A Day Off!

Ok, I finally have a day off. I am probably not going to get much done in the sense of housecleaning, etc, but here is my plan! My friend Cathy and her family are in California for a wedding. They are boarding their lab, Ace, at our boarding kennel, so I told her I would get Ace out and bring him over to play with Orion while they were gone. Today is the day!

So…..it’s below freezing, just barely, and a tiny bit of snow is flurrying down. I am going to go pick up Ace, and while Orion and Ace are playing in the yard I am planning to clear the yard of all dog turds.

How does that sound for productive? Let me tell ya, a 100 pound Great Dane puppy eating 8 eight cups of food a day can teach me a thing or two about “productive”.

Hopefully I’ll get pics of the pups to post later!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to A Day Off!

  1. littlemiao says:

    yay for puppy playdates! 😀

    and yay! for productivity. It comes in all shapes and sizes.

    • Lauri says:

      LOL!
      I am learning even more about all shapes and sizes with this new puppy. Calli was a dainty girl and this big baby pup is a complete GUY. It’s like having an elephant in the yard.

  2. Laurie says:

    Do you guys call it “minesweeping” when you clear dog turds out of the yard? That’s what I hear up here.

    We had no dog growing up, and my dad was really squeamish, so he’d pay us kids a quarter to clear up any poops that made it into the yard from off-leash neighbor dogs. We could have made a fortune in your yard!

    • Lauri says:

      Minesweeping is one great term for it!
      My yard is not for the squeamish and I am SO glad that I am not, nor are any of my kids. My brother-in-law is extremely squeamish and I think he misses out on a lot of the fun in life.
      I mean, what’s a little slobber, or pee or poop or puke compared to the love of an animal?

  3. crankypants says:

    LOL I was thinking the same thing about “productive”! That’s nice Ace gets to leave for funtime with Orion!

  4. Lauri says:

    LMAO. I just had to go outside with paper towel and wipe Orion’s butt because he had a piece of grass hanging out of it and he was all embarrassed. Wiping dog butts. It’s not for everyone.

  5. stevebetz says:

    Yeah — nothing better than the poop-picking-up segment of the weekend. I’m hosting a dog, too this weekend.

  6. Lurkertype says:

    Giant doggeh romps and giant doggeh poops!

  7. a day of from working with turds … so you can spend the day picking them up!

  8. In Minnesota I used to joke about hating spring, because the snow would melt and reveal all the piles of poop my dog had left over the winter. Sometimes I’d shovel the piles left in the snow over to the area behind the garage, but come springtime there was a mess to clean up anyway.

    I used to keep a box of baby wipes next to the door to wipe up the cling-ons on my muttsy. That was fun, especially after he’d been outside in the rain. :p

Leave a Reply

