It doesn’t get much more exciting than this…

A new bird! One I have never seen before! Just after I fed the chicken-goat, and filled all the bird feeders I glanced outside and there was a reddish sparrow on the ground under the feeder. I knew it was something I had never seen before, so grabbed the binocs and the bird book. It was a Fox Sparrow, migrating through! Woohooo!

Google Image photos

What a gorgeous guy! This has completely made my day!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

23 Responses to It doesn’t get much more exciting than this…

  1. Laurie says:

    What a lovely foxy red he has! I got a photo in Hawaii of a pair of pretty ducks I can’t identify, even after Googling Hawaiian ducks. Gotta post those pics so you guys can weigh in.

  2. Aussie Emjay says:

    Oh – he’s so pretty! Where do they migrate to?

  3. e2thec says:

    Ooh – he’s a handsome fella, isn’t he? Very spruced-up looking – if he were human, he would be a dandy.

  4. M-----l says:

    I know your new bird.
    He used to live in my tree.
    His name’s Jeremy.

  5. Jaypo says:

    A cute and perky little guy! You were lucky to get such a great pic.

  6. amelie says:

    It’s amazing how well he blends into the leaves there.

  7. robpixaday says:

    What a beauty!
    And so well-camouflaged.
    Fox Sparrow? Neat!!!!

  8. chikapash says:

    Beautiful! I love his markings! He reminds me of the Dunnocks over here.

  9. GOF says:

    Very impressive bird. We get all excited here too when something new arrives. After the last cyclone all sorts of ‘foreign’ birds arrived on our doorstep for a feed.

  10. leendadll says:

    cool!
    something slightly larger than a sparrow, with a bright red belly, flew over (and narrowly missed) my car while I was driving in Laguna Canyon yesterday. Same as you, it made my day.

  11. robpixaday says:

    Stopped back to see the birdie again!

    ::waves::

Leave a Reply

