It’s Monday

I have worked the last six days in a row, so it feels like a Friday to me. I’ll just get one day off tomorrow and then work three more. No complaining here, though, I get over a week off around July 4th.

I’ve been battling a “stomach pleah” ever since getting back from Cedar Point. I haven’t had to miss work, but I come home and sleep for hours. Good thing I got the garden all planted before I went to CP! I have missed yoga because of working all these days, but I’ll get back to it next week. Tonight and tomorrow I’ll take it easy.

I went to bed at 8 pm last night so I missed the Sheldon Drama. Ken said he let the dogs out at about 1030 pm and Sheldon was gone for about half an hour. Ken kept calling him. When he finally came in his entire head and chest and neck were drenched with blood. Ken got him wiped down, decided that most of the blood came from whatever Shel was fighting. Shel got a bath and Ken’s shirt went to soak in a bucket of cold water.

So, this morning when I got up for work I found a note “You might see blood on Shel. Most of it was from the other guy.”

We assume it was a raccoon. You would think a raccoon would stay out of a yard that smells like three dogs. (Ok, to us it doesn’t, but to a raccoon it must!)

Shel has little scratches all over his muzzle and face. He seems tired, but happy. The Valiant Warrior.

I realized today that I was yelling at my purse for sitting on the counter, and that was a sure sign that I have cats in my house.

I’ll have to do some shopping tomorrow, and a little bit of gardening, but mostly taking it easy. We had a nice soaking rain today, so the gardens are delighted!

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

22 Responses to It’s Monday

  1. Laurie says:

    I love the part about yelling at your purse. It made me laugh.
    I’m glad you posted, today, and crankypants, too. It’s been too quiet around here.

    • Lauri says:

      It’s been super quiet. I didn’t even get the update that cranky posted. So, thanks for mentioning it, I’ll get over there!
      I had to laugh when I yelled at my purse, too. Poor thing just sat there! πŸ˜‰

  2. No note and a bloody shirt would have assured you woke up FAST!

    I say “Hello” to a briefcase that sits by my desk all the time …

    • Lauri says:

      Holy crap, I never thought about finding the bloody shirt and having to wonder what in the heck happened! *shiver*!
      Lol at saying hello to your briefcase!

  3. Are you sure Ken wasn’t covering up his own bar fight? πŸ˜‰ Seriously, I hope Sheldon is okay. A fight with a raccoon can be ugly. I heard my old tom cat scream at the top of his lungs one night. I ran out, and found him surrounded by three raccoons, one of whom looked like he had a scratched eye. Given that the local raccoons had a taste for cat, I grabbed Katsu and dragged him back in. The little sucker scratched and bit me, he was so mad, but I was just glad to get him back inside.

    • Lauri says:

      Oh man, cat bites and scratches are murderous! Darwin used to really chomp on us just for the heck of it, but he got disciplined for that, so now he just pinches us with his front teeth when he absolutely can’t stand it. That hurts like heck, too!

  4. How were the roller coasters?!
    Glad the pup’s ok. I bet he’d have a good story for you if you could understand him. I’m snickering at the purse getting yelled at. We’ll blame your stomach off-ness for that one. πŸ˜‰
    Lucky you getting rain too! We had a dry 100-degree scorcher. Trade?

  5. madtante says:

    First: feel better!!!

    Second, always a scare when the furkids get beaten up. I don’t think that I blogged about it but we’re having a coon-culling on El Ranch Reedo cos Bobby won’t stand up to them — yes, they’re that MEAN. Fuckers! Good on Shel. Bobby cain’t hep himsef. He’s askert.

    I’m glad Shel was okay!

  6. GOF says:

    I hope Sheldon and you are feeling better.
    I’m getting the idea that we don’t need raccoons over here to add to my pig problems.

    • Lauri says:

      I’ll take the raccoons, because even though I hate it when a chicken gets eaten, I would be even madder if my garden got dug up. Grrrrr!

  7. Redscylla says:

    Maybe you need to get a purse that’s not cat shaped.

    Check these out: http://www.glamour.com/fashion/blogs/slaves-to-fashion/2011/10/stop-collaborate-and-listen-th.html

    I’m glad Sheldon got the better of the fight, but yikes! for stupid raccoons.

    • Lauri says:

      Holy Cadiddlecrapper!!! Those purses are waaaaaay crazy! Lol. I would really be driving myself nuts, then.
      I could see grabbing one of the cats as I went out the door, instead of my cat purse……

  8. amelie says:

    Seriously I was reading the first sentence and I thought it was at my blog – I had almost an identical week misery wise! 6 days in a row sucks and I’ve been sleeping lots too. I hope you feel better soon, not fun with the heat + illness plus work. When’s our dang Carribean vacation anyway? πŸ˜€

  9. aubrey says:

    Racoons are savage little bandits. Boyfriend sometimes hears them rattling across his roof. He’s been seeing coyotes lately too!

    Love the idea of you yelling at your purse. Wish I had been there. But that would have been weird.

  10. Jaypo says:

    hi, larui!! paying a quick visit while I can. Raccoonio would never do that to Shel! Must have been his evil twin.

    Those cat purses are insane. Eww. Some crazy person will now want to have their beloved pet taxidermied into a handbag.

  11. leendadll says:

    I had the opposite experience with my cats – was petting one while trying to figure out where a nearby lump of black blanket had came from. Took a min to remember I have TWO black cats. Serious brain fry!

Leave a Reply

