Monday and it feels like autumn.

Wow, we had some cold nights here lately. Nice for sleeping. It also means I have to get working on repotting my houseplants and gradually getting them brought in for the winter. Sheesh. The seasons go so quickly. But, we can’t ever stop time, can we? I spend so many moments thinking  about specialness of each one. Just looking at a flower. Or watching a hummingbird. And then it’s time to move on to the next moment! I have been so lucky to have really treasured a cubic ton of moments. 🙂

I didn’t want to ruin my “gratitude” thought by saying Cubic Assload, but it did cross my mind.

Anyway, here are some pics that Ashlee just sent me. She and Ross are as animal crazy as Ken and I are, so it’s always fun to see her pics, too.

Mrs. Pennyapple getting her bottom washed. I’m sure she would have preferred we leave this picture out, but guinea pigs can’t talk.

Ross gives Mrs. P a dry-off.

Links is growing out her summer haircut. She has some happy feet going, too!

Carl, the Bearded Dragon, goes for a walk in the backyard.

Turkleton wonders if Carl would make good eatin’.

Turkle fits in any box!

I went to yoga this morning.  I have missed the last month, so it was very very hard to get back into it. But I will be able to go again on Friday, so thank goodness for that!

Ok, I am off to have a BLT with homegrown ‘maters! Have a good one, guys!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

39 Responses to Monday and it feels like autumn.

  1. kimkiminy says:

    I see the cat trap is working! Amazon, brand, too. They’re the best.

  2. madtante says:

    I’ve never seen a lizard on a leash but that’s BRILLIANT!

  3. Laurie says:

    Mrs. P looks quite dismayed about her bath being on public view in the drying-off photo.
    I, too have missed yoga for a month. I’ll be pretty creaky when I go back this weekend

  4. I miss the Midwestern autumn. The best weather came during those days, though they also had a sense of sadness to them as you knew winter wasn’t far behind. I used to watch my birdfeeder in the mornings and check the kinds of birds who visited. As it got later into the fall, I’d see fewer orioles, robins, hummingbirds, and warblers. Then the winter birds, cardinals, chickadees, and house sparrows would take over. Also, the colors in the garden seemed to grown more intense, as if the flowers and trees were having their own autumn festival.

    Here the leaves don’t fall until December. So you have Christmas decorations mixed with piles of leaves and palm trees. Everything is bass ackwards here.

  5. amelie says:

    What a beautiful photo of you! We have some cold weather here too. I love Fall but I hope it doesn’t rush right into winter. We have festivals to attend!

    I’d love to hear how you winter-tend your plants, by the way. I don’t think I’ve ever figured out how.

    Gpig’s butts are hard to clean. Mrs. P looks like a good sport, what a cutie. I love the phrase Cubic Assload. Just say you meant the guinea pig.

    • Lauri says:

      That is a picture of my daughter, Ashlee! She is the one who gets to wash Guinea Pig butts, now. We don’t have any more small furries at the moment. I say that tentatively because someone will often drop a box at Ken’s office with a rat, and then we will have small furries again! 🙂
      I take all my houseplants out for the summer. They love the humidity and thrive outside. Now I just need to repot the ones that have gotten too big for their pots, give them a washing …(dishsoap on the leaves and then spray it off to kill any bugs that want to move inside) and that’s about it!
      I’m going to try to keep some of my new sedums inside in pot this winter and see if it works. I’m not sure if they will llike it or not!

  6. Washing a Guinea pigs butt (oopes … bottom) … another good reason to own cats.

    Turkleton and Smokey could be twins!

    I’ve missed yoga for the past 52 years. O wait … I haven’t really missed it at all!

    • Lauri says:

      Lol. True. It isn’t often that a cat has to have it’s butt washed. Thank goodness. I don’t think any of my cats would agree to it and I hate losing a lot of blood all at once!

      Yoga is very good for you. But, you have to have the motivation to go, which is why I miss it so often! Ah, well!

  7. Lurkertype says:

    Nice to see Mrs. P is still, erm, prosperous. That’s one giant peeg.

    I saw a picture of a peeg in a dinosaur suit the other day, kind of like what would happen if Mrs. P and Carl got busy!

    I knew it was autumn, even out here, yesterday morning when there was a floofy tortie under the covers with me. I don’t know when she crawled under there or how long it had been, but there she was. In warm weather (or if the electric blanket is on) she sleeps at the foot of the bed; I only get snuggles when it’s chilly.

    • Lauri says:

      Mrs. P is portly!
      I have seen that dino-pig picture! So cute!
      I know what you mean…..we will have cats sitting on us night and day soon….cats that we haven’t seen all summer!

  8. Mr. Guilt says:

    cool pics–I dug Carl and Turkle hanging in the back yard!

  9. trishc1812 says:

    Your daughter is so…beautifully cute, cutely beautiful….hmmm….
    Love seeing Mrs. P pictures. I had a piggie when I was a young girl. My mom likes to remind me how I made Peanuts a collar and leash made from yarn. I took Peanuts out for a ‘walk’ one time and she came home with bloody feet. Poor piggie…having to endure such tortures as outside walks.

    Beardies are cool lizard-things. We had a pair and they gave us plenty of eggs…but we were never successful in hatching any.

    Yoga: I really want to start doing it. I really have no idea where to start or even if we can afford it.

    House plants. My house plants do not like our new house at all. I can’t tell how many I’ve lost. Christmas cactus, ponytail plant…in the old place I could put them out on the front porch for the summer and move them in for the winter. This house doesn’t have a porch. This house faces the West, and the entrance just absorbs the heat (actually touching the front door can cause burns) so fragile house plants just bake. The back of the house is almost as bad…I just keep nurturing and trying to find spots in the house that will make them happy.

    Other furry critters: Love stalking kitties and box loving kitties, too.

    • Lauri says:

      Any yoga studio would have beginning classes, or “gentle” ones. The yoga I do isn’t gentle at all, and I am starting to wonder if I am right on the edge of being too old….
      No, if I keep at it, it gets easier, so I shouldn’t give it up!

      I have way too many plants! But, I am always starting more. I have to find a way to limit some of the plants!

  10. Hee! Beeg peeg! Love all the aminal pics 😀
    when did they get Carl?

  11. e2thec says:

    Mrs. P. returns – yay!!! (Even if she does look embarrassed in pic #2.)

  12. I love the cat in the amazon box!

  13. littleoddme says:

    😀 I love how guinea pigs always look so mournful, but she looks double-plus mournful in those shots. Carl on a leash is awesomeness! Huzzah for home grown tomatoes – I am just waiting for it to get light enough here that I can go out and grab some of my own for breakfasting purposes!

  14. GOF says:

    It is wonderful having cubic assloads to be grateful for in life and taking time out to appreciate it all. Wonderful pictures. I’m most impressed with illusionist Ashlee making Mrs P suddenly appear out of the sink hole.

  15. Brown Suga' says:

    Atleast Mrs.P still looks cute, even if she’s getting her bottom washed!

Leave a Reply

