All kind of weird…

Hello!

I am feeling weird today. Feeling at loose ends, I guess. I’m tired but I don’t want to rest. I want to work in the garden but I’m too tired. It’s a beautiful day and I just know I’m not getting anything done. Oh, well. Things will feel better tomorrow.

I’ll get to bed early tonight so I can go to yoga at 9 am tomorrow, then I should be energized for the rest of the day.

I just hate this restless feeling. So…let me see if there are any pictures I can post.

Image

This is my oldest son, Adam and his wife, Sarah. They won’t be coming up this weekend for Mother’s Day, but they will be at the lake over Memorial Weekend, so that’s cool.

Image

My daughter, Ashlee and her husband, Ross, will be here this weekend! We’ll have a dinner here at my house on Sunday and they will go home Monday.

Image

Orion likes to just stand on this stool beside the dog bed. Don’t ask me why. See that sheffalara (damnit, I can’t spell it) next to the stool? I put it outside to freeze and die because it was dropping leaves like crazy, it was buggy and I was sick of it. I took several cuttings to start new plants that won’t be so unwieldy. Schefelara. Blast. Well, I got “unwieldy” right.

I can’t find the picture I wanted to post of my youngest son. Let me look again. Image

Yay! Here he is! Aaron with his pup, Leo. My kids are 28, 26 and 25 now. I can’t believe that, I really can’t.

Aaron will be here for Mother’s Day, too. And my mom and dad and my mother-in-law. I feel really lucky to have them all around. None of us are getting any younger!

Here’s Orion being a lap dog. He wants to sleep on the couch with me so bad that I give in and let his head sleep in my lap.

Image

Good god, I look like a dork. But, I feel it necessary to have a picture taken now and then to prove I did exist.

Isn’t this gay marriage thing a hoot? I have been getting a kick out of goading my overly religious cousin on Facebook. She asserts that God views it as a sin and that’s that. I feel really good knowing that it won’t be all that long and a lot of this horrible bigotry will go away. Now why am I optimistic all of a sudden? That’s not like me. Oh, well, I guess it’s hearing so many cool people posting their opinions on Facebook. And seeing so many idiot people being shouted down. Ha! I’m off to Hell!

Ok…here is the little progress I have made on my garden by the front door. The house is bermed, so the earth slides down and exposes the plywood at the top of the berm. I built it up and moved rocks and ground covers and sedums to cover the sagging garden. It looks good but it seems like it’s taking forever!!!

Before….with sagging garden…

Image

Here is the part I have finished. I love how it looks! I am going to competely remove the wiegelia bush that’s in the middle and have totally low ground covers in there.

Image

Oh Christ on a cracker. Romney is now having to apologize for something he doesn’t remember doing in high school. Is this really necessary?

Ok, all this rambling has helped settle my nerves a bit. Hopefully tomorrow will be a very productive day!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

41 Responses to All kind of weird…

  1. amyhftw says:

    You know why I’m feeling calm and somewhat optimistic with all this craziness swirling about?

    December 21, baby. Tom/BSG and I are hoping the apocalypse comes and we won’t have to deal anymore with global warming, overpopulation, pollution, mass animal extinctions, the Religious Right, Arizona politics, etc.

    Every time I get my panties in a bunch about this that or the other, Tom chimes in with “December 21st, baby! December 21st!” It makes me feel better. We’re ready to go. I might even take that day off work. Who wants to spend the last day on earth in an office with no natural light? Not me!

    (Yes, I know the Mayans just didn’t get around to starting the next calendar. Give me this little happy place for now.)

  2. i love that photo of you and Orion on the couch. You have a beautiful smile! Even with this huge puppy’s head on your chest.

    I’ve been feeling the same, but I blame it on the weather. For a while it was cold and we were wearing jackets during the day. Now it’s suddenly hot and I had rummage around for my shorts and sandals. My body can’t handle this rapid cold-hot shift. My bones hurt and my sinuses are clogged. I want it to stay one way or the other!

    • Oh, and I forgot about Mother’s Day. My son called this afternoon and asked me how to get crabgrass out of his vegetable garden, but didn’t mention Mom’s Day at all. Maybe he’ll surprise me. 😦

      • Lauri says:

        I suppose it could be the weather. I have a tummy bug last weekend, so I worked Sat. and Sun. and then came home and slept for three hours each day after work. It was so annoying, but it’s what I needed to do!
        I hope Chris surprises you for Mother’s Day!

  3. Redscylla says:

    Shit. Mother’s Day is this weekend? Oy.
    I love all the pics, though I’m most partial to Blorpy and Orion. Of course he wants to be a lap dog! It’s the best place for pattingks and cuddles. Also hoomans make good pillows, as I’m reminded of every morning, when I wake up with dog heads resting on me.
    Too bad Armageddon is scheduled for after the state’s fiscal year end. Soooo much work to do.

