Defund the Susan G. Komen Foundation for Breast Cancer Research

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

31 Responses to Defund the Susan G. Komen Foundation for Breast Cancer Research

  1. Lauri says:

    Hellooooooo. The body of the post disappeared but I can’t delete the title.
    Well, it pretty much says it all anyway. Stop giving to the SGK Foundation. They have stopped funding breast cancer screenings at Planned Parenthood to show how “Pro-life” they are.
    Oh, the irony.
    Sort of like “Shoot an abortion doctor to show how Pro-life you are. “

  2. crankypants says:

    Yeah they are going to regret it. It’s ridiculous. And sad that people are so stupid to think that it will prevent abortions. No, it just prevents needy women from getting mammograms and therefore more women will die. As long as those baby cells are safe, fuck the women! They’re poor, they deserve to get breast cancer!

  3. Ugh. Saw that on Fark not long after your post and someone in the comments linked to this article: http://jezebel.com/5881057/susan-g-komen-foundation-bows-to-pro+life-bullying-stops-contributing-to-planned-parenthood. wtf does Planned Parenthood have to do with the Komen Foundation? Nothing, as far as I can tell.

    “Karen Handel, who was endorsed by Sarah Palin during her unsuccessful bid for governor of Georgia in 2010, has been the Foundation’s Senior Vice President for Public Policy since April 2011. During her gubernatorial candidacy, she ran on an anti-choice platform, vowing that if elected, she’d defund Planned Parenthood. Handel wrote on her campaign blog,

    I will be a pro-life governor who will work tirelessly to promote a culture of life in Georgia…. I believe that each and every unborn child has inherent dignity, that every abortion is a tragedy, and that government has a role, along with the faith community, in encouraging women to choose life in even the most difficult of circumstances…. since I am pro-life, I do not support the mission of Planned Parenthood.

    She even promised to eliminate funding for breast and cervical cancer screenings provided by the organization.”

    So much for being pro-life…hypocrite

    • Lauri says:

      I’m glad all this has come out. SGK looks like a bit of a fraud from all that I have been hearing since, so it’s time to donate to people who are actually doing some good.

  4. stevebetz says:

    I’ll be curious if we’ll see a reversal by SGK. I’ve seen nothing but backlash against them b/c of this policy change.

    I’ve had some dealings with them and they are definitely the 800-lb gorilla that’s very used to getting their way. I lost respect for them when they tried to crush the “save the ta-tas” campaign — saying that it “de-emphasized the importance of breast cancer” — as if they are the only organization that gets to decide how people feel about breast cancer.

  5. sara says:

    I never liked supporting komen as they were. I saw a report of how their funds are actually disbursed and I didn’t think it was right. I refuse to buy anything pink between september to november

  6. amelie says:

    I never liked this organization. Are they the ones behind all this pinkwashing crap? Anyway – kudos, Lauri. I wanted to speak out about all this too. Planned parenthood promotes adoption and services for women, and *gasp* birth control. I see these groups like Komen strutting around bragging how much they care. Anyone who has to scream it from the rooftops, is faking. Planned Parenthood and their ilk do good work quietly every day, and that’s who I will support. Thank you.

  7. I saw this earlier too, and signed the MoveOn.org petition telling SGK to stop playing politics with women’s health and breast cancer.
    http://pol.moveon.org/komen/?r_by=35312-17933974-bJsX%3D0x&rc=komen.confemail.g1

    But when I think about the times I walked in Race for the Cure, my blood just boils. When did they get to decide who provides health care to women, and who doesn’t?

  8. Grrrrr! My body, my health, my life, my desicion – it’s that simple. Why isn’t it? Oh yeah, religion…..fark.

    • Lauri says:

      Yes, fark, indeed!
      BUT, I am just overjoyed to hear the anger and outrage, disgust and disappointment being expressed everywhere. These intranets can be pretty useful! 🙂

  9. madtante says:

    SGK did get busted for mishandling money at some point but they supposedly “got that fixed.” Now, this. Makes me sorry I ran and raised money for them.

  10. PMc says:

    Wow. It looks like they are about to reap the whirlwind. It reminds me about the Red Cross sticking their nose into computer gaming censorship recently in Oz.

    Sometimes good ideas get hijacked by the social engineers and folk seem to be reluctant to kick them out. It’s especially bad in this case because they know what happens when back yard abortions happen.

    I’ll stick to preferring humans over Gods thanks very much. Way more people friendly.

  11. stevebetz says:

    This morning they announced that they are reversing their stand and will continue funding PP.

    Gosh, between this and SOPA, I’m beginning to think that people have a voice.

    • amelie says:

      Steve – I heard the same thing but also heard they have not yet approved funding for Planned Parenthood for next year. Not sure what that means.

      But I so agree – we are making a difference. OWS protesters’ biggest mistake was to participate in vandalism. Until now they had made a huge impact on politics with 100 percent peaceful methods. Hope they go back to that. Of course it’s a huge group. And so are we – how can anyone stop the majority?

  12. amelie says:

    They also announced they would continue funding but it’s the funding they had *previously* promised to PP already. No word on if they will give in the future. This sounds like doublespeak. What is wrong with these people? I agree – send back the pinkwashed stuff. It’s exploitive anyway.

    • That’s a good idea. I have a SBK “Race for the Cure” tee in my drawer. I should send it back to them with a note explaining why I will never wear it, and why I won’t be participating in “Race for the Cure” this year.

      • amelie says:

        YES – great idea. I also want to promote PP on my blog so they’ll get attention rather than just Komen. Gap sells those “RED” t-shirts. Which is not the same as those races, but slightly of the same nature. It seems like such a good idea, until you listen to the charity economic experts (I heard one just by happenstance). Commercial “charities” like Red Sox and Gap promotions devalue the charity, because people ignore the actual website and instead buy products thinking they are “donating”. But the consumer never gets an idea of how much the charity benefits from the purchases, and it discourages people from actually going to the website. Then you see the Red Sox in those ridiculous pink outfits, and I wonder how much awareness that could possibly create.

  13. BTW … Happy Birthday.

Leave a Reply

