, since we weren’t at all sure it would ever happen.

  4. M-----l says:

    I have an entire folder full of pictures of black cats in boxes (that Homey has sent me). I think I will put Stringbean in there with Ella, Lila, and Muki.

  5. Was feeling the same as you. We were channeling each other. Haha. I hope you have a lot of fun skiing πŸ™‚

  6. Aussie Emjay says:

    I’ve never been tempted to try snow skiing though I used to water ski. I went to Mt. Rose, Tahoe a few years ago with one of my sons & his friend – I spent the day beside the fire in the chalet drinking with my mother in law! Hope your trip is fun. Luna is such a cutie.

  7. Laurie says:

    I was sad on Christmas Day, too, so it’s not just you. In fact, I sniffled tears the entire half hour trip home on the train. Luckily there was hardly anybody else on it, and if they noticed, they just ignored me.

    • Lauri says:

      😦 I don’t like that feeling. It did get better afterwards. Today I am feeling fairly Meh. It is so dark outside. The clouds are very heavy and low. But, once I hit the road I’ll be fine.

      • e2thec says:

        Winter is a tough time, no question.

        I wonder if you’ve thought about trying out a light box? Might be useful to help lift that awful “blah” midwinter mood.

        I’ve been checking to see how much longer the days are getting… today (iirc), we’ll get 62 more seconds of actual daylight – so things are, slowly but surely, moving back to where they should be. (imo; I wish that somehow winter days could be longer than they are…)

  8. I love the Boston Terrier pic too. Captured the exhaustion of Christmas day perfectly.

  9. phantomxii says:

    Hey, Boyne Mountainβ€”I spent quite a few summer vacations at Walloon Lake, right up the road. I have a Kindle Fire, too, and it’s a lot of tablet for the money.

    This Christmas managed to stabilize into decent feelings for me, although they don’t all turn out like that. I’m not sure I see any rhyme or reason to it. To some extent, the sadness of Sandy Hook is still hanging out there, along with that attendant sense of “What is this country doing?!”

    • Lauri says:

      You are so right, Scott. Sandy Hook and this crazy country. Sometimes I think the internet lets us know too much of the bad things going on around us. I am on a FB page that helps dogs that are just chained outside all their lives. This group is doing great things in the Detroit area. It’s nice to see them get doggie igloos and nice warm straw to sleep in and food and treats and toys. But, Drude told me that in Denmark it has been illegal to keep a dog chained outside since 1962. What a compassionate country. We need to do better.

  10. I also had the holiday blues – annoying, when you really *want* to be happy and enjoy the days! But so it goes…
    The pictures are wonderful πŸ™‚

  11. Jaypo says:

    Don’t forget to sing at the wheel, larui!

    • Lauri says:

      Well, I am now going to have a passenger. One of the girl’s husbands is sick, so she asked if she could ride with me. I couldn’t say No, but I do love driving by myself. πŸ˜›

  12. Yay! Pictures of the ER upcoming, lol!

    Have fun.

  13. kimkiminy says:

    I like how you ended the post with a pic of Orion’s hind end.

  14. GOF says:

    Sounds like everyone was feeling a little sad and melancholy on Christmas Day and needed to get out and do something uplifting. Pity they all could not have come over here and seen the artistry of bat crap on car windscreens. πŸ™‚
    LOL your “the end” pic.

  15. littleoddme says:

    X-country is the only skiing I’ll do. Even then the downhills terrify me. I just don’t understand the desire to do it. Still, I’d like to be well enough to even x-country, I feel like I’m coming down with the umpteenth thing I’ve had this season!

  16. Lily says:

    Love those photos!

  17. AuntieBellum says:

    I just hate the holidays. When people talk about being alone on the holiday and not having anywhere to go, I think it sounds lovely.

    I like the time off. I just hate having to spend it with my family.

    Bah, humbug.

  18. robpixaday says:

    Oooo!!!!! you’re going on a trip! Have a GREAT time! Take pix!!!
    Your familypix are wonderful…such a warm bunch’o’people!
    Hooray for weddings that no one thought could ever happen!
    LOL…the cats crack me up. Stringbean looks very annoyed.
    I’m sorry you felt sad. (((((((((hugs))))))))))
    I hate holidays. Too many expectations!!! The only good thing about them used to be having time off from work. Now I have no job, even that little bit of fun is gone.

    But I pretty much missed them this year bec of the two surgeries I had. All of a sudden it was January and I never quite got past Thanksgiving…LOL

    Oh, congrats for the Kindle Fire. They sound very cool!

Leave a Reply

