Some wise words.

Keith Sanzen is a friend on Facebook. I just (happily) stumbled across him through Jason Major. Keith always has an excellent and concise way of expressing himself. I admire that! Here is what he posted on FB earlier today.

“BTW – I really hate the picture of the “shirt” that is constantly being posted (at least in my news feed) that asks the question “God, why do you allow so much violence in schools?” and has “God” replying, “I am not allowed in schools.” If God is that which sustains life, love, compassion and the foundation of courage which gives people the strength to sacrifice their lives in order to save someone else … indeed save a whole classroom of children, children they only just met a few months ago … then God was very much there. That is a God there every single day. What is banned in schools is a preferred endorsement of a particular version of religion – words and symbols which are worshiped for their place in cultural power more than their substance. Empty words like those written on this shirt that seem to support “God” over “immoral secularism” and yet provide the rather questionable morality in the implication that “if only you had school prayer (or whatever it is they are complaining about not being in schools) none of this would have happened.” I have little tolerance with theologies that blame the victim. If God were a deity that would give the response on that shirt, I would say that god is kind of a jerk.” Keith Sanzen

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Some wise words.

  1. Snowy says:

    Well said. The mass murderer of children in Norway was a Christian. As was Hitler. The 9/11 perpetrators acted in the name of their God.

  2. Yay Keith! And yay, you for posting this. (I’m not on Facebook, never will be.) I stumbled across Mike Huckabee’s claim that the Sandy Hook massacre occurred because prayer is banned in schools—normally, every time I see the guy’s name my brain automatically skips to the next article. But isn’t it interesting how haters will turn a tragedy like this into an opportunity to make a dig at people who disagree with them.

    And isn’t it in Scripture that it’s better to shut the door and pray in private than be among the hypocrites and pray loudly in public? I can’t remember the verse, but nowhere in the Bible does it say you’re supposed to pray in a classroom.

  3. Lurkertype says:

    Still waiting for someone to ask him why that Amish school got shot up. Those are some people who have plenty of God in schools, and it didn’t protect them.

  4. GOF says:

    I am hard pressed to make any meaningful comment to this post or the one above it Lauri, and even from this distance the latest episode distresses me.
    Any calls for the intervention of God is totally pointless. Humans created the problem now they’re going to have to solve it. The small minority of people with mental conditions whose actions threaten the safety of other people will always remain in our society. The outcomes should not be surprising when those unstable people have such easy access to firearms. When I heard some influential person say “I wish to God the teacher had a military weapon at hand and she could have blown his head off so none of this would have happened” I despair. This is a cancer eating away at your society from the inside. Sorry if this assessment seems harsh.

    • Lauri says:

      I know what you mean about calling for intervention to “GOd” being pointless. What I consider “God” is the life force running through this universe, through every cell of every being, human, animal or vegetable. So, no, I don’t believe you can call on God to do anything. But, I guess I do think that the people behaving nobly, sacrificing themselves for the kids…that kind of spirit is the positive part of the life force. That being said, I mean we carry our “gods” within us and some stupid teeshirt saying god was not in that school is meaningless.
      But the kind of god Huckabee is referring to simply doesn’t exist. So, the whole point is moot. I appreciate your assessment from a place of more sanity (and I do mean that sincerely). Our society has many cancers eating away at it and to get to my age and realize how bad it has become is heartbreaking.

      • GOF says:

        I have great faith in the underlying ‘goodness’ of human beings. Now is the time for all good people to stand up, make themselves heard and demand change. Sadly I suspect we will see many more incidents like this before sanity eventually prevails.

        • Lauri says:

          I have almost gotten to the point where I don’t think sanity CAN prevail in this country anymore. If it weren’t for the fact that we DID elect President Obama TWICE (thank whatever god), I would have definitely lost all hope.

          • Snowy says:

            I’ve given this a lot of thought, and I think you’re right, Lauri, when you wonder if sanity can prevail. Rupert Murdoch made a comment on Twitter, “Terrible news today. When will politicians find courage to ban automatic weapons? As in Oz after similar tragedy. “. He had many replies (including from Snowy) to the effect that maybe change would come if Fox News would take up the cause. No response, of course. And there’s the real problem. The Right just don’t care.

  5. marsboom says:

    bravo…very well said indeed!

  6. amelie says:

    They really will stop at nothing to forward their twisted agenda, won’t they? The Westboro “God Hate Fags” group is now the target of a new White House petition to strip them of their nonprofit status. At least someone’s on the ball actively trying to get rid of the plague that is the right wing.

Leave a Reply

