Hi Dee Hi.

Ok. I am sort of just sharing to put this on record. I am having this major right mid quadrant pain. So….sort of in the appendix area. Ok, fine. I have no fever, no digestive upset. Nothing else. Except that it’s difficult for me to sit or bend without wanting to throw up. That’s a big difference from actually throwing up. I am not sick at all. So, either I pulled some muscle….internal…it’s not my back or abdominal…from too much enthusiastic gardening the last few days….which is possible…or I am working on a case of appendicitis. Otherwise all is well. I feel fine except for this very localized pain. I should go to bed now and see what develops.Ā  <———really??? “develops” is spelled that way? I wish I had known that before now. šŸ˜›

Ok…going to bed. We shall see if the pain is gone tomorrow. Good night!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

37 Responses to Hi Dee Hi.

  1. Gall bladder? Upper right quadrant?

  2. is it up kinda high like the top of your ribs?
    i had those kinda pains….
    turns out i had 4 marble sized gallstones… and had my gallbladder removed after that.

    hope its not that bad for you! maybe just a pulled muscle (=

  3. Lauri, have you had any problems before with ovarian cysts? I’ve had them, and even after menopause, I continue to have some trouble with them. They hurt like crazy. The pain tends to be in the lower side quadrants. I’ve mistaken the pain for appendicitis before, but a trip to the ER always ended with the doctor telling me I had a large cyst on the right ovary.

    My other thought is that it could be gallstones. My mother had those, and had to have her gallbladder removed. She had both pain and nausea. I hope you see the doctor tomorrow. I’ll worry about you until you do. ((Hugs)), sweetie.

  4. littleoddme says:

    Okay, now I’m worried about you too. šŸ˜›

    It sounds like the pain is in the front if you’re suspecting an appendix type thing? Don’t mess with it – if it’s your appendix or kidney then you don’t want things to be really bad before you work on fixing the problem.

    /mothering. šŸ™‚

  5. marilyn says:

    2nd mother here….yes, don’t mess with it…especially as we get ‘ahem’ older~ Let me know how you are doing. I know I’ve overdone the last few days but you never know “hugs”

  6. Laurie says:

    Err on the side of caution, sweetie. Don’t be a stoic.

  7. Lauri says:

    Well, pooh! I don’t want to go to the doctor again. šŸ˜› It seems a bit better today. Ahem. Ok, it’s still there and not much different. But I just went to the doc last week for antibiotics for my laryngitis. Pleah. I was able to sleep last night in any position other than flat on my back…that’s better, right?
    HG, I know it’s not my ovaries ‘cuz those went byebye with my uterus and good riddance! So appendix or gall bladder. Oh, well, I’ll give it one more day and see. Yep. It COULD go away on it’s own, couldn’t it???
    *Being a stoic* šŸ˜›

    • Yeah, I know, I hate going to the doctor too. But like Laurie said, don’t. Be. A. Stoic.

      Stoic philosophers are no longer among us because they all ignored their pain and illnesses. Sometimes it’s good to whine and complain.

      • Lauri says:

        Heehee. If the pain had remained anywhere near where it was yesterday morning I would be at the doc’s already. It SO much better today that I do think I pulled a muscle. It’s just weird it’s so localized.
        But I was digging huge clods of roots and throwing paving stones around and pulling up big rooted weeds all like a lunatic this week, so it’s no wonder something pinged in there!

  8. Redscylla says:

    Hmmm. It could be an internal muscle pull, because gardening involves bending and that involves all kinds of persnickety core muscles. But if you get any new symptoms or the pain doesn’t improve by tomorrow, you gots to go to the doctor.

    • Lauri says:

      I was going crazy in the gardens for the three gorgeous days we had this week and weekend. And it is feeling better, so I’m going for a core muscle pull unless it hangs around longer. šŸ™‚

      • Lurkertype says:

        There’s a thing we have called a psoas muscle. I pull it all the time. I used to mistake it for ovarian stuff a LOT. Then I got a good massage guy and my ladyparts fixed and now I know what it is.

        • Lauri says:

          Hmmm….is psoas right on the floor of the pelvis?
          This is right at my waist on my right side. I always thought of the psoas as being more central.

          • Lurkertype says:

            The pain on mine kind of radiates below the waist towards the inside of my hip joint, but everyone’s different.

            Have you improved any? Appendixes are tricky bastards, they can cook for a while. Could be gall bladder too.

