Good Eefening!

Hi, y’all. I just finished up working eight days in a row. I now have eight days in a row off! Hip hip hooray!

Everyone is happy and healthy around here. Nothing really new happening. Work, sleep, eat, water stuff in the backyard and front yard. (Not grass, that shit’s on its own).

I’ll be heading north on Thursday to the lake to visit with my sister and her family for a few days.

Here are some pics from earlier in June. I went out to look at the koi pond and there was a wet turtle sitting beside it. I was honored that she had chosen to enjoy a dip in the pond because only an hour later she walked over a few yards into the grass and laid eggs! We have the spot marked so we can watch for baby turdies!

Before she left the edge of the pond, Orion had to check her out. He was very careful and even a bit scared of her. She must have been making a hissing noise that I couldn’t hear because every so often he would leap directly backwards to get away from her.

Little Painted Turtle mama by my pond.

Orion is not too sure of this.

Ok, I guess we can be friends.

I bought the dogs a kiddie swimming pool for the summer this year. Reuben will stick his front feet in it and drink and then leave. None of the other dogs will go near it. However, I did catch the Stringbean playing in it the other day. He was in there long enough for me to see him, sneak into the house and grab the camera and come back out to get some pics! I’m glad someone is appreciating it this summer!

I am always trying to get the best picture to show how stringy the Stringbean really is. I have never seen such a long lean guy. This was the best I could do this time…I got the triangular face….and some of the longness. šŸ™‚

I really miss you guys! Sorry for not posting more often.

It’s going to be over 100 degrees tomorrow. So, since I’ll be home I can put the sprinkler out in the chicken yard and let them have some fun with the water. I put huge feeding pans full of cold water out, too, and the chickens enjoy standing in it to cool their feets!

Ok, I’m off! Have a good night, all!

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

29 Responses to Good Eefening!

  1. Lurkertype says:

    Cool aminal feets everywhere!

    Stringbean is like the definition of his name. He is totally a Longcat.

    I love a big ol’ dawg unsure of a turtle!

  2. leendadll says:

    Somebody needs to tell Stringbean that cats don’t like water.
    Enjoy your time off. I don’t even the 8 day work week but I sure envy the break!

  3. kimkiminy says:

    You might have to drag the pups into the pool before they get it. Once they’re wet, it might click that it feels good, and that they’re not being washed.

  4. littleoddme says:

    Yay for time off!! I hope you enjoy it. I envy you “only” 100 degrees – I’m in Death Valley at the moment. Actually, it’s not so bad – very low temps (for here) at the moment. My man is rather disappointed. I’m terribly relieved.

    Now all I need is a kiddy pool. I wouldn’t mind a lanky kitty to wade in it either! šŸ™‚

    • Lauri says:

      Wow! Great time to be in Death Valley! šŸ™‚
      Thank goodness it’s not at it’s worst! I imagine you are getting some awesome pics!

  5. With all those animals, I’d expect you have “little turdies” all over the yard!

  6. Robert Browning says:

    From the first pic I thought you had a Galapagos monster turtle in your yard….where would we be without pets to entertain us. Keep cool and enjoy your time off work.

  7. GOF says:

    How the hell did I suddenly get to be Robert Browning? Oh yes, now I remember :-)….damn WP signed me out half way through writing my comment Lauri. Sorry it wasn’t anyone famous commenting.

  8. amelie says:

    Gosh we had a kiddie pool just like that for our felines growing up. They loved it…..each cat used it in a different way. How funny.

    YAy 8 days off! Yay lake! I hope you get some pics so we can live vicarously, LOL. You deserve the break. Nice heat wave, eh? It was 97 here, and they promised rain but we didn’t get any and it’s just not cooling off.

    I love the new banner. Pretty.

    • Lauri says:

      Hi, amelie! I am home from the lake, now. And it’s 92 degrees right now. Wow, this is the hottest summer I can ever remember!

      • amelie says:

        Welcome back!

        Yeah, I’d say between June and now (and even some of March) we must have averaged between 80-85 F. The record temperatures between years are getting closer together. Which is kind of scary.

  9. Redscylla says:

    Black cats need some cooling water, I bet, though it’s funny to see him just standing there. I bet my crazy dogs would play in a kiddie pool, but I don’t have a yard to make that possible. Maybe next summer.

    Enjoy your time off and stay cool! We’re expecting 106 here today.

    • Lauri says:

      It has rained ALL morning. So nice to see the rain. Of course, the humidity is picking right up, too. But, it’s summer.
      Holy crap, I do not envy you your 106. Ick!

  10. madtante says:

    I’m so glad to SEE you! I haven’t signed in for a few days, looks like. That stringy is BEAUTIFUL! I love that you got eggies to watch for. SO COOL. When my old canine pal (passed years ago) would smell a lizard or turtle, he’d FREAK cos he got bit by a copperhead on the nose as a pup (and almost died–he never healed in 7 years…his nose just sort of disintegrated and would scab up but fall off–ALWAYS). Wonder if Orion’s been snapped by somebody?

    • Lauri says:

      HOwdy Hi, mt!
      I just got home from the lake. What a beautiful long weekend it was! NOw I am home to hotness!
      Not complaining, it IS July, but has it ever been this hot? I cain’t recall!

      • madtante says:

        We’re not meant to hit 100 in the Midwest but we surpass it daily this summer and last. Me no likey. It was 113 when I left work last night and 90 when I got here this AM

  11. Robpixaday says:

    Sprinklers and chickens!! You live such an exicitng life…I’m soooooo envious!!!!!!
    It’s too hot this summer. Did your heat break yet? We finally got below 90 (YAY!!) and had some rain. RAIN!! Wooohooo!!
    LOL

    The Mama Turtles is adorable and Orion’s solicitous caution is VERY impressive. she’s a NEW MOM!!! She was probably emitting Turtle Hormonal Pheromones and freaked him out!

    Stringbean is gorgeous… and very elegant. Love that pool.

    Stay cool!!!!!

    • Lauri says:

      Hi, Robbbieeee!
      Our heat broke for about two days. Now it’s soaring again! But, I’ll be working inside air conditioning for the rest of the week, so I’ll barely notice it! šŸ™‚

  12. Inga says:

    I’m still so envious that you have turtles roaming around. Swap you for a bunny?

    I had to scrape the ice off my car windscreen before driving to work this morning, if you want to swap for that, too šŸ™‚

    • Lauri says:

      Holy crapola! You had ICE on your windscreen? It’s a funny old world! We’re melting! Meeeelllllting!
      You better keep your bunny. Sheldon killed one last week. My dogs are monsters. At least to bunnies!

  13. I check in from time to time and enjoy your blog.. love all the animal and animal things !:-) Stringbean reminds us of our late Koala Bear.. CC

  14. littlemiao says:

    I love the pictures. Orion makes the turtle look teeny.

Leave a Reply

