Some pictures from the lake

Hi!

The rain has started. Apparently we are to get a lot of rain over the next 24 hours. My gardens will be happy.

Image

Getting the kayaks ready to head north. They stayed on fine, but the wind was really blowing so the noise was pretty scary, and I kept trying not to get blown off the road. It was a long four hour drive, but all arrived safely.

Once we got to the lake the Mayflies were out in full force. They always are. We are always very grateful that they don’t bite! Reuben posed with the Mayfly littered water pump cover.

Image

Image

We got the docks and boats put into the lake and then had some fun.

Image

ImageImageImage

When I got home, Mama Raccoon wanted her birdseed/catfood treat. Can you see her tail hanging out of the tree?

Image

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to Some pictures from the lake

  1. Laurie says:

    What lovely pics (except the mayflies ook me out).

    • Lauri says:

      It was pretty ooky. They don’t bother me except for that itchy feeling when they land on me, then I’m afraid it’s a mosquito. Ook.

  2. crankypants says:

    ditto about the mayflies and also THE RACCOOOOOOONNNNN NOOOOOOOOOO

    • Lauri says:

      I am feeding Madam Raccoon in the front yard in the hopes she will stay out of my flower pots (worked except for two times), and she will stay out of the chickens. One of my roosters got eaten about a month ago. Now, if she would only eat roosters that would be helpful. ๐Ÿ˜› And I can’t trap her because I know she has babies. Sigh.

  3. littleoddme says:

    Oooooo, I love that moody sky pic. And the tail in the tree! Squeeeee!!!

  4. Agh, I hate mayflies, even if they are harmless. I once drove through a cloud of them on a bridge over the Mississippi, and when I got home they were stuck in the grill, the windshield wipers, the tires, every spot on my car. yuck!

    I love that shot of the sun shining through the clouds over the lake. Did you bring only one dog on your trip? I can’t see Orion and the others all fitting in the same car.

    • Lauri says:

      I only brought Reuben up. Orion and Sheldon stayed in the kennel. Aaron brought Leo and Adam and Sarah brought Teddy and that was more than enough. Reub absolutely loved his time on his own!

  5. Redscylla says:

    Well, I hope Reuben knew to keep his yap shut and not tell Orion and Sheldon about all the lake fun. I’m not so much ooked out by mayflies, but I’m awfully skittish on the topic of raccoons. I had to get a serious industrial trash can to keep them out of my trash. Sadly, college boys next door don’t seem to care about raccoon trash incursions. Gee, no wonder, since it all ends up in my yard.

    Looks like a fun time, and a great way to start the summer!

    • Lauri says:

      It was a fun time! I have to learn to be thankful for my parents. Or to be more thankful. I am already pretty thankful! ๐Ÿ˜‰

  6. madtante says:

    Those mayflies just scared the shite out of me…then, I remembered we had them in DROVES this year and yeah, they don’t bite. Still scared me. Being allergic “to everything,” I’m pretty Pavloved-up.

  7. Lauri says:

    Ugh, how do you dare step foot outside your door down there with all the bugs???

  8. GOF says:

    The second last pic is just stunning with the sunrays shining through the cloud….almost other-worldly.

  9. Kzinti says:

    Man, I soooo miss the water. We have a manmade lake here nearby, but it’s not the same. I grew up traveling to all the many lakes of Northern Illinois, Wisconsin and Minnesota. I can’t tell you how many I’ve been swimming in either. *sigh* Gonna go buy me a boat. *pout*

    • Lauri says:

      Keep going! You can buy a boat! Eventually!
      I don’t know what will happen when my parents can’t care for the cottage anymore. It’s something I have to let go of and see what happens, I guess.

  10. It looks so wonderful ๐Ÿ™‚ (Yes, even the mayflies! As long as they aren’t skeeters, bugs are ok by me!)

  11. aubrey says:

    Bugs are intolerable. I had a bug experience at the beach last weekend, and I had a complete meltdown. Boyfriend didin’t know what to do with me.

    So. Lovely, enviable pictures, save for the mayflies.

  12. leendadll says:

    I want to go to there. Minus the flies. Flies irritate the hell out of me.

Leave a Reply