            • Lauri says:

              I feel better today…a lot better! I’ll bet it could have been a psoas.
              Oh well, if the appendix is cooking, I’ll just have to wait until it’s done! šŸ˜‰
              What will be will be!

  9. I’m not worried. Nope. Not in the least.
    ::sits down with an apple and watches Lauri carefully for further signs of distress::

  10. I’m joining Steph in watching you carefully (minus the apple). If it’s appendix, especially, you don’t want to mess with it.

    Get it checked, okay?

    (All our hovering and nagging is just cuz we love you, hon…)

    • Lauri says:

      Hovering and nagging is totally appreciated! šŸ™‚
      It really is a ton better today. I am still going to take it easy…laundry instead of digging in the gardens…but it got too cold to do any outside work anyway.
      Thanks so much for the hovering and nagging! šŸ˜€

  11. madtante says:

    I used to think I had breast cancer all the time in my early 20s but it turned out I was constantly pulling tendons in my chest or something…

    It could be a spasm in your colon (stressed?), it could be a number of things. I’m like you, I let things for for months before breaking down. If I can breath through the pain, I won’t go ;p

    That said, I’m SORRY for your pain and hope it’s nothing & leaves you alone.

    • Lauri says:

      Thanks…now that I am up and around it is feeling much much better. I got the animals all fed and started one of several loads of dog blankets and throws into the wash, so I know I am feeling much better! Yesterday I could barely bend to put anything in the dishwasher without wanting to cry!

  12. Okay, be that way. I’ll be checking the obits …

    And go figure that a woman would go have laryngitis fixed, but NOT something important!

    • Lauri says:

      LOL!
      This was important, but it’s fixing itself. The laryngitis was accompanied by a fever and chills….it wasn’t affecting my voice though…thank goodness..the world needs to hear everything I have to say! šŸ˜›

  13. kimkiminy says:

    For a couple of weeks recently, I was convinced I was dying of diverticulitis because of a persistent pain in my lower left abdomen. One day I realized I could feel it distinctly when I coughed or laughed. Then I realized it was just a pulled muscle somewhere in there, LOL!

  14. amelie says:

    Isn’t that the worst? I hope you’re much better today, girl. I’ve had a few of these episodes and although I wanted to think it was a pulled muscle, it was most decidedly deeper and did not hurt when I pushed on the muscles. I wonder sometimes if the appendix can “act up” without at that point being full-blown infected.

    One time I had the worst chest pain you could imagine, I was sure I was having a heart attack. But I felt fine otherwise, energetic and was breathing well. I told my friend (a nurse) that I could not even touch my skin without pain. She said well that sounds more like a muscle pull! She was right, I remembered I had lifted something heavy and forgot all about it.

    • Lauri says:

      Yep….it was like I was going to pass out if I bent or moved wrong…but if I pressed on the area nothing was tender.
      Much much better now. I’m going to take it easy today.
      Back to bike riding, carefully, tomorrow! And maybe go a bit slower if I get gardening. šŸ˜›

  15. Ooof, I hope it continues to improve and turns out to be “only” a pulled muscle – but do keep track of it an GO TO THE DOCTOR if it gets/feel worse! ((((healing hugs)))

  16. lauowolf says:

    You worry me, girl!
    But, okay, be just be stoic then.
    But the next time you do end up going to the doctor, tell him, and show exactly where it was?
    What ended up being a gigantoid kidney stone did try to warn me ahead of time, but I talked my way around getting it looked at just like you are doing now.
    So there’s another one-side only thing to worry about.

    • Lauri says:

      Lauo! I am so sorry I didn’t answer this…because it was also hiding in my spam folder (WP folder this time)
      The funny thing is that we have decided it was a kidney stone. And it has taken care of itself. Thank dog!!!
      That was some scary pain for about 24 hours there. Then it lessened and finally moved down and out. Yikes!

  17. robpixaday says:

    Whoa……(((((((((hugs)))))))
    Are you OK?
    I’m gone for a month and everyone’s falling apart!
    PLEASE be feeling better soon, OK?
    ((((((((((morehugs))))))))))))

  18. Brown Suga' says:

    Hope it really was a pulled muscle and nothing else! How’re you doing now?

  19. Lauri says:

    I am feeling great, now, guys, thanks for asking! I think it was a teeny kidney stone. I would sure hate to have a big one. šŸ˜›

Leave a Reply

