Howdy Hi!

Well, it’s now Thursday, June 28th. Wow. I haven’t felt much like posting, but after a day off work, and a 5 mile bike ride (in the gym…too hot and too many biting flies outside) AND the Affordable Health Care Act being upheld, I’m feeling pretty darn good!

Let me just post a picture every now and then whilst I babble.

Image

This is one of the “gooneybirds” I bought at the hospital (where I work) gift shop. I couldn’t stop buying these silly things….I have four and there is still one color I need to buy. 😛

I’m having fun moving them around in the gardens, making them look like they are flying over shrubs, or chasing each other. Is this a sign of insanity?

Image

Anyway..it’s been a strange summer. I have definitely been a bit on the sad side. And I’m not sure why.

So, it’s strange sometimes being motivated to garden or houseclean and other times just burying myself in a book.

Or a nap.

Well, since at this moment I am feeling rather happy, I will show you some pics of my sedum groundcovers which are now in bloom. I know this is the moment you have been waiting for!

Image

This is what Blue Spruce Sedum looks like when it blooms.

Image

The yellow blooms are a miniature sedum, Sedum acre. The white are also miniature Sedum albus.

It looks like a tiny forest when the “albus trees” bloom. 🙂

Ok, here are a clump of Hens and Chicks about to send out flowers.

Image

These guys are getting huge. I need to transplant a whole boatload of them. (after the heat wave)

And here is a red Hens and chicks that is about to flower. Now, I prefer to think it looks like an alien, but I know it really looks like a peenis. I misspelled that so people can’t search for the correctly spelled word.(Does that kind of stuff work? Misspelling, I mean?)

Ok, it really looks like an alien peenis. Image

Here is a tricolor sedum just barely starting to bloom.

Image

And to finish off I must post two pictures of Links. First, a pic of LInks and Mrs. Pennyapple in Ashlee’s backyard.

Image

And the final picture…LInks after she got her summer haircut. She LOVES the haircut. It has to feel pretty darn good, too!

Stay safe, all, and stay cool!

Image

 

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

23 Responses to Howdy Hi!

  1. AuntieBellum says:

    So that’s what hens and chicks are! (I would never have seen the alien peenie if you hadn’t pointed it out. LOL!) Gorgeous flowers! I love your garden!

    Links seems a little…um…disconcerted? by Mrs. Pennyapple. And she looks positively bovine in the haircut. :mrgreen:

  2. ladywise says:

    Ok lady. The goony birds are adorable! I’d get the last color too. Your flowers look awesome to be sitting out in the middle of this heat wave. The alien peenis! OMG! Poor alien women! lmao

    That has got to be the cutest cat I have ever seen! Don’t love the haircut but I’m sure she does and I totally understand doing it. Donna shaves all of her animals all summer, cats, dogs and even some of the goats get shaved.

    I would think this heat is probably helping to create your funky mood. I know it’s brought me down quite a few notches. I look outside and see all that I need to be out there doing when I’m home and I know better than to get out in it. My body doesn’t take the heat well at all anymore. I hope you feel better soon! I loved this post!

    • Lauri says:

      Yay! I’m glad you enjoyed this post. Maybe I should post the other view I got of the alien wanger. This picture doesn’t look quite as much like it…..oh, dear….where is my mind going?!?!

  3. kimkiminy says:

    Those gooneybirds are adorable.

    You *would* see an alien penis there!

    I bet LInks doesn’t like the actual getting of the haircut, though!

    • Lauri says:

      Even in the winter she gets her tummy shaved because her hair is like cotton candy….it’s so fine it just mats and mats. She doesn’t seem to mind the shave at all. I think the place she goes to is super efficient and it’s over with before she knows what’s going on! 🙂

  4. I’m sorry you’ve been feeling sad. Like ladywise said, extreme heat always puts me in a funk, as does bitter cold weather with lots of rain or snow. It usually starts out making me irritable, and then I feel weepy because nothing seems to be going right. Hang in there, kiddo. The hot weather won’t be around forever, and as I used to say to the kids, “You’ll be wishing for this heat when it’s February and below zero outside!”

    That said, those photos of your gooneybirds suggest you have a happy somewhere in there still. The alien peenis is making me giggle, and I have to take Mom to the doctor’s today. He’s going to wonder why I have this smirk on my face while he’s checking Mom’s heart!

    • Lauri says:

      You know what, HG? I realized I have been sad because my kids are all gone and I’ve been feeling like “What’s the point?”….damn. Empty nest sneaks up when I thought it was all gone. Oh, well, I’ll get over it, I have before!
      I have to post that other picture of the alien peenis. Moar giggles!

      • Oy. That is hard. There are some days where I miss my kids so much, I feel like they each took a piece out of my heart. I don’t want to impose myself on them or try to live my life through them…but yeah.

        ((Hugs)) for you. I’m sure your kids think about you a lot. They’re young and busy building their own lives still, so they don’t always have the time to show it.

  5. Laurie says:

    Hi, Larui! I like the photo tours of your garden. Why do groomers leave that tuft on the tail? Does it really have a function, or it just for human amusement?

  6. littleoddme says:

    If you ever want to get rid of any of the sedum or hen and chicks, or any other succulent-type plant, squish them in any old package and send them my way, I’d trade you for some more photographs! 😀

    “Mrs Pennyapple” – definitely my favorite pet name I’ve heard – ever!! 😀 Love the lion-cut tuft on Links’ tail too!!

    Hope you beat the blues, summertime is no time for that shite. 😦

    • Lauri says:

      I could try mailing you some….these ground covers are tough little buggers…..but, wait..is it legal to send live vegetable material through the mail???

      • littleoddme says:

        Yep it’s legal to CO at least, and they don’t mind being smushed… they recover very well. I mailed some to myself from a friend’s house just by wrapping them in wet paper towel and dumping them in a ziplock baggy. 🙂

  7. marsboo says:

    I feel the same as you…up and down all the time…when I’m up I know I have to get alot done bec ause the downtime will no doubt come….almost sounds like a disorder, but I think it’s just the weather….I miss you …and I love your alien peenis harhar that with the semen …I mean sedum ah heck never can be blue when I get to read your blogs keep ’em coming 🙂

    • Lauri says:

      Oh my, Mar, you are every bit as bad as I am!
      At least I found the energy to update my background and header pictures today! So, hopefully the better mood lasts a few more minutes, anyway! 🙂

  8. Redscylla says:

    AHAHAHAHAHA! Sweet hair cut! I wish I had the time or energy to really do anything in my yard beyond keep it cut so the city doesn’t fine me. Ugh.

  9. leendadll says:

    Cats with haircuts crack me up!

  10. GOF says:

    Oohh…your rockery looks perfect. Unfortunately all the plants around here grow berserk and we can’t have anything which resembles your rockery.

    • Lauri says:

      I love my rock gardens. And I love hearing them called rockery. 🙂
      I might have every flower bed turned into a rock garden before long!

  11. Robpixaday says:

    So much to love here! Even the alien peeenix!

    LOL…your succulents look GREAT! They’re very rewarding plants, strong and enthusiastic.
    Your Gooney Birds are adorable! And so is the pruned kitteh. And Mrs. Pennyapple!

  12. Robpixaday says:

    LOL!!Not peeeenix! Peeeeeenis.
    Sheesh. Typos.

Leave a Reply