  4. crankypants says:

    Dang, seeing you with Orion puts it into perspective just how enormous the dewd is! He is so cute, I love how he stands on that stool, it’s too funny. Reminds me of Maddie Standing On Things.http://maddieonthings.com/
    I also like Aaron & Leo. Your little garden looks excellent. I wish I had the wherewithal and vision to do something like that. I suck when it comes to garden planning and flower-arranging. I am okay with interior decorating and stuff like that but those 2 things I feel kind of hopeless at. I plant stuff but I can’t seem to lay out any plan for a bed or anything. I just put stuff in the ground and it looks stupid and then weeds grow around it. Be glad you don’t live by me or I’d have you over for advice and help more than I would care to admit I’d need. And for wine or other drinks, so at least there would be that.
    I’m kind of a mess lately, mostly because I need to get a handle on work stuff. Which I am going to get back to right now.

    • Lauri says:

      I would love to live by you and share gardening tips and wine and laughter and trips to Trader Joe’s! I don’t really plan this stuff, but I go out and start digging and some other creature takes over my body and moves the plants around. I just love it. It appears that I am most gifted with ground covers. And that’s good because I love them!

      I am a mess for an unknown reason. But I did make it to yoga today and holy crap, that helps SO much.
      I am going to force myself, with a cattle prod if necessary (really kinky) to keep going to yoga….twice a week if at all possible, but at least once a week. I signed up for a ten class card.

  5. Aussie Emjay says:

    I love the family photos – my kids are close in age to yours (27, 25, 22) and I feel the same way about wondering where those years from birth to adulthood went. I hate having my photo taken but I do ask the manservant to take some of me in-front of memorials/places/with the kids etc – I like the idea of leaving some proof behind for when I’m not here.

    • Lauri says:

      I am missing the kids, but feeling excited because tomorrow and Sunday some of them will be here. I just got a gift card for a garden center near me for Mother’s Day, so I will have some fun shopping to do! Yay!

      I hate having mine taken, too, but I need to know I was around once in awhile. 🙂

  6. madtante says:

    Hey, Aaron’s a cutey. I’m at that age where I notice these things about LEGAL younger men…Just sayin’.

    Your gardens are lovely, stop with it already.

    The plant, hon, is spelt “marijuana.”

    • Lauri says:

      Bahaha. Love it!
      Aaron’s available! C’mon up and bring Bobby for Orion to play wif! 😉

      • madtante says:

        Ouf! Bobby is all love w/ peoples but believes furry animals are for killing. I believe Orion is at least twice his size but Orion looks like a clever, love-bug with animalses. He may not be prepared for the Unholy Terror of the Midwest.

        • Lauri says:

          Orion just wants to be friends with everybody. Leo is finally getting so that he will get along with the pup, but he attacked a few times when Orion didn’t know enough to keep his distance. And my daughter’s dog, Bert, isn’t always dog friendly, either.
          Ah, well, we will just have to be friends without the dogs being friends! 😉

  7. Ohai! Your garden is looking all purdy. Orion is getting beeeeeg! (Not that he was small to begin with..) How old is he now? Sounds like you have fun times in store. It’s funny that I’m the in the same age range as your kids 😀

    • Lauri says:

      It is funny…..and I often seem to get along better with youngsters than with people my own age. I know I have a blast when we have interns at work. But, there are plenty of fun peeps my own age. We just have to keep away from the negative, unfun ones! 😀
      Orion is nine months old, now!

  8. amelie says:

    Garden looks really cute.

    Jon Stewart says he wants to establish a new unit of time…..the “Romney”. Snort.

  9. [age related comment deleted … Happy Mother’s Day]

    There are no pictures of me, therefore I do not exist!

    I can still get you the number of a good saddlemaker when you think Orion is ready …

    • Lauri says:

      I’ll let you know when he quits growing! That could be another year, though.
      Thanks for deleting the age related comment for my Mother’s Day present. Bahaha!
      Man, we really need a picture of you. I mean….all this time we have been writing to someone who doesn’t exist? Kinda weird.

  10. leendadll says:

    I love the Orion pics (and you). I’d have more comments but I just polished off a booze-heavy rum & oj as reward for a hour of weed whacking.

  11. stevebetz says:

    I think all of you look great! 🙂

  12. ((((happy hugs from the sea!))))) I love your pictures and I hope you feel a lot better by now!

  13. robpixaday says:

    LAURI!!!!!!!!!!! (((((((((((((hugs)))))))))))))
    How’re you feeling today? OK?

    Loved the post, the pix. Your kids are super!!!! And Orion is MEGA-big. His head is bigger than that sofa! You’re adorable sitting there, all comfy and be-dogged!

  14. GOF says:

    Sorry I’m late but I hope you had a wonderful Mother’s Day with your family Lauri.

Leave a Reply

