Blah

Wow. Is it barometric pressure or what? I am almost a zombie. I haven’t done anything all day but sleep, read, eat, sleep and in between all of that sit at the computer.

Just the fact that I am even posting here means that I may be getting a bit of energy going, I suppose.

In the weather for the next 24 hours….”Snow and thunderstorms”. Accumulations of 5-8 inches and thunderstorms! Now that could be fun.

I have cat puke to clean up. Maybe that will make me feel accomplished.

Blah.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

36 Responses to Blah

  1. I love thundersnow! 😀
    My mom mentioned that the pressure is really low across the US, so don’t be surprised if you’re really feeling it

  2. trishc1812 says:

    Weather…ugh. My part of Alabama reached 80 degrees today. A storm front is coming through which will leave tomorrow’s high in the 50’s. Do you know what happens in Alabama when that kind of storm front comes through? Yup, thunderstorms and tornadoes. People around here are freaking out as they are just now beginning to rebuild and recover from the April 27th tornado.

    I hope you get as much snow as you want. And just ‘being’ sometimes leads to being very productive later on.

  3. amelie says:

    Some days I feel so bad that I do count cleaning up cat puke as a hard day’s work. I hope you get a snow day, at least. I love my sleepy days. It’s when we get to hang out! 😉

    • Lauri says:

      🙂
      That makes me feel better, Amelie! It was a VERY sleepy day and I just now got the cat puke cleaned up, so my work is done! 😉

      This weather feels like the proverbial calm before the storm. It’s ominously still.

  4. GOF says:

    Please tell me it’s barometric pressure. I don’t want to know that ‘age’ has something to do with it. If it wasn’t for Mrs GOF kicking me in the arse every 60 minutes I don’t think anything would get done around here.

    • Lauri says:

      Ken has gone to a Veterinary conference in Las Vegas this week and I thought I was really going to “get stuff done” with him gone. Au contraire! 😛 (I don’t know how to spell that obviously!)

      Ah, well…..I know myself well enough to just wait for the motivation. It’s there somewhere.
      (and, dammit, yes, age does have something to do with it. *weeps*)

      • e2thec says:

        you spelled it right!

        I’ve been under the weather (literally!), too – not sick but very, very blah. Am sure the ominous fronts that are supposed to come through here have something to do with it – along with age. (Dammit! on that last.)

        I totally agree on just being – we all need that. It sounds like *you* need that right now. I know that I do!

  5. There, there now. You’re supposed to stay inside during thundersnowstorms. And yes, the air pressure is really making my joints hurt. If you can, go ahead and nap, read, and nibble. I wish there was a hot springs/spa nearby where we could soak for an hour before getting a nice, slow massage. That would be a good way to spend a winter’s day!

    • Lauri says:

      Ooo, that would be nice!
      Maybe I’ll just soak in a hot bath tonight, that sounds so good! It will take the chill out of my bones!

      The best thing I did this week was make a delicious soup called “Long Soup”. It has chicken broth, shredded cabbage, chicken, carrots, water chestnuts, soy sauce, ginger and garlic and rice noodles.

      It’s like a really really tasty chicken noodle soup that actually warms me up because of the spices! Delicious!

      • e2thec says:

        mmm – is there a recipe you could cut and paste here for us? (If not, no worries!)

        it sounds really delish.

        • Lauri says:

          I’ll get the link right now! It’s from Allrecipes.com and called for pork, but I used chicken!
          Here’s the link!
          http://allrecipes.com/recipe/long-soup/detail.aspx?event8=1&prop24=SR_Title&e11=long%20soup&e8=Quick%20Search&event10=1&e7=Home%20Page

          • Yum! Saved it to my Recipe Box on AllRecipes.com! You could probably add sliced oyster mushrooms and other veggies to the soup as well.

            • Lauri says:

              I added some water chestnuts for extra fun crunch!

            • e2thec says:

              i like that idea…. my dad used to come up with some pretty tasty “modifications” of basic ramen with chicken and beef stock. chopped green onion tops were one of his faves, along with paper-thin slices of pork loin.

              this was a fairly rare occurrence, though, as it was hard to get Asian veggies at that time (still is, really) and sometimes the western versions of same just didn’t taste right…

              • My parents always have a head of nappa (Chinese cabbage) in their fridge: I wish I could ship it to you, because I’m getting sick of the stuff. I almost cheered when the local newspaper said that because of the unusually warm winter, nappa season would probably be cut short. (And of course, Dad is now blathering about hoarding the stuff.) But ramen isn’t a bad meal if you gussy it up with things like slices of boiled egg, spinach, and mushroom. I noticed the soup recipe says to saute the cabbage with the pork, so it probably wouldn’t have that cabbage-soup flavor you sometimes get when you add cabbage to a hot-pot dish.

                • e2thec says:

                  psst! I’m not a fan of nappa, either – a little is OK, but it goes a long, long way.

                  My father was really good at preparing many chinese and Japanese dishes. He often had Chinese stewards on the ships he captained, and would ask them to show him how to make x or y dis; ditto for friends he made in Japan. (Well, asking for a recipe and general directions, not a step-by-step demo.)

                  He usually would make up these nifty soups after a bout of making Chines and/or Japanese meals, since we had more Asian veggies around at those times. (You had to drive 120 miles round-trip to get them back then…)

          • e2thec says:

            thanks! sounds yummy with pork, too…

  6. Laurie says:

    Squeeze a little lime into your bowl of chicken soup for another little depth of taste.

    We’re in the way of that snow/whatever system, too, and the weather forecasts are all in a tizzy about it, but I bet we get more rain than snow. All winter when they’ve been predicting big snowfalls, it has mostly missed us, or petered out into rain.

  7. leendadll says:

    I’ve become something of an expert at ignoring/avoiding cat puke. So, yes, if you clean it then you should feel accomplished!

    • Lauri says:

      I did feel like I had climbed Mt. Everest after cleaning up the puke and washing Luna’s comforter. Today I even feel like I may vacuum and steam the kitchen floor. WooooOOOooo.

  8. amyhftw says:

    I’m glad to hear nasty weather is on the way. Now my parents will be even more happy to visit. Usually I try the “come out and enjoy nice weather” angle – as if that ever worked. I’m pretty sure the only reason they are coming out is because BSG’s parents are out here and they’ll be going to my concert next week. They probably are interested in meeting the family of this guy who’s been living me with for the last year or so. Ha.

  9. amyhftw says:

    My point was going to be – because this winter has been so mild they didn’t have much of an incentive to come out. Now it helps make it worth their trip!

  10. Redscylla says:

    I have enjoyed this mild winter, but I was peeved that our only snow was kind of half-hearted. If we’re gonna have snow, I want it to be serious enough to stay home in.

    There’s an old saying that goes something like this “When one is destined to spend all of eternity in Hell, it’s best to be among those who are easily amused.” So there’s nothing wrong with being easily entertained!

    • Lauri says:

      This is good to know, because I entertain myself constantly with the strange thoughts that come into my head. I’m going to have eternity to be entertained! 🙂

Leave a Reply

