I’m pretty excited.

I finished my gardens in the front of the house. And got a ton of vegetable gardening done, too. And went to yoga FOUR times in the last three weeks. I’m on a roll, folks.

I found a medium toad and two toadlets while working in the gardens. I love toads.

Poppy (the only hen from the last batch of chicks hatched summer of 2011) has been gone for several days. I finally decided a raccoon got her. Nope. I was dumping a wheelbarrow load of weeds in the goat yard for everyone to snack on and there was Poppy. She came out to have a snack. Now she has disappeared again. Another nest hidden. And we have really been looking for this one. Poooh. Another batch of rogue chicks. Oh, well, they are darned cute, anyway. But, we canNOT keep any more roosters. It’s not healthy for the flock we have now. So, I hope she has a few hen babies.

Leo is here spending the weekend, pestering me with his tennis ball.

I got about 30 tomato seedlings moved into individual pots today. I have never grown them from seeds before. It’s pretty cool.

Ok, here are some pics!

Image

Finished rock garden and the Martians.

Image

Close-up of the Martians.

Image

Some smaller darker Martians (ok, they are Alliums).

Image

Some of my many tomatoes.

And, a Bumbly Bee…

Image

Image

Orion got really tired “working” in the gardens. πŸ™‚

Β 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

30 Responses to I’m pretty excited.

  1. homebody says:

    Yay, Lauri! The Martians are such a gorgeous hue.
    I love toads, too!

    • Lauri says:

      Alliums are cool because the blooms stay around for weeks. I love them!
      Two of the toadlets were about the size of a quarter. The other one was bigger…..no coin to compare him to….I’m at a loss. Haha.

  2. The Bumbly Bee reminds me of Mrs.Tittlemouse finding the Babbity Bumble in her burrow. Bizzz, bizz! And I love Alliums!

    • Lauri says:

      I can’t believe how many Bumbles we have around. I try to be very careful of their nests. I was pulling weeds near one a couple of years ago and the Bumble stung me through my glove! It hurt my feelings because I love the bees, but she was protecting her nest.

  3. Jaypo says:

    We.are.Purple.Poofy.Headed.Allium.Aliens. *neenoo neenoo*
    MMMmmmm, cherry tomatoes! I can’t wait till we have space for a garden. Is Poppy a banty? Auntie Carley said her banties disappear and then she finds them sitting on a nest somewhere under a bush. Very broody girls….!

  4. crankypants says:

    Wow, great job! So how long before you can tell whether they are hens or chicks?
    Glad you have gotten back to yoga! I’m pretty proud of myself, if (when) I get to yoga on Sunday this will be the 2nd week I’ve gone 3 times! Your garden looks really pretty and Orion, what a good worker! πŸ™‚

    • Lauri says:

      Once the chicks hatch it probably takes six weeks to tell if they are boys or girls. We are going to have to round up the boys and get them “processed”…..chicken soup here we come. I never thought I would be doing that. 😦 But, too many roosters is definitely not healthy for the hens or each other.

  5. Laurie says:

    Those Martians are awesome — I’ve never seen them before. Good on you with all the yoga — I was too tired from walking all over downtown doing errands today to go to my Friday night yoga class.

    • Lauri says:

      The yoga has done wonders for my abdominal muscle pull pain. The first couple of classes were murder, but it’s SO much better! I needed more core strength for sure!

  6. littleoddme says:

    *waves hands in an upward motion* Grow, little seedlingses! Growwwwww! I love seedlings. Did you grow them in something else and then transplant them? I’m only asking because for me they seem to go better the fewer times they are transplanted, so I try to keep them in their pots until they go to the garden. Each transplant seems to retard their growth for a while.

    • Lauri says:

      I started them in egg cartons and then transplanted them into pots up to their first leaves. It’s supposed to make for more roots and stronger stems. They look like they are doing great! Next step is right into the garden!

  7. Awesome!
    And I need more coffee before I try to comment, I read “Some smaller darker Martians (ok, they are Alliums).” as “ok, they are aliens”, and thought well, aren’t most martians?…

  8. M-----l says:

    I’m glad you found Poppy.

  9. ladywise says:

    Sounds like you are chipper as ever! I love reading your posts! Rooster soup coming up heh? lol Your flowers look beautimous!

  10. madtante says:

    This post was so incredibly calming and relaxing that I had a huge fart (you know that I’m serious). I must remember this: for easing gas issues? Think no farther than Lauri’s garden!

    • Lauri says:

      *Snort* Wow, I am so glad my posts are so helpful towards the health of your GI tract. Next time I am walking around my gardens and I fart hugely I’ll think of you! πŸ˜€

  11. I hope you name one of the martians Marvin πŸ˜‰

  12. amelie says:

    I love the purple and whites, and the bright blue containers. Such a happy scene. And goats – you live in a wonderland, my dear. Good job, it looks like you’ve been working hard on all that.

  13. Aussie Emjay says:

    I love the martians! My next project is going to be a rock garden – I’m sick of that tiny little square of “lawn” we have and want to fill in the space with rocks and stones and maybe martians. I’ve never had success at growing tomatoes from seeds – that is so cool.

    • Lauri says:

      I am in love with rock gardens and all kinds of ground covers. There are zillions of varieties of sedums, from low creepers to tall beauties with lovely leaves and amazing flowers in the fall.

  14. GOF says:

    Wonderful pictures Lauri….I wish it was springtime over here because I hate the prospect of winter…..but at least it is vegetable planting time here so we look forward to some fresh vegies until Dec when all the bugs come back and eat everything.

    • Lauri says:

      I just love this time of year! But, I have to get everything in the ground and going well within the next week……water it all like crazy if we don’t get rain, and then by the time July and August get here I’m pretty much “You’re on your own, gardens!” So I happily harvest veggies through the weeds!

  15. robpixaday says:

    Orion is pooped, hunh? LOL…super dog!!!!!
    And wow — you’ve get a great garden! Tomato plants and toads, too!!!!!!
    And hidden chickens? I didn’t know they ran off and set up housekeeping other places. I always thought they just hung around the other chickens. Amazing. Poppy’s a free-thinker.

    Too many roosters…? That’s always a problem.
    GORGEOUS pix!!!!!
    And an adorable bee.
    πŸ™‚

  16. leendadll says:

    thank you for posting “allium”… I have been trying to remember the name of those flowers for over 2 weeks (but refused to look it up). I knew it was an “a” and close to “aluminum” but I couldn’t get it. Yours are really nice!

Leave a Reply

