Voxnativities

Well….I tried “Voxnativities” in the title to limit the weirdo searches….it didn’t even highlight it as misspelled.

Anyhoo….here are (it highlighted “anyhoo” as misspelled)..here are some of my collected nativities….first of all made in clay from the island of Grenada….

This year everything has to be on shelves out of puppy dog reach. Which with this puppy dog is very very high! Here is a clay set I bought in Puerto Rico.

Halloh.Β  Spellcheck doesn’t recognize “Puerto Rico, NOR does it recognize “Spellcheck”.

Ok…all is well. Here is a nativity set my sister got for me while she was in Peru. Someday I hope to visit Peru!

The final nativity is one from Alaska….via China. I really do love this little collection. My mom got it for me when she and my dad went on an Alaskan cruise. I cherish it because it embraces the igloo, the moose, the polar bear, the huskey and the baby Jesus in the native Eskimo garb and sled. It’s very cool. πŸ™‚ It is made of resin in China. No less loved for those reasons.

Oooh. An Eskimo angel! Even better!

I have been to Alaska, and it is a magical place. I am hoping to return very soon!

So, that’s it for tonight! Merry Christmas to all and to all a good night.

πŸ™‚

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

25 Responses to Voxnativities

  1. M-----l says:

    Thanks for sharing these. I especially like the coconut house in the one from Grenada.

    • Lauri says:

      I definitely had to put the coconut house out of reach….the dogs are given coconuts from the produce department of the grocery store to chew on……this would have been impossible to resist.

  2. Aussie Emjay says:

    These are fantastic – I especially like the clay set from Puerto Rico. I like the snow falling across all of them.

  3. trishc1812 says:

    I love the Nativities collections. They are full of teh awesome.

    I need to get to Alaska. Once I get there then I can say that I have been in all 50 states. It’s on my very very short bucket list.

    • Lauri says:

      Alaska is absolutely beautiful! And huge! So many things to do. Last time I was there we hiked up mountains and through rain forests and kayaked in the ocean.

  4. My favorite is the creche from Grenada. I like the coconut stable too, though the half-asleep animals are cute. I also like how every culture has its own interpretation of the Nativity. The people wear different clothes and are of different races, but they all tell the same story.

    • Lauri says:

      I like that too, HG. Doesn’t it intimate tolerance and embracing of differences? I guess I need to keep reminding myself that the loud intolerant haters really are a minority of people. We just hear about them the most!

  5. Jaypo says:

    I like the Granada too! and the fat Eskimo angel. These are very special!! I love that you’ve discovered alternatives to the All White Nativity.

    • Lauri says:

      I forgot to mention the big horn sheep. The Eskimo creche tickles me! And I love how each culture has felt free to do their own take on the theme. Good for them!

  6. madtante says:

    They’re all cool but the Eskimo one *is* the coolest! Even if it’s plastic Chinese stuff.

  7. littlemiao says:

    These are all so sweet and lovely, each with their own special details. It’s hard to pick a favorite.

    I ❀ Orion's puppy collar, and his choice of pillow. πŸ™‚

  8. amyhftw says:

    Ooh, so pretty! The Grenada one is definitely tops for me.

    I couldn’t put any of mine out. There’s not a high spot in this house that’s Winslow-proof and still allows for the viewing and enjoyment of decorations.

    • Lauri says:

      I am surprised the cats have been leaving stuff alone, but I think they are keeping a low profile so Orion doesn’t notice them and put his paw on their heads. They hate that!

  9. robpixaday says:

    Wow! EAch one is a treasure!
    Wonderful collection, lots of meaning…

    Bwahah!!!!! SpelChek makes me laugh every day. EVERY day. So random, so inconsistent. The “suggestions” make very little sense.

    That snoozing-dogs picture is perfection!!

  10. kimkiminy says:

    Amazing how quiet and sneaky they can be. Clearly, the pups are in charge of the house!

    I used to have the most adorable little nativity set made of resin. It included a sheep, a donkey, and a camel, which were, of course, my favorite pieces. πŸ™‚

    • Lauri says:

      I have loved nativity sets since I was a kid. I said somewhere that I think it’s because it signified “family” and “security” to me.
      Hmmm…I have my grandfather’s nativity set somewhere on a shelf in storage. I need to get that out and display it in his hutch, which I just moved into the diningroom!

  11. amelie says:

    My iPad spell check thinks every word should be a celebrity football player. I’m not even kidding. Autocorrects all the time.

    I LOVE the clay set from Grenada. Wish we had one.

  12. GOF says:

    All very original, but my favourite is the coconut-shell nativity scene.

Leave a Reply

